We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Hale Manu!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana
Ranked #1 of 9 Hana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“We love Hale Manu!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hale Manu is magical. When we arrived, there was beautiful Hawaiian music playing and all the windows had been opened. We loved being serenaded by the birds. The cottage was thoughtfully decorated with fresh flowers in every room. In the kitchen, a giant bowl of avocados (grown on the property) awaited us. They also left us a jar of coffee beans - amazing. We loved the vaulted ceiling and the huge kitchen was super fun to cook in! We really enjoyed all of the geckos and we had a curious grasshopper that visited us every night at the screen door. We really wish we had stayed longer than three nights. Leokane & Chris put a lot of care into these rentals. I'll be inviting our hosts over for a pu pu platter next time!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanaMana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
185
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

What a treasure to find tucked away in magical Hana. The cottage where we stayed just one night was perfect and a welcome treat from busy Lahaina and even busier mainland. Every detail was thoughtfully attended to from the fresh flower welcome to the dishware.
Thank you for letting us visit if even for a short time. We would love to come back and share the experience with family.
BTW, I love your detailed directions and instructions, way to go.

Mahalo Leokane and come stay in Puamana when you can.
Dave and Cheryl
Half Moon Bay, CA
Sept. 21, 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed in the Hale Ulu Lulu and we were SO impressed with the quality of the cottage, the grounds, the amenities, the attention to detail, and lastly the surrounding area. While I was never able to meet Chris or Leokane in person you can tell that have they have impeccable taste and have a meticulous eye for details. The cottage and grounds are PERFECT. It's literally like I would imagine old time Hawaii would have been, but with every thing else you could want in this modern day and age. When I come back to Hana I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myee7194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Every year in September, my husband and I visit Hawaii. No visit is complete for us without a few nights in Hana and, in particular, staying at The Guest Houses at Malanai.

There's no other feeling in the world like getting out of a hot car, kicking off one's shoes and stepping into the bungalow after the long drive. Gazing around the living room that's been sprinkled with flowers and seeing the fresh fruit on the bowl, picked from the property, always gets a pleasurable sigh out of us. This particular trip was even more special for us as we got married in Hana this time, sealing our love affair with this glorious part of the world and with The Guest Houses at Malanai. Quaint, comfortable, heartwarming, peaceful, beautiful - we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. We look forward to returning this time next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaUgarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A beautifully kept guesthouse in a quiet part of Maui. The Hale Manu guesthouse was maintained to a very high standard - we loved the flowers and fresh fruit in the house and the peaceful surrounds. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 278Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Truly an amazing, beautiful place. We were greeted with an absolutely idyllic little bungalow on our arrival to Hana. Throughout the course of our stay we felt as if we were in a museum exhibit - that is how perfect the home was with an immaculate decor that suited it's environment perfectly. It was a dream trip that will provide us with pleasant memories for years and years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence,RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've always loved Hana but never stayed the night and this trip we decided to stay 3 nights total. Couldn't have made a better decision and we loved our time at the Hale Manu guesthouse. As soon as I walked in the door I felt relaxed, peaceful and like I was at home. Guesthouse had everything I could possibly need and I was so sad to leave this beautiful home. I will definitely be back! Pretty close to Hana itself as well, which was nice for day trips and excursions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JugiBug56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
3.0 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,136 reviews
29.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
25.8 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
516 reviews
28.4 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana

Property: The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana
Address: 6776 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713-3005
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two impeccably maintained, fully furnished, ocean view homes in one of Hana’s finest locations. We are directly across from the Maka’alae pasturelands and ocean and also situated within walking distance to world famous Hamoa Beach and Venus Pool. Each home is landscaped for privacy on our approximately two-acre property. We live in a separate home on the property, so you have the security of knowing that your rental is well maintained and though we honor your privacy, we make ourselves available to assist you when needed. Both of our guesthouses have stack washer/dryers, tub and shower combinations (a oversized claw foot tub in Hale Ulu Lulu and a spa tub in Hale Manu) and enjoy the convenience of “on the grid” wi-fi, electricity, free telephone to US/Canada, cable and water. We consistently receive rave reviews on our attention to detail and thoughtfully equipped homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest Houses At Malanai In Hana Hotel Hana
The Guest Houses At Malanai In Hana Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing