We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for our trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Frostburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for our trip!”
Reviewed May 12, 2006

We read mixed reviews regarding this hotel. Basically those writing lesser than positive were looking for a resort type stay.

Location was fantastic! Walkable community in Kahului. Ease of transportation by rental car. Great shopping mall nearby for last minute items. Wonderful acesses to the Arts Center where we saw Jack Johnson and Friends (reason we booked the trip). We were able to walk to the concert safely and easily.

We could get to all areas of the island easily and quickly from Maui Seaside. Each trip to a beach or park was breathtaking.

Room was clean, staff was very friendly and accomodating! breakfast was something to be desired - but free. I prefer something more healthy.

We hope to have the opportunity to visit Maui and stay at your hotel once again! We would certainly book a room at Maui Seaside again! This was our most relaxing vacation EVER! Mahalo Maui!

Raquel Ketterman

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RaquelKetterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    389
    316
    87
    49
See reviews for
215
460
72
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2006

I've never written a review before, but because I've found the reviews I've read very helpful, I thought I'd pass along the favor.

We stayed at the Maui Seaside over the president's day weekend and were pleasantly surprised. The trip was booked through Travelocity. The front desk folks were friendly and check-in was very quick. They didn't even need my credit card as a deposit. The hotel is old, with dated decor, but room was very clean and the shower had adequate pressure. The air conditioner worked fine. The beds had either Serta or Sealy brand mattresses (I noticed it when the sheets came undone), and were comfortable. The pool looked clean, although we never used it. The FREE continental breakfast was good and very useful in pricey Maui. The location was actually pretty good, close to the Mall, airport, start of Hana Road and the Crator.

When I go on vacation, I generally don't like the room to be made up everyday. So I left the DO NOT DISTURB sign on for 4 days, and they completely respected it. My idea of a hotel is really just a place to come back, shower, and sleep. If you're looking for a resort to hang out at, this is not the place for you. However, if you want a CLEAN place to sleep and shower, with FREE breakfast in the morning, all at a good price, then you should definitely consider Maui Seaside.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank yesngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2006

My daughter & I just returned from our vacation to Maui. We thought that the Maui Seaside Hotel was a convenient place to start our vacation. It was close to the airport and easy to get to. We planned on driving the road to Hana the next day and needed a place to stay overnight. This worked great. The staff was pleasant and the free breakfast was good. The rooms aren't huge and I wouldn't want to spend a whole week there (I wouldn't want to spend a whole week in Kahului, either) but for our needs it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank crayz2sew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 22, 2006

my husband and myself checked into the maui seaside
hotel in kahului february 4, 2006. the first day was
great after that it went downhill as far as the desk
clerks, rude and not very helpful when it came to
asking a question or where the location of someplace
was they would say (front desk people that is)
phone books in the room that's what they are there for. now what are you supposed to say to that. I am never going to stay there again I don't need that kind
of attitude especially when I pay well over 1000.00
and get no respect what so ever.

no thanks
J.Iacono
Fbks, Ak.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kahului hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2006

I stayed at the hotel because of the price, but I found too many inconveniences for my taste. The rooms are small but comfortable (ask to stay in the tower for a larger room). If you need to iron, forget it! You have to take your clothes DOWN to the laundry room and iron them with a horrible iron chained to the board! Not my idea of a comfortable room experience.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 20, 2006

We only stayed three nights and that was enough. The down side is the room smelled musty and gross. The place is not fancy, but we weren't there to spend in the hotel room. The pool was too cold to swim in. Beach is average. The air conditioning unit was very noisy and kept us awake the first night. We told the management and it was fixed right away. We also needed another blanket, no problem. The people were very friendly and the breakfast was good. Plan on 40+ drive to any attractions. Probably wouldn't stay here again. But for those on a budget like we were, it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2006

We arrived in Maui 10:30PM, and based on the Nov. review, reserved our first night stay here. It's less than a 10 minute drive from the airport, and it is a perfectly good motel for a short stay;clean and comfortable. They offer a continental breakfast that helped us get on our way to our destination. I would definitely stay there again for the convenience.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank eos_domestic_goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
519 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#29 of 32 in Lahaina
214 reviews
14.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Property: Maui Seaside Hotel
Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing