We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good”

Wow Wee Maui Kava Bar & Grill
Ranked #26 of 149 Restaurants in Kahului
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sushi, Pub, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chico, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Wasn't terribly busy so the service was pretty good in our eyes. The sushi was pretty good, nice portion and the rolls were tasty. The sushi rice needs a little work, but overall good beer and tasty sushi. Rolls came out quickly and the waitress came by often to keep our beers full. Would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We passed this restaurant several times going through town and decided to try it out one day. It was hot in the restaurant so we opted for one of the few outdoor seats. The food was good (I had a delicious Mahi sandwich, my boyfriend had sushi that was decent). It was quick and simple and I'd probably eat there regularly if I lived there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Latanya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delicious and flavorful”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We normally don't stop at restaurants so close to airports but I am so thankful we did this time. Wow-wee Maui is probably within a mile of the airport. All four of us thought it was some of the most flavorful food we had ever eaten. The Mahi Mahi wrap was straight from heaven! My mouth is watering right now just remembering it.

It was so good we left Kapalua early so we could eat there before our flight! Excellent service both times, especially when flying out, when the waitress knew we were on a time constraint.

There is also a sushi bar that I heard was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Skip it!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived in Kahului starving from our 5 hour flight. We wanted something to relax and start our vacation mode. Food was a small portion, I ordered wrap. We were lucky enough to get there during happy hour and got $4 beer that was a plus. Service was slow. I would skip this restaurant on our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GSilva6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit of a Dive, but a great Dive!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stopped here for lunch on our way to the airport. If you are looking for linen tablecloths, this is not for you. If you want great food served by interesting characters, you must stop here.

We started with the Oyster shooter. An amazing little appetizer cocktail composed of 7 ingredients. I've had my share of Oyster Shooters and this one may be the best on the planet.

We only had the sushi, but other guests were enjoying burgers, fish and chips, and the like. The sushi was awesome. Very fresh, flavorful, and well-prepared. The cost was very reasonable.

For local food and fun, this is a great stop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wow Wee Maui Kava Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Wow Wee Maui Kava Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing