We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money! You can see the same views driving along the main road!”

Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden
Ranked #5 of 31 things to do in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Aloha and welcome to Mauis Garden Of Eden Arboretum. An Arboretum is a park dedicated to trees. We also feature hundreds of lowland rainforest species of flowers,shrubs,and ground covers as well.We began this project in1991 with 30 acres of densely overgrown jungle, now after investing more than 20yrs of physical labor and 2 million dollars, we have created one of Hawaii's most visited botanical gardens. We have many plants found nowhere else or are uncommon to Hawaii, such as rare Amazon fruits and medicinal species, endangered hardwoods, spice, exotic nut trees, ferns and so much more...A botanical Disneyland with over 2 miles of maintained graveled walking trails...A truly educational facility with over 700 plants botanically labeled. Try to allow at least 45 minutes to explore.We feature great views and photo opportunities but no direct access to the waterfall or pools.If you are only interested in restrooms (we now have improved facilities) You can do so for free 2 miles down the road.A portion of your entry fee is donated to the nature conservatory. The cost to keep our gate open averages $1,000/dy so we sincerely thank you for your support,,,especially those who have contributed beyond our entry fee. Most botanical gardens have teams of volunteers and use chemicals to curb costs. Our entire staff are well paid professionals, and we are almost entirely a chemical free park. Thank you for visiting, we do take your comments to heart
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waste of money! You can see the same views driving along the main road!”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Basically, a tourist trap. My husband and I were disappointed because the water fall they show you is much farther away than it looks in their pictures. And the rock from the movie that they advertise can be seen from the main road too. Don't waste your time or money. Just keep driving to Hana!

Helpful?
3 Thank loveshawaii2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan81435, Owner at Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
What we offer is a beautiful waterfall valley overlook with the waterfall itself being approximately
500 ft away. Most people think the view is beautiful.
The view of Keo Puka Rock, from the jurassic park movies can only be seen from our vantage point unless one trespasses onto our neighbors land below, which can be a hazard. People have fallen off the 200 ft cliff, The fence that people keep cutting was put there for a reason.
We have a staff of highly paid professionals and most people recognize our efforts. We have a
huge return visitor count.
If you are not interested in walking our trails and learning about the plants (both rare and common), through our well thought out plant labels,
taking in our special views along with a safe place to leave your car unattended, then maybe our facility is not your cup of tea. Fortunately, most people love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    158
    94
    52
    59
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spectacular flowers”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We wanted to see the protea variety of flowers that only grow in Hawaii. We visited this place and decided to tour the garden. We payed the admission and walked right into a chameleon in a cage... two young lads came up to us with a wild came lion and let us hold it. Truly amazing to watch. They then asked if we wanted to watch them feed the one in the cage its "dinner". Once again we are amazed to watch the critter launch his tongue to receive his meal.

We toured the garden area and enjoyed seeing a varieties of protea flowers.

There was a wedding being performed while we walked around the area also.

I would suggest anyone that is interested in flowers and chameleon to stop by.

We also ordered some protea to be delivered to Colorado at a later date. They arrived in great shape.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank williamsA5991QS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“To be avoided: not worth the money”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

There were some interesting flowers and trees there from around the world and I'm sure that maintenance and upkeep are expensive. However, it doesn't by any means justify the $15 per person charge, particularly when there are sights on the road to Hana just as spectacular or even more so that are absolutely free. Save your money and get a fresh coconut at one of the stands along the road instead.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank sakielnorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“SO NOT WORTH THE MONEY”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We decided to stop here on our way to Hana. We were originally told $15 per person and then when we balked at the rate, the person at the entrance dropped it to $10. We decided to do it anyway. It is not worth the $. We had seen several cars in front of us pull in and pull right back out after hearing the fee. What I find interesting is that the MAUI MAGAZINE for 2011 LISTS THE FEE AS $10 - not sure if they just increased the fee for entry.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank 816carolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan81435, Owner at Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
We raised our price from 10 to $15 in March of 2011, and continued honoring our old price for some time. We ave no control over publications that we don't pay to advertise in, although we do inform them as we are made aware of discrepancies.
We raised our entry fee for many reasons. We had invested over 100k in improvements, but mostly
because we had to many visitors and could not accommodate that many people.
Our goal was to provide a personal nature experience and avoid crowds, so we eliminated busses
and tour vans. This has worked out very well with most people really enjoying their time with us.
The few folks who don't seem to enjoy just drive in and out. This is not what we are about, our trails are wonderful and are signage is informative. Please get out and explore, or your better off just stopping at the waysides along the highway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ridiculously overpriced.”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I felt like I was scammed and taken advantage of. Not worth it, don't spend ur money, $15 per person is ridiculous for a drive that is not even quarter mile long. Do not fall for false advertisement.

Helpful?
2 Thank Doca71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alan81435, Owner at Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
We offer so much more than our 1/4 mile drive, which is generally used by those with age or health issues. The road dose offer access to our trail heads, restroom facility, picnic pavilions and some featured views and parking areas.
This park is about our trails (over 2miles of them). We have over 700 plants botanically labeled...
Some very rare and endangered, as well as the more common species. Have you ever wondered
what a certain plant was called?, You can find out here. Would you like to see a common house plant larger than your house? Yep, you can see this here.
We also offer a safe place where you can park and leave your car while enjoying your walk or picnic. This is a great place to get out of your can and enjoy the essence of old hawaii.
Most of the entry fee is used to support this facility. This is a difficult rainforest environment in which to provide such a service, and fortunately,,,most people love it and appreciate our effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Garden of Eden Arboretum & Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing