We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is average. You get what you pay for.”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Reviewed July 15, 2007

The hotel is okay. It is located just minutes from the airport in Kahului. For the future, I will choose a different hotel with more amenities. I arrived at 10:00am, but check-in time wasn't until 3:00pm. The hotel has a very musky smell throughout that I had to get used to for my six day stay. The continental breakfast consists of orange juice, coffee, pineapple and a muffin. The hotel does not have a dining area for lunch or dinner. The room did have a small refrigerator, but unfortunately did not have a microwave or an iron. There was a small air conditioner along with an overhead fan which kept the room cool from the outside heat. Parking can be a little rough, especially if you arrive late at night. Unfortunately, I had to contact the hotel two weeks later because my credit card statement reflected that I was double charged for my stay. Overall, if you're not going to spend a lot of time at the hotel, it's worth spending less to stay at this hotel and spending more on the island activities. Otherwise, find a hotel in Kihei, where there are more activities and dining facilities nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank platano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2007

We booked this hotel for one night as our flight from LA was due to land around 8:30 pm. It took about one hour to get baggage and rental car. Why pay resort prices when you are arriving at that time of night?

This is an older hotel that would hardly considered to be nice, so it's best to go in with that type of expectation. But it's nice enough for one night. The room was clean and the hotel was quiet. Bed was decent. Staff was friendly. Rate was decent. Continental breakfast was okay, though nothing special. Had a nice view from the hotel window.

This hotel provides an excellent staging point for the Road to Hana (which we did the next day) and allows you to do any last minute shopping at WalMart, Costco or a grocery store before heading to your condo/hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank gsp_lab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Overall clean, on the beach, older motel. Pool was small but decent. Room was clean. Grounds are ok. Kept having to ask for more towels, there were three in our room. Towels were cheap and small. "Breakfast" was included but would not recommend hanging around for it, crappy donuts and bad coffee.
HOWEVER this was exactly what I was expecting for the price which was good for Maui. Very convenient location. Go to the Chevron across the street for breakfast - if you want some local fare - rice and spam wrapped in seaweed. Other things that are regional. Lots of locals / guys buying food for their day... also was tasty. Maui Coffee Roasters a fair walk but is convetional and best coffee we found on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liketwobike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

We booked this hotel as a place to sleep on our way from home to our condo on Molokai. We needed a cheap, decent place for two nights on Maui while we shopped prior to going to Molokai. This place was 'okay'. The exterior was not great, but okay. The room was not so nice. Basic and a bit on the run down side. The pool area was okay and it is right on the beach and one block from a mall on Maui. Would I book there again.....probably not. For a cheap place it was $138 a night. Even by Maui standards it was not great. We could have rented a condo for that price and had a nicer place with a pool also.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wine4more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

It´s the cheapest hotel that we could find during our stay in Maui. we stayed there for 2 days without any inconvenience. People were very kind there. I like it!

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jacky999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

I read a few of the reviews on this hotel after I had already booked it on AARP passport a couple of months earlier.
We had requested a quiet room and were very happy with the room they gave us.
The staff were all very friendly and most helpful. The hotel was a tourist class 60's but had awesome views and the room was very neat and clean the towels were very soft, fluffy and abundent.
It is close to the airport (but not noisy) and has many malls and shopping centers close by.
Our flight left at 9 PM so we ask for a late check out giving us plenty of time to pack and the request was granted.
We had plenty of hot water, nice TV, clock radio, secure parking and night entrance was only permited thru the front lobby.
Never seen the first bug or any type of rodent.
I would have to give this hotel a 2 1/2 star or or better rating due to the quaility of furniture,staff being very good and just plain polite.
Doc

3  Thank DocDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2007

We were not so sure what to expect. A little worried and wondering if we may have had made a terrible choice after reading the reviews. But let me tell you, all of our tensions went out of the window when we first arrived. The check in clerk was soooo friendly and upgraded us to the best suite for no charge. I have no clue why, but I did'nt hang around to ask questions. The suite had a sitting room with a few chairs,a sofa, a tv and a wonderful view of the bay. The bedroom was very big and so was the restroom. Our room was very neat and clean. The grounds of the hotel were immaculate and the view to the bay was really beautiful. We had a wonderful time and had not one problem. The clerks at the front dest were very helpful with suggestions on where to visit and eat and calling the taxi for us.
All in all, it was very pleasant and we will be going back next year.
Thank you Seaside Hotel!!!

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank janiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
575 reviews
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,655 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,334 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 31 in Lahaina
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range: $174 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing