We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hana Bay Hale
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hana
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hale Ho'omana(Makawao)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paia Inn(Paia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sprecks Plantation House(Spreckelsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
9
18
10
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
18
10
15
8
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 60 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2008

I had a chance to stay in the 2 bedroom suite in March 2008. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the view was spectacular. It was a few minutes walk to either the beach in Hana or the general store. There is a full kitchen in the 2 bedroom unit, making it really convenient to enjoy all of the fresh fish available. Be forewarned that if you are looking for a deluxe resort experience with a turn down service, this may not be the place for you. The feeling you come away with is that you have a second home in Hana, and that you are always welcome.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Really-Happy-Camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

We stayed here for the sole purpose of needing a place to crash after doing the road to Hana. The rates were reasonable: a one-bedroom “suite” for $220 including the extra cleaning fee for one night stays. The Kauiki suite was plenty spacious, and it had a nice hardwood floor and high ceiling with ceiling fans. There was a decent view of the ocean, it was across the street, and some trees and power lines were in the way but not too bad. No a/c but we sure didn’t need it. There is an outdoor deck that has a grill, we didn’t use it because it was raining. The furniture was nice and it was clean.
Now the cons: The kitchen and bathroom cabinets are very old and kind of peeling. The kitchen counter is about a foot long—not too convenient if you were making a real meal, but adequate for just making coffee and snacking. The sliding door that separates the bedroom from the living room has a few panels missing, thereby defeating the purpose of privacy. The TV is quite small and quite old. The parking is really tight—you only get one spot, right next to the spot for the 2 bedroom suite next door. When we got there, the other guests, who evidently had more than 1 car, were parked in our spot. We had to go over and knock on their door and ask them to move.
Something that really annoyed me was that there was a little hallway between our suite and the one next door, and there was just a flimsy door at the end of the hallway. The neighbors were noisy, and we heard it all. Also that little hallway had windows, but no blinds, and you could probably see clear into our living room area from outside at the right angle. Biggest gripe: the lock code to get in the door. I thought it was the code to the lock box for the key. Nope, it’s the code to the actual doorkknob. And from what I gather, it doesn’t change! Now I know it’s probably unlikely that anything would happen to you in Hana, but it didn’t feel very secure to me that potentially anyone who had ever stayed there could just unlock the door and walk in at any time. No deadbolt or chain from the inside either.
I’d say this was an adequate accomodation for the short time we were here. If staying more than one night, I’d probably book someplace nicer.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank sweethomechitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

This was our third visit to Hana, the first in nine years. This time, we had another family member, so we needed accomodations that would provide privacy for a couple and a single person. The shoji screen arrangement of Hana Bay Hale was perfect. We were there for two nights. The location is near the center of Hana, both the deck and the room have a view of Hana Bay, the property is well maintained, and the rooms and amenities are clean and well-equipped. (Bed linens could be newer, but the bed is comfortable.) We enjoyed the gas grill on the deck, and being able to do laundry in the washer/dryer was a welcome convenience.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

My friend had her wedding up the street at a resort type place. She paid $600 a night (WAAAY over priced for what she got) and we stayed about 6 blocks up for A LOT LESS!!! We were extremely please with how clean it was... and how much it provided us! The Groom's parents were from Australia and stayed in the 2 bedroom suite next door to us. One of the GREAT benefits to this place is that even though you have seperate "houses" they are connected by a small hallway (no adjoining walls!) and a door. We just unlocked the door between us and used both facilities together (two refrigerators of beer works better than just one!) Both places had amazing views.... litterally less than 100yards from the water. The yard was private and passers by couldnt see us from the street thanks to a large hedge lining the street. Both units had their own patio... and there too we had privacy between the two units thanks to a dense palm tree type plant. The larger unit had more things in the cupboards (including candles we used on the patio at night) but our unit had a bigger fridge than was pictured on the website originally. My friend and I share our little unit (the one bdrm) and he took the bed and I slept on the couch. Everynight I went to sleep with the wonderful sounds of the ocean crashing on the rocks.
I recommend stopping off at Costco near the airport and stocking up on everything you can think to barbeque. Not a lot of shops in town. (the units even include plates and cups and silverware!)
We are going back to Maui for their one year anniversary... only this time instead of the resort the WHOLE group plans to rent out all of the units and stay together..... its a lot less stuffy and a whole lot more fun!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Nettsiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

Spent a week here and got to see several other properties in Hana where our extended party stayed. This may not be a five star hotel, but it is a great place to stay in Hana. I would gladly return.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews