We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable and clean”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable and clean”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Last night on the island and wanted somewhere close to the airport for my am flight.

Pleasantly welcomed to this cozy hotel on the harbour! This location brings me back to the family holidays we had as a kid when the rooms had lots of space, clean and cozy beds and working air conditioning/heating systems you can control.

Had a great night sleep and a great hot shower to start the day. Super breakfast at the onsite restaurant then took a walk along the harbour path before heading to the airport.

Would recommend to anyone for no frills comfort and value.

Helpful?
3 Thank momYYCmom
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    403
    327
    88
    50
See reviews for
225
473
76
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waianae, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We recently stayed there in Feb.2014 due to a wedding we needed to attend. The accommodations met our needs. Coming from the island of Oahu and visiting for the first time we fell in love with Maui. Maui has amazing views and beautiful beaches. We stayed in room 114 which was walking distance to the beach that had fine sand which i had never felt before, even my children noticed it being different from our sand on Oahu.It was wonderful having the pool located right out our door for my three and six year old who loves swimming. Our room had two double beds which was perfect for my family which fit all our needs. The bathroom was clean and being able to make your own cup of coffee in the morning I loved. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We extended a day and at first we needed to change rooms but then we ended up keeping our original room which was convenient. Having the Pride of America(cruz ship) pass right in front of the hotel was thrilling for my children and I. I took awesome pictures of them with the ship as a background We loved our stay and most importantly my children did as well. The only thing was that we had to leave and come back to reality. My opinion is....it doesn't matter where I stay its about enjoying what Maui offers with my family.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, PA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Full disclosure: we were going to spend 2 weeks at a condo in Maui. We wanted to spend our arrival night near the airport because of the long flight from East Coast (USA) and time difference, so we chose this hotel because of convenience not amenities.

In that respect we were not disappointed as our room though small, spartan and dated was clean. Also the bed was comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful, it was reasonably priced and we got a good night's sleep before starting our vacation.

Would we stay here for this purpose again? Yes. Would it be our hotel of choice for an extended stay? No.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerryk1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The rooms are old-styled and you can hear pretty much everything what's going on next door. However they are clean and large, and if you open the window you can sleep with the ocean's sound.
Tip: do not pay for the parking, there is a big free parking lot right next to the hotel's one (east side)!

Room Tip: Don' t get the included breakfast, it is not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed here in early Feb. 2014 for one night only since our flight was arriving late and we did not feel like driving to the other side of the island to our resort after a long day of travel. After reading many of the reviews here on Trip Advisor, we booked a room with 2 double beds on Expedia for $139 plus tax. The room was clean, spacious, had an extra single bed which was a bonus, small sitting area, counter with mini fridge, sink and microwave. It was on the main floor overlooking the pool.

The motel is older and in need of renovation, but it was clean. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

The pool was not heated and quite cold, but my 5 and 7 year old still went in. There's a very small beach in front of the hotel overlooking the bay. There is a $5 per day parking fee. Free wifi but not the best connection in our room.

We ate at the adjoining restaurant "Tante's" for dinner and the food was good - my husband ordered a Philipino dish that was quite tasty. There's a fairly large menu to chose from.

There was a Whole Foods store (great place for coffee and breakfast) and Longs Drug store across the street which was very handy. Costco and Walmart were also very close. Kite surfing school was within a few miles.

If you are looking for an affordable, clean, no frills place to stay close to the airport, the Maui Seaside is a good choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ironmom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked this hotel to shower before our flight home because we could not get a late check out at the place we stayed for two weeks. We were rather speechless when we walked in. Actually, we were scared at first. The hotel looks like something out of a B rate movie or a very small town or a blast from the way far past ----- like 1960. I will say this: Despite the extremely dated and basic nature of the room and furnishings, I believe the room was very clean. If a person was on a tight budget, was not fussy about location and could get past the vintage decor, it would be serviceable. The interior grounds and pool looked quite nice. The front desk attendants were very nice and helpful. It served us well for showering which was our only purpose, but to be honest I could not stay there. Perhaps I have become a bit of a hotel snob. I am ashamed to admit it, but I just couldn't do it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkjjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Cook, Hawaii, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Pros: This is a decent, budget hotel. They have a great view of the ocean beyond the pool. The big grassy areas are lovely with lots of places to hang out and enjoy the sunset. The rooms are large, retro (read: old-style), and clean. The photos posted by travelers were pretty accurate. Coffee maker and small frig in room. Whole Foods within walking distance. Close to airport.
Cons: The "tower" room I had was below grade. I had a view of the sidewalk and building entry. Not horrible, but something you should consider when choosing your room. I would have loved to turn off the A/C and sleep with my windows open, but just wasn't comfortable with that. My room, I discovered, backed up to the elevator. I listened to it whoosh up and down well into the night. I've also read several posts indicating breakfast was included. No one made mention of this when we checked in.

Room Tip: If you're in the "tower", avoid rooms that back up to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,032 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
229 reviews
14.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Property: Maui Seaside Hotel
Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing