We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly staff, clean room and near the shopping mall. Love all the eatery especially DaKitchen and Mama's Fish House $$ (need to make a reservation). Food were great. Disappointed with Bistro Manila restaurant not even open every time we check the place. Need to drive down the Hana Hwy to experience the drive. Feast of Lele $$$ was great for Luau in Lahaina. All in all our vacation was amazing.

Aloha!

Room Tip: Second floor facing the mountain side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atirona1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    397
    324
    88
    49
See reviews for
220
470
74
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I'm a Hawaii resident who never in my lifetime visited Maui until now, I didn't see any reason to visit here. My girlfriend wanted to vacation in Maui so I made plans to stay at the Maui Seaside Hotel. We were given a hotel in a separate 3 story building than the main building which had an elevator for convenience. Our room was on the third floor which gave us a good view of the mountains and a partial view of the ocean. The room looked to be recently renovated, it was clean and comfortable. The hotel is located close to two malls and numerous eating establishments. The staff was friendly and helpful to our needs. All in all, The Maui Seaside isn't a large hotel but perfect for a quiet vacation. In our travels around Maui, this hotel was the only hotel close to town and all the stores, restaurant and airport. It's not a 3 star hotel but it didn't matter, it was affordable and a perfect base of travel throughout the island!

Room Tip: I suggest the third floor of the three story section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Booked this cheap hotel to travel to Hana, Maui. Good location. Cheap. Quiet. Get the deluxe room since it's pretty big. Very clean rooms, well maintained lawn and plants, nice workers. The only downfalls are the noisy air conditioner, and you can hear your neighbor using the water and turning on the pipes in the bathroom next door to your room. Good hotel restaurant called the Coconut Grill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olollyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We were sent here after a West Jet flight attendant fell ill and they had to off load 36 passengers in Kahului Airport (OGG). We received the generous offer of $800 each in travel vouchers, $30. Each a day in meal vouchers and taxi from and to the airport. And included was the stay in this hotel which they assured us was fine accomodation. OMG, here we were at 2am in the morning when all was said and done, in this awfull place. After an awful sleep i got on the phone and we moved over to The Courtyard Marriot. The only choice if you are stuck overnight at OGG!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank divinelavine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kahului hotels

orlando
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Dirty beds where I picked 5 curly hair from the bed, $5 to park at an empty lot. A room and outside update is 10 years overdue and the place smells of mold/damp. Alfred Hitchcock hotel room look with a ceiling fan and electrical cable running down from the side. The hallway was also smelly from dampness and cigarette smoke.

Great staff though and they are extremely friendly. Location wise, it is close to the mall but you would need your transportation to get food. Did not try the food at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Maui Seaside is no Hilton, but it will do in a pinch. Rooms usually run an economical $100/night (until you add more than two people to a room). It's old, but it's fairly clean and well located for shopping and dining. Staff is usually friendly and accommodating. There is a small harbor area behind it with a narrow strip of sand that's nice to be able to walk out to in the evenings, but it's not exactly where you would want your "beach day" experience to be. Bottom line: if this is your first trip to Hawaii or money isn't an issue, there are better places to stay. If don't need to stay beachfront and are more interested in saving a few bucks, this is your place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princat20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was flying in to Maui last minute and really didn't have anything planned for a Hotel. Thought I'd check around to find something close to the airport. While I usually would stay with a familiar brand of Hotels I really just needed a clean place to call home for the night. Upon searching for availability I stopped by at the Seaside to see if they had a room. Front desk was busy with check-ins, but made sure that they acknowledged me and was able to accommodate me with Aloha and a nice room right next to the pool and ocean. First thing on my mind was to grab some Local Food:). The Ladies at the front desk gave me a couple options and I was off. Bottom line Great people!!! Clean and convienantly located next to all major shopping areas. I will stay here again while visiting Maui.

Room Tip: Something on the ground floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
531 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,986 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
225 reviews
14.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Property: Maui Seaside Hotel
Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing