We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect sunrise!”
Review of Temptation Tours

Temptation Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$245.33*
and up
Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour
More Info
$251.58*
and up
Small-Group Tour: Luxury Haleakala Sunrise Experience
More Info
$266.17*
and up
Small-Group Luxury Tour: Road to Hana and Ka'eleku Cavern Day Trip
Ranked #4 of 31 Tours in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Temptation Tours is an Award-Winning Sightseeing Land Tour company that specializes in offering 8 different Sightseeing Tours and Private Charters to Maui's Top Natural Locales - The Road to Hana & Majestic Mt. Haleakala! All tours are limited to just 6 to 8 Guests, traveling in the air-conditioned comfort of custom-built, Luxury Limo-Vans with a spacious leather captains chair for each Guest. Adventure, excitement, and an experience of a lifetime await you on the breathtaking island of Maui! 1600 Maui Concierge Voted Temptation Tours - Best Activity Overall. Serving Maui since 1986 - Voted Maui's #1 Activity Overall - Voted Maui's #1 Sightseeing Land Tour Company - Triple "Keep it Hawaii Award Winner" - U.S. Congressional Achievement Award Recipient - Featured on Disney Cruise Lines - CERTIFIED Sustainable Tourism Operator - Awarded 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence.
near Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect sunrise!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did the Haleakala tour. Scott and Aaron picked up our party of 12 in two vans at 3 am. We had just come in the day before from Ohio, so we were able to pull this off. What a wonderful event! Yes, cold. Very cold. But my husband and I had done this by ourselves twenty years ago and remembered the cold part. We were prepared. How awesome to do this right with our daughter and extended family with the tour. Both guides were wonderful in their knowledge and courtesy. They couldn't share enough with us. Every subject about Hawaii you could imagine. The included breakfast was great at a nice restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank domegnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    52
    17
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights,IL
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Hana Picnic with Eric!!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile


We were just on Maui for our Honeymoon. I highly recommend doing the trip to Hana with Temptation Tours. DO NOT DRIVE THIS YOURSELF!

We did the Road to Hana and It was a terrific tour. We had Eric as our driver. We were very impressed with the fact that Eric was very knowledgable about Hana history and culture. The Hana tour itself was great. Love the Black sand beach, and the lunch we got was delicious!! There lunch definitely filled us up. Another nice thing was the fact that we had only 2 couples and a single gentleman that was traveling with us.

If you are going to Maui I highly recommend Temptation Tours for the Hana Tour. Make sure you ask for Eric!


Helpful?
2 Thank Redjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Horrible! Guide smoking marijuana while on the tour.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I spent $200 each on a Hana picnic tour and it wasn't worth a dime. When we got picked up by our driver/tour guide Eric (or Big E as he introduced himself) my husband said Eric smelled of marijuana. I told him he was crazy and to get in the van, but as we were driving I realized Eric was acting unusual. During the tour he barely gave us any information about Hana, or the things that we were passing along our way, and the little he did tell us he continually repeated over and over again. This was our 5th tour while in Hawaii, and all of the others were far more informative. At one point Eric stopped the car in the middle of the road so that he could lean over and take a picture from his cell phone for himself. Yet earlier on the tour, when my husband asked him to stop so he could take a picture, Eric never stopped the van and barely slowed down. Seeing as my husband was sitting behind him, he clearly heard his request. Needless to say we didn't get the picture. The lunch that was served was absolutely awful! Please see the picture we attached because that is literally what you'll be served. It was like eating a mayo sandwich. Then for dessert, I took a brownie out from under the cling wrap and there was the longest hair wrapped around it. When we got back to the van it once again stunk of marijuana! Along the way home we stopped for a lot of pictures and each time we got back into the van the driver smelt more and more. Then at one of our stops all of the members of the tour were back in the van, and the driver stayed out to talk to some woman who was selling things. My husband and I were watching him as he pulled out his marijuana cigarette, took out a lighter, lit the cigarette, took another hit from it, sealed it back and put it back into his pocket, and then gets back into the van as was completely baked. We called temptation tours regarding our displeasure with the tour and how unprofessional they are to have such a loser in charge of everyone's safety. Thankfully the person my husband spoke with was very helpful and they were able to give us a little money back. And I mean a little money. Nothing close to the $400 we spent. I'm just thankful we made it back in one piece.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Sweets35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TemptationTours, Owner at Temptation Tours, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
False, Malicious and Fabricated Review

Temptation Tours is a licensed Public Utilities Company and has been in business on Maui for over 26 years. We are shocked that this guest reviewed their Hana Tour in this libelous manner. Let us make this perfectly Clear - Our Professional Guides do not smoke marijuana - Period. Each guide is Hawai'i State Certified, have Federally ID background clearance and been full drug tested before and while being employed with Temptation Tours. We have a Zero Tolerance for any drug or alcohol abuse.

Regarding this specific review, we feel that the writer was confused regarding our Tour Guide smoking small cigars versus smoking marijuana. Temptation Tours' smoking policy is very strict. Guides are not allowed to smoke in the Limo-Van or during tour in front of guests. Eric did smoke small cigars on the tour but always discreetly and away from our valued guest's view.

With all these facts in mind this review is suspect. The smoking of marijuana did not happen. This picture submitted shows a, more than, half eaten lunch with a smashed roll-up and bits of pasta salad. This certainly is not accrurate, since our lunch service is plentiful and delicious with 2 large tastey roll-ups, plenty of vegetable pasta salad, fresh pineapple and moist brownies. Our lunch is served on white linen tablecloths with linen napkins and crystalline plates. All of our food is made-fresh daily by a licensed caterer.

Also suspect, If these guests were so convinced that their safety was in danger, why would they continue on tour? Obviously, these guests had a different agenda. "Let's make up things so we can receive a full refund agenda". Since their plan failed to receive a full refund, their immature revenge is to write a review full of defamatory falsehoods to disparage the outstanding reputation of Temptation Tours and one of our Professional Guides.

Trip Advisor was developed for real reviews and honest comments. With dishonest review like this one, everyone is hurt - Trip Advisor, Temptation Tours and all potential guests to Maui receiving false information.

We hope all who read Trip Advisor will dismiss the above review as false and malicious and consider the other honest reviews about Temptation Tours on Trip Advisor and other social media sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helicopter and Van Trip to Hana - Perfect Combo!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We wanted to take the road to Hana tour but thanks to good feedback on Trip Advisor, we realized the best choice for us was to spend half of our time in a van. We chose Temptation Tours due to their high ratings and we were very pleased. We took the helicopter to Hana (Temptation Tours used Blue Hawaiian Helicopters) and it was a super trip. The views were beautiful from the hellicopter and the trip was fun. It was my first helicopter ride and it was amazing. Our pilot, Eric was fun and informative. We were met at the Hana Airport by Kelly who took us on our ride from Hana back to Lahaina. Kelly was great - courteous, informative and friendly. He has a wealth of knowledge and his pride in Maui is evident in all his conversations. It was a great trip. I wish we could have stopped a few more times along the road - but when you see the road you will know why that's not possible. It's barely big enough for one car at points. Thank you Temptation Tours for creating great memories for us!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stop for Mac Nut Brittle and Mango Bread!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Gary Temple was our guide on the Road to Hana tour. He was Knowledgable, engaging, entertaining, and energetic to have kept it going for 8 hours. He made the whole experience for us memorable and educational. Thanks, Gary! Still thinking about that Mac Nut Brittle....we should have bought a case.

Helpful?
1 Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temptation Tours also viewed

 

Been to Temptation Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing