We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Road to Hana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahalo Tours

Mahalo Tours
Ranked #8 of 31 Tours in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Break away from the crowds and experience the famous road to Hana, a gorgeous, winding coastal road with breathtaking valleys, lush rain forests and spectacular waterfalls aboard our luxurious Mercedes Benz buses, which features a small group, with a maximum of eight lucky participants. You will enjoy an unhurried Hawaiian adventure guided by an authentic Hawaiian host, who is also an entertainer, and who can't wait to show you the beauty and warmth of the Hawaiian hospitality and give you some laughs while at it!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Road to Hana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well the tour picked us up from our hotel on time and our driver, Don, was an intelligent, warm and funny guy! A font of information and he ensured that everything ran from clockwork. Not only that, he is a regular Dr Doolittle - he conjured up a group of friendly chickens to visit us by the roadside, even was able to coax the moongoose's (or is the plural mongi...)out of the rainforest for us as well. Amazing scenery, breathtaking views and such a contrast as you drive around the island. Mind you there are many times that you know the road is very tight - but Don's a pro at the wheel! The winery was not for me though - coming from Adelaide where we have three major world class wine regions all within a hours drive from home, well, the wines just didn't cut it for me. Not to my taste! Its an all day tour and it travels at the pace you want - and if you get Don, you'll have a great time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    16
    9
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bob and Dale Trip to Hana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our first tour during our trip to Maui. Our tour guide JP set the bar for tour guides so high that it made our other tours seem to have something lacking. He was just wonderful and very helpful and informative. Full of information about the culture, plants and the Hana area. The food was better than we expected for a road trip. We made stops along the way at waterfalls and pools where the younger ones on our tour enjoyed a swim. Very scenic, we have tons of great pictures taken along the way. JP always offered to take our pictures with the beautiful mountains, ocean and waterfalls as backdrops. He could do this because there were only eight people in the van, not 20 plus as we had on bus tours. The Mercedes van was so much more comfortable than any bus we were on. If you are taking a tour in Maui, you need to check out Mahalo tours. I have to say malaho to Mahalo Tours for a wonderful time on our 50th. anniversary.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobandDale198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Spring
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Road To Hana W/ Mahalo Tours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

After getting off to a bad start, (driver was late, driver picked up wrong passengers, had to take them back to where he picked them up, had to change drivers, etc.) We finally got on the road with another driver, Charlie (supposedly the owner????). Charlie entertained us, and informed us all along the way. Stopping to buy our group apple bananas, mangoes, and banana bread. Good snacks and drinks were always available in the van. Delicious lunch in someone's front yard out of a food truck. Numerous stops on beaches, parks, a church, Linburg's grave, a winery, etc. - So glad we took this tour, as the road is very winding, and also very narrow. - We noticed several other tour companies vans were slowing down or stopping to take pictures out of their van's windows instead of getting out like we did. Some vans had 20+ tourists in them - Mahalo limits their tourists to 8 per Mercedes Benz vans. - Tour lasted about 10 hours - would not recommend it for children - Also, many steep cliffs and overlooks, could be dangerous to rambunctious, overly curious kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Kaleo was a fantastic tour guide! We had a great time visiting gray, red, and black sand beaches! The tour is a full day (they pick you up at 7 pm and drop you back at your hotel around 6:30 pm), but a great time. If you want to see Hana, I highly recommend using this tour guide company. The groups are small, so book well in advance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pearsons712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, New Jersey
1 review
“Trip to Hana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We loved this tour! Our guide Kaleo was so much fun and a wealth of knowledge about the area, culture, plants and history. He went into the forested areas and brought us fruit from the trees to eat, in addition to the fresh fruit provided throughout the day by Mahalo. The trip surpassed our expectations and we highly recommend this company. The highlight of our visit to Maui! We saw other tours passing by during the day and were so happy to be in such a small group of eight on the very comfortable Mercedes van. Although we had a rental car, we were glad to have taken the trip with a knowledgeable driver who knew the roads well, particularly in this area. Wonderful day!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mahalo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing