We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
231
18
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
231
18
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hale manu the kitchen view of the ocean gas grill three nights bedroom property hawaii beaches drive beauty lanai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 252 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

When we arrived at the The Guest Houses at Malanai, I felt like I had arrived on a movie set, but this was REAL. A large, manicured lawn faced a view of the ocean, and opened onto a spacious, light-filled house with Hawaiian music quietly playing inside. There were fresh flowers everywhere, and the cross-breeze through the house kept us comfortable at all times. The house was beautifully appointed, and we had plenty of quiet and privacy. I looked forward to returning each of the 2 days we were in Hana, and hated to leave such lovely surroundings.

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelFan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent three nights in the Hale Ulu Lulu; the 1 BR 1 Bath guest house at the end of June. What an amazing time! This little house is located in one of the most beautiful places. When you look out the front windows of the cottage, or relax on the chairs in the front yard, you can enjoy an amazing view of the ocean through the coconut palms and lush greenery. The guest house is very comfortable and clean and has all the amenities you could possibly need. The owners do an amazing job of creating a magical place to vacation. It's also located close to all the Hana sites. Just keep in mind that you are visiting the rain forest. So it rains, it's humid, and there are some bugs. But Chris and Leokane go to great lengths to make sure your stay is clean, comfortable and memorable. We highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BandJMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very very clean--and we are picky. Very private cottage with one bedroom, plus kitchen and large living room with picture windows. Spacious. Very quiet. Beautiful flowers growing on property. Organized very well by owner--all on line. About 3 or 4 miles south of Hana with ocean views and huge green grass front yard. We spent one night in July. Fine without air conditioning. About 10 miles north of fabulous sacred pools area. Easy to find with owner directions.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hhhh7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We just returned from Maui and were fortunate enough to spend three of our nights at Hale Ulu Lulu. This gem of a place was exactly what we needed to catch the laid back, relaxing vibe of Hana. We walked to Waioka Pond (Venus Pool) and Hamoa Beach, and had both places virtually all to ourselves. It was so quiet there that we could hear the ocean waves crashing, even when inside the house.

The guest house itself is spotless, beautifully appointed, and full of thoughtful touches such as fresh flowers, Hawaiian music, beach equipment and comfy lounge chairs outside for enjoying the view.

It's a different Maui from the busy resorts of Lahaina, but it's the side of the island that I enjoyed most. Mahalo, Chris and Leokane, for providing such a wonderful place for us to experience.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripmom1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I just spent 7 days here, we were visiting Hana for a family reunion. The house is in a terrific location, just down the road from beautiful Hamoa beach, and easily accessible from the Hana Hwy (this is a big selling point as many rentals are not). The house was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was beautifully equipped. The house is charmingly decorated with ocean views from each bedroom, and the large deck in front of the house. This is the perfect place if you want an off-the-grid vacation with all the comforts of home. If you do stay, don't miss Leokane's show with his group at the Hotel Hana. It was one of the highlights of our trip. If you are a bird watcher or gardening enthusiast, the grounds surrounding the house are great for strolling and trying to ID the many birds and plants.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthPasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews