We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Temptation Tours
from $392.07
More Info
from $249.37
More Info
from $270.21
More Info
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
536
60
20
8
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
536
60
20
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kula lodge haleakala sunrise tour luxury van hana picnic road to hana our tour guide picnic tour small group delicious breakfast luxury tour cafe mambo hana hotel safe driver the black sand beach warm clothing comfortable van one lane bridges
Filter
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 635 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the only way to enjoy Hana, especially if you get car sick! You fly via helicopter one way and are shuttled in a Limo-Van for the rest of the trip. You enjoy spectacular views from the air and on the ground. You get a lunch and I was even give beautiful flowers. Both the pilot and the guide share interesting facts about the area. We made many stops along the Road to Hana and it made the trip fun! Although pricey ($344/ea person) it was a once in a lifetime MUST DO!

2  Thank 13Kaz_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TemptationTours, Owner at Temptation Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We agree that this is the only way to travel the Road to Hana, and we're so glad you chose us to take you on this incredibly beautiful trip! Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope you'll join us again someday for another adventure.

Mahalo,
Dave and Kathy Campbell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband, two sons (11 & 16) and I took this tour in late June. It was actually the deluxe sunrise shore excursion through Norwegian Cruise Lines. It was a bit expensive, especially for the 4 of us, but it was one of our favorite experiences. Scotty was our guide, and he really went out of his way to make sure we had a great viewing spot, and to make sure we got great photos. I think we had about 10 people in our van - a really small group for a cruise line excursion.
Please believe all the reviewers when we say it's cold ! I had my winter coat, hat & gloves, but my feet were numb by the time the sun came up. My youngest didn't bring enough clothes (what are the odds he wouldn't listen to his mom ?), and Scotty even let him use his spare sweat shirt.
If you can afford this deluxe package, don't pass it up. The extra attention and help definitely made this a great day for our family.

Thank Kchappy84_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TemptationTours, Owner at Temptation Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We hope we had some part in creating a lifelong memory for you, your husband and your sons. That is truly our goal and the reason we started this business -- that and to share the incredible natural beauty that surrounds us. Thank you for choosing us to help you explore Hawaii, and we'd love to take you and your family on another adventure someday! It's great to hear that Scotty was helpful, and we'll be sure to let him know you've mentioned him.

Mahalo,
Dave and Kathy Campbell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I went on a sunrise tour with Temptation Tours last May. What an amazing experience we had. We were lucky to have Eric as our tour guide for this trip. Right from the moment he picked us up at the hotel I knew we were in for a special day. This man has so much knowledge of all things Hawaii and really embodies the Aloha spirit. If you have a choice of tour guides when you make your reservations I highly recommend that you request Eric for your tour, It will be an unforgettable experience.

Thank Terribleone923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our Haleakala sunrise tour with Scotty was wonderful! Scotty is one of the most knowledgeable tour guides that we encountered during our trip to three of the Hawaiian Islands. He shared his knowledge of Maui and the Hawaiian Islands from the moment he picked us up at our hotel until the moment we returned.

Scotty was a safe driver and navigated the tight curves on the road to the Haleakala summit with ease. Our tour consisted of two couples. Scotty pointed out the very best viewing spot and waiting alongside us for the sunrise, all the while pointing out the timing when we could expect the best colors to appear in the sky, pointing out constellations, and various aspects of the crater at the summit. We noticed that many of the drivers of the competitor tour groups wait inside their vans or buses and leave the tour members to fend for themselves on the mountain. Scotty was with us every step of the way.

I'm not going to lie; it was cold at the summit. You should bring gloves, ear muffs, a hooded sweatshirt and many layers to have on underneath. The winds are strong at the summit, and it will feel like it is at the freezing mark.

After the sunrise, Scotty took us to three additional spectacular view spots to view the summit, scenery, islands in the distance. Throughout the morning, he was able to share his knowledge and point out various plants and flowers that grow on the mountain and throughout Maui.

We stopped at Kula Lodge for a delicious breakfast mid-morning and browsed a few shops in the area. This lodge is cozy, with a burning fireplace and delicious food options.

Scotty helped to make our Haleakala sunrise experience a memorable one. He exceeded our expectations and we would not only recommend Temptation Tours to our friends and family, but would recommend that they request him as their guide.

Mahalo to Scotty and Temptation Tours for a wonderful day!

9  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We read a lot of reviews and debated whether it would be worth our time and money to take the sunrise tour to Haleakala, attempt to drive it ourselves, or skip it altogether. We're very glad we decided to take the tour with Temptation Tours. They were a little pricier than some of the other tours we looked at, but this tour has the advantage of a small van (there was only one other couple on our tour) and personalized attention. We made two very good decisions in our advance planning--1) to take the tour as early as we could into our vacation so the early (2:00am!) wake-up call wouldn't be as difficult since we were still on East Coast US time and 2) packing some warm clothes to wear (turtleneck, warm jackets, hat and gloves).

Eric was a wonderful guide--he was friendly, knowledgeable, a safe driver, and sensitive to our comfort level on the trip up the mountain. He was eager to share the wealth of information he has about Maui and answer any of our questions, but he also gave us some "quiet" time to doze off a bit on the drive.

We were able to see a spectacular sunrise, but almost as memorable was the amazing view of the starlit skies we had just before sunrise. I used my SkyView app to identify constellations and individual stars and planets--not sure I've ever had a view of the night sky like that one! Downside: the cold air drained the battery on my Iphone. When we say it's cold up on the top of the mountain, we mean COLD! Make sure you keep at least one phone warm if you are using it for your camera.

After watching the sun come up, we stopped at Kula Lodge for a tour of the garden and a delicious (filling!) breakfast. We returned back to our condo by 10--with a full day of beach and pool time in front of us.

Although we could have driven up Haleakala ourselves, it would have been pretty stressful to be making that tricky drive in the dark. It was well worth the money for us to pay someone else to do the driving (and get the benefit of his knowledge and experience in finding the best spot for sunrise viewing). We were very happy we didn't miss the once-in-a-lifetime experience of watching the sun come up in such a breathtaking setting!

5  Thank Biffer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews