We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Team bistro Casanova”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Casanova

Bistro Casanova
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Casanova is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 149 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kaahumanu Avenue
Transit: Maui Bus stop on the back of the building.
Description: Bistro Casanova is located at the ground floor of the Kahului office building, a four stories property across the street from Kahului beach, just one mile from Kahului airport. Your GPS device will probably lead you to the large parking space behind the building. You can gain entrance to the Restaurant both from Kaahumanu Avenue, where a large awning with the sign Bistro Casanova will guide you from the parking stalls to the front door, and from Lono Avenue, where a large sign shows the entrance from its main address: 33 Lono Avenue. In both cases, you'll have no problem in finding parking, day or night time. See you inside, where you'll be able to choose a table in the air conditioned dining rooms or "al fresco", in the lanai. Bistro Casanova awards winning cuisine is often recognized as the best option for a memorable meal in busy Kahului, before or after a trip to the airport or a show in nearby theaters and movies houses. Since 2009 Bistro Casanova is a very popular destination because of its tapas, pastas, steaks and fresh seafood. Discover why.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Team bistro Casanova”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went for a nice air conditioned lunch at the bistro. Easy to find in kahalui. Kimberly gave us the most attentive and appreciated service . Yes, bread was offered and delivered. Ice water was refilled several times. The eggplant Parmesan was excellent, along with the little side Caesar salads.angel hair shrimp pasta was delicately prepared. Kimberly commented that the lunch experience is a team effort and we could feel and taste the attention that goes into creating good food and service. Yes, we will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    108
    21
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
maui
1 review
“Bistro for great food & atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm a foodie and thrilled to have a nice dining option in Kahului that serves not only good food but also offers a visually lovely atmosphere to dine in. My most recent visit was for a lunch while out shopping. I had in mind the aromatic and filling Kaupo Salad (truffle oil drizzled on the local beef,) however, decided on the turkey burger which was truly delicious, the right amount of salt, flavor and surprisingly juicy...i loved the fries...perfectly crisp. I find the menu diverse enough to enjoy different flavors and love the concept of tapas style dining with all of the appetizer specials. The seating options are the bar, main dining area (love the clouds!), a cozy and beautifully decorated room with original artwork from Piero Resta, and outside dining that feels intimate and protected from the street...so many options in one place! I love the Bistro!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank contessamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore Maui
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worst meal in a long time.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just the facts. Bread plates, but no bread. Asked for bread, and reassured we will have bread. No bread. Eh, so what, right? Wife ordered fettucini with wild mushrooms and chicken. Swimming in deep rich creamy sauce, probably a cup of sauce on this plate, this is no way to enjoy a pasta dish. I ordered a salad, mixed local greens with Maui onions, tomato, olives, add a chicken breast. Greens served warm and wilted, some slimy. Chicken was dried up and obviously prepared at some other time, who knows when, I didn't ask. Served with red tomato wedges which were still green, hard and inedible. Sent the tomatoes back, asked the waitress to tell whoever plated it that if you wouldn't eat it yourself, don't serve it, as if that should have to be said. She was sorry. No comment from the kitchen, no comment from the manager, no adjustment on the bill. And still no bread.

Very nice atmosphere in an office building with indoor or outdoor seating. There is no reason to go to this restaurant. No reason at all. The staff there is just going through the motions, especially the kitchen staff, and this is very obvious. This was probably my fourth visit, maybe 5th, and the last few times were merely passable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RickMotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mountain, GA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“yummmmmmy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We started our meal with the calamari fritti (because we always order calamari and tend to remember this dish for comparison sake, to other restaurants). The serving size was a small to share and it was a little tough and the pieces were so big we had to cut about 1/2 of them in half. Cutting the pieces made for a mess on the plate and loss of the "fritti" experience, but the flavor was good. I probably wouldn't order this again here. We were there for happy hour (last till 6pm) and a cafe of wine was only $5 so we ordered two:) We had the table red which was decent. My husband ordered the special which was macadamia nut crusted mahimahi. It was $33 and good but not $33 good (according to him). It lacked flavor punch and the presentation was "ok". I on the other hand thoroughly enjoyed every bite of my meal! The capellini alla checca was amazing! I added shrimp for an additional $4, but it would have been wonderful without it. The flavors worked so well together and the portion size was perfect. If you order dinner (verses from the tapas menu) focaccia is included and I could have eaten the entire basket. Served with a garlic butter which was good but I prefer herb olive oil with my bread. You can sit inside or out; we chose out and really enjoyed it. Even though they are located directly on the road, the outside tables are somewhat shielded by trees making for a nice quasi barrier from the traffic. The wait staff was very attentive, just the right amount, and tables were cleared quickly of dishes when finished. We weren't rushed and I at least would love to go back and would order the same dish. We made reservations for 5:30 but arrived earlier. By the time we left all outside tables were full on this Saturday night and most of the inside looked pretty full. It it hadn't been for the tough calamari and over priced special this would have been #4.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

One if our most favorite restaurants on Maui is Bistro Casanova in Kahukui. Each and every one there makes us and everyone else so welcome. It's truly hard to choose between the bar menu and the dining room menu as anything we have ordered from either one was super! By the way? The Happy Hour there is one of the BEST!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elyse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bistro Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing