We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a bed near the airport”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More than just a bed near the airport”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had chosen this hotel because it was close to the airport and reasonably priced (well, for Maui anyway). We got in late and were surprised to find that it was right on the ocean and had a small, but decent beach. Right next door there was a place to rent surf or paddle boards and while we were there, the waves looked idea for a novice surfer. The other nice surprise was that it was < 1 mile from Whole Foods where we picked up snacks, water, lunches, and (once) dinner. There was a small refrigerator in the room and a restaurant next door w/ a complementary breakfast for those staying at the hotel. We liked getting up early, enjoying the sunrise on the beach, going for a quick swim, grabbing a bite to eat, and then exploring the N side of Maui (2x on the Road to Hana)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwkbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    403
    327
    88
    50
See reviews for
225
473
76
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is basic motel place very close to the Kahului airport. We choose it for couple of days when arriving in Maui. Rooms are clean and pool area is nice. Breakfast was at the restaurant located within the property and it was good. There is a small beach behind the motel, which can be accessed from the pool area. The place is a bit old and their carpets need renovation. Overall, a decent place for a night or two.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parnassus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stopped at the Maui Seaside Hotel for 4 nights, the price is good, the location is good but the rooms are basic, I found this hotel to be a good base to explore the island, the drive to Lahaina takes approximately 35min and you will also find yourself centrally located for the drive up to the Haleakala Volcano, as well as the road to Hana, If you are going to Maui to explore the island then I would definitely recommend this hotel. Also the Queen Kaahumanu shopping centre is only a short distance away and can be seen from the entrance of the hotel, (www.queenkaahumanucenter.com).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anthOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I did lots of research of this hotel and quite frankly was a bit concerned that my travel agent had booked us there. Rude staff and bed bugs were the main reason. However, I saw none of that. The staff was friendly, always smiling and the breakfast was not only free, it was good. I'm sociable but doubt that that was the only reason I had such a fun time teasing the staff...right from the painters, maids and receptionists.
As I cyclist who rode 5 hard hours every day, I would have liked a more comfortable bed. The location was perfect as a central hub for riding and I will stay there next time I go to Maui. The rooms were large. Sure they were dated but I didn't pay $300 a night. For those who didn't enjoy their stay, I'm certain they wouldn't enjoy much of anything. We walked 1 1/2 blocks nightly to Whole Foods for cycling style food. The restaurant across the street was totally acceptable when our legs were too tired to walk.

Room Tip: Our room faced another part of the hotel but it was quiet. Next time I'd rather face the pool b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david_kosub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

this hotel was in a good location,very clean,safe,free parking.Nice room,friendly staff,close to airport,good beaches local

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed 1 night at Maui Seaside Hotel (to be close to the airport) in a room in the tower section. The rooms are older and the accommodation is basic however everything was clean and tidy. The hotel is located on a busy main road and is walking distance to a local shopping mall which includes a food court, department store, cinema and other specialist shops. There is free internet access in the main reception area which was useful and the hotel itself overlooks the water. There is parking available at the hotel however they charge $5 per night and it is on a first come first serve basis.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buddy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Its a great location being in Kahului. The supermarkets are handy, every kind of food option is close by, the Queen something something mall is around the corner. the Airport is handy. You are close to the roads heading to Hana and also the road up Haleakala.

The place itself though is old and you feel it. The rooms and bedding is dated and it feels like anyone could just walk into your room from the windows. We asked for a ground level room because we had two young kids and a stroller and didn't fancy having to carry them from the car up stairs, but sadly we couldn't get a room upstairs.

But in saying that you get what you pay for and we got a great rate and it was so handy. We had breakfast at the coconut grill which was good and overall it was a pleasant stay. We justified it by saving on accommodation and then spending on a rental car so we were never in our room except for sleeping.

We did feel like we missed out on the maui beach feel though by not being around kaanapali.

Room Tip: Ground level room is handy because you don't have to lug your bags up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfreaks4lyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,032 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
229 reviews
14.6 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Property: Maui Seaside Hotel
Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing