We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect private tour! Highly recommended!”
Review of Awapuhi Adventures

Awapuhi Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We provide customized private tours on Maui for the individual, couple, family and friends. We accommodate all levels of fitness and experience from non-swimmers to triathletes. There is something for everyone on Maui and we make it a priority to make sure you experience everything you want. We know you have several choices when it comes to planning activities on Maui. BOOK WITH US TODAY and get away from the crowds, go at your pace, connect with your friends and family while exploring Maui from mauka (mountains) to makai (ocean), learning about Hawaiian and natural history, and most importantly, having a lot of fun!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Perfect private tour! Highly recommended!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The road to Hana trip with Florian was simply awesome. We were a group of three adults and really enjoyed every minute. Although the road to Hana attracts a lot of people, Florian led us only to places which were off the beaten track.

In summary: Florian is an amazing guide, full of knowledge about the island. He will customize the tour according to your needs and wishes. We hiked through a bamboo forest, explored a lava tube, had a swim next to a waterfall, enjoyed a splendid picknick lunch prepared by Florian, jumped from a cliff (wow! still excited!), visited small beaches etc... What else can you expect? If you are looking for a private tour, it can't be any better. Highly recommended! A perfect day with lots of unforgettable memories thanks to Florian.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joerg Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    4
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fortunate Cancellation!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

As a result of a cancellation Alicia was able to fit us in on the "Road To Hana" tour on the 16th.... and what a tour is was! Her main goal and focus of the day was to make sure we were having a great time and seeing all the sites we wanted to. Because we were into taking photographs, she tailored the tour to include some sites that would allow us to take some awesome photos and to experiment with some new camera equipment we had never used before. Her enthusiasm and knowledge of everything "Maui" was not only refreshing, but sincere and truly from the heart. Our Thai Lunch (a favourite stop along the way if you opt out of Alicia making lunch for you) was excellent. If we had done this trip on our own we would have missed out on 99% of the secrets and beauty of the Road to Hana. It was so pleasurable to leave literally everything up to Alicia for an entire 11 hours. If you are planning a trip to Maui you should book far in advance to take advantage of her hospitality! Thank You - see you on our next trip Alicia!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank onehpegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Trip of a Lifetime!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We took a cruise to Hawaii and were fortunate enough to spend a glorious day in Maui. Based on the raving reviews, we booked a private Road to Hana tour with Awapuhi Adventures ... and are sooooo glad we did! Florian was a treasure trove of knowledge and introduced us to the hidden gems of Maui we would never have otherwise found on our own. In fact, upon our return, we compared notes with another family who took the Road to Hana tour with another company. Talk about night & day differences!! They said they were bored out of their minds while we couldn't stop talking about all the amazing experiences we had. From sampling freshly baked (HOT) banana bread to jumping into a waterfall (personal bucket list), we did it all! To top things off, we had a picnic right by the ocean with waves crashing onto the black volcanic rocks and beach. Yes, it was definitely a trip of a lifetime!! So, if you're heading to Maui and are looking for a first-rate private tour, you better book it with Awapuhi quickly before someone else does!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MOGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiMargo, Owner at Awapuhi Adventures, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Aloha Annabel! Mahalo nui loa for your wonderfully informative and glowing review! Both Florian and I thank you for choosing Awapuhi Adventures! I am so glad I was able to meet you on your tour with Florian and encourage you to jump in! Deb will send photos to me via email and I can forward them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We scheduled the Road to Hana private tour with Florian because we were not overly familiar with the island of Maui! Wow were we blown away! Florian made for an unforgettable experience. We stopped at huge waterfalls, amazing towns, roadside lava tube and hiked through a beautiful bamboo forest. He was so knowledgeable of the island and knew of all the places to stop! He even made us the most amazing lunch! We were spoiled! I wouldn't have done the Road to Hana any other way. We were able to sit back and relax and not worry about the drive at all and instead take in all the amazing scenery. If you are planning on doing the Road to Hana, I would definitely recommend booking it with Awapuhi Adventures.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erika Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiMargo, Owner at Awapuhi Adventures, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Erika, Mahalo nui loa for your generous review! I am so glad you had thoroughly enjoyed your day with Florian, despite the rain. Lava tubes are sometimes the best place to be in situations like that. :) It is a testament to the fact that rain or shine we can make Hana an extraordinary experience. Florian kept saying the next day that he wished he could take you out again in the clearer weather. Look us up next time you visit Maui!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moruya, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Amazing Day”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

What an amazing day we had with Florian. Our 10 hour trip was filled with stunning scenery, walks to waterfalls through bamboo forests, red and black sand beaches and Florian's wonderful commentary along the way. We thought lunch would be a bread roll and some sort of filling, imagine our surprise when Florian produced a table cloth, plates, cutlery and a tasty chicken salad!!
Don't think of driving this road yourself, sit back and enjoy the scenery and let Florian do all the driving, you wont regret it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pollypage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awapuhi Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Awapuhi Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing