We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation, close to OGG airport”
Review of Maui Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Seaside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Maui Seaside Hotel is a basic motel styled place that about 5 minutes by taxi from Maui's main airport.
The Coconut Grill on site is a good meal option and provides breakfast in the room rate if you opt for that. There is upscale Italian across the road and Burger King close by.
The hotel is family run and the staff were friendly and organized. The room was clean and there were US sockets for charging in a strip next to a desk. The bed was comfortable. Internet access is available in the lobby on 2 large Imacs. There is a pool and there is access through a gate for walks near the seaside but there is no real beach here.
The hotel was 100% booked full in January.

The rooms are large but very BASIC with overhead fan, in wall air conditioner, flat screen TV and average sized bathroom with modular shower over bath. I could not log into Skywave internet ($8.95 per day) in the room, others has no problem. Parking was $5 extra per day. Overall the hotel is like a Days Inn that is perhaps 1980s vintage and in need of redevelopment but seems to be well run. My room cost $US112 per night, which raises questions about value but the Market rules!

This place will be too basic for some people but is well situated for business, eating and airport. It is not near any of the major tourist spots on Maui. For those that need a higher rung option a new Courtyard by Marriott is being built:
http://news.marriott.com/2011/04/mauis-first-courtyard-by-marriott-breaks-ground-in-kahului.html.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

768 - 774 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

This is possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
Front desk staff were never very cheerful and seemed quite unhappy really.
Do not be fooled into paying for parking on the grounds as the free parking is literally next to it! If your not sure ask to check it out first.

Our room was obviously in the oldest part of the hotel (2 story block on right when facing the ocean) and the room was so dark due to tinted glass and the fence being a metre from the window that we needed to have all the lamps on when we were in there just to be able to see. It was very bleak and overall quite dirty, especially the carpet which I didn't even like to walk on with bare feet.

We were staying for 5 nights and had we known before hand we would not have stayed here. Although it is cheaper than others I just don't think it is worth the saving.

On a positive the hotel is walking distance to two shopping centers with lots of food options and a movie theatre. One of the food outlets is a Wholefoods supermarket and just fantastic. Lots of healthy options and although pricey it is definitely worth it. I am vegetarian and this place was an absolute blessing.

It rained the week we were there so didn't swim and the beach in front of the complex didn't look ideal for swimming as many boats pass by so not sure of water quality?

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here one night due to a late flight into Maui. I would stay here again for the same purpose. The hotel is very close to the airport and easy to find. The staff is very friendly. Handy restaurant is attached to hotel for an average breakfast before you head out (our meal was included with room) The room was neat and clean - that was my main concern. Bed was comfortable. Two chairs outside to sit and look at the bay and pool in the centre (we had a ground floor room). Parking is $5 or free just beside the hotel. Either option is fine and close. We paid the $5 but ended up parking just beside the free parking as it was late and the closer paid parking was full. No safety issues for car or contents that we could see..

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinavanderwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

You get what you pay for and travelers should understand that. The property itself and its amenities are not able to compete with many of the other resorts on Maui, but then again you cannot beat the price at the Maui Seaside. I would recommend this hotel to anyone flying in late to Maui or looking to explore Haleakala, going on snorkeling trips or other day excursions. My wife and I recently spent our honeymoon on Maui and spent the first 3 nights here, and then moved to locations in Hana and Wailea. Our first 3 days were hectic and we literally only slept here.This was a perfect location for us, as we got up early to watch the sunrise on Haleakala. The staff was very friendly and there was a pool, but we did not use it. Wi-fi was available as well, but we did not use it. The rooms are large but outdated, but they were clean and for the price you simply could not beat it. Those posting negative reviews obviously wanted to stay at a 4 or 5 star resort but pay a 2-3 star price.....that just doesn't happen.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sullyryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We booked the room from Priceline not expecting a property in this condition. When you dive in, you can tell the parking lot atmosphere seemed dangerous so I would be cautious of what you leave in there, if anything. When walking on the outside of the property you could see many huge bugs. The one elevator in the building was not handicap access able and the staircase felt like they had old grease and were just filthy in general. As soon as we entered the room, we were overwhelmed with a smokey smell (yes, this was supposed to be a nonsmoking building.) Right off the bat, you could tell the the room was old and dirty and didn't seem comfortable any more. Behind the bed you could see some white powder resembling Boric Acid; this would indicate a infestation of bugs. The room comes with a refrigerator which was set on the luggage rack (very unsteady and inconvenient in my opinion.) Also, the sink in the bathroom did not drain water well and the one garbage can in the room had no bag in it. When we asked to get a better remodeled room, we were refused and told we were already in a 'superior room' heck, I'd love to see a standard if this is superior. We got back to the hotel after a long day and needed extra pillows, when we called the front desk, they said house keeping was gone for the day. In a nut shell, I wouldn't recommend staying here. I understand we had payed for a two star hotel but believe me I have stayed at many places throughout the world and seen better in third world countries.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelerAltaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We found this place to be the best in terms of being conveniently near the airport and the malls, it was well kept. The best thing was that the rooms had a good sized fridge and microwave which was very helpful if you want to keep snacks in your room.

The downside is the internet speed is very slow in the rooms if you choose to get Internet in your room. Also the beds are not all that comfortable, but overall a good deal.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpinnerDolphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Two couples stayed here on a layover and will not return. Hotel needs serious updating. Hair in sink bed and bathtub. I would have hoped for holiday inn express standards for 120 dollars. The free breakfast for 2 was adaquate. Hope we don't have to use this property again. 5 bucks for parking and no shuttle service. Wifi system of having to get a 10 digit code every time from front desk is lame. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
554 reviews
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,176 reviews
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
14.7 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,215 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Seaside Hotel

Address: 100 West Kaahumanu Avenue, Kahului, Maui, HI 96732-1607
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range: $157 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Seaside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise at the Maui Seaside Hotel where extreme play and relaxation combine to create the ideal Hawaiian vacation on the beautiful island of Maui. Windsurf at Hookipa Beach, hike in Iao State Park, golf at Maui Lani, and explore local villages. Our oceanfront Kahului, Maui hotel offers affordable lodging with easy access to adventure and local culture! Rich Experience, Great Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Seaside Kahului
Hotel Maui Seaside
Maui Seaside Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing