We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as some have said”

Hana Ranch Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Hana
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not as bad as some have said”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

When in Hana your dining choices are limited. Other than food stands it comes down to this place or Travaasa. Most entrees at Travaasa are $40+. HRR s about half that. Food is ok altho the Mahi special was a bit tasteless. Ribs and steak might be a better choice. Service was great and the outdoor dining area provides a view of the bay

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce45069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    245
    238
    88
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It was at the end of the Road to Hana”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We wanted a quick bite before we started the return trip Lahaina and found the Ranch Restaurant.
The food was good, nothing special. We split a clubhouse and an order of onion rings. With an iced tea and a fresh squeezed (and very delicious) lemonade, the bill came to $31.
Considering the road that must be driven to bring supplies into town with its famous 620 curves, no wonder things are expensive in Hana!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank antikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided to try this place for drinks and appetizers. Walked in the door and two young ladies stood at the door and said nothing. The hostess finally came and seated us. Shortly our server came over and we ordered calamari, wings and some onion rings. Husband got a maitai and I got something else that was fruity but did not taste like there was an ounce of alcohol in it. Service was spotty, lots of socializing. Asked for ice cream to go and got about one and a half scoops. Needless to say that our bill of $60 blew me away. $6 for a tiny cup of ice cream was ridiculous. I realize we are in Hana but I don't think that should make a difference on service and value. Would never return here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherylld89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
218 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

With a limited selection of restaurants to choose from in Hana, we ended up eating here twice. The staff treat you like locals, the food is good and the prices are reasonable for this part of the island where everything is expensive. You can watch whatever game is on TV or enjoy the view of the ocean in the distance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good place for casual meal in Hana”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Based on the reviews of this place, I was expecting a horrible meal but I was pleasantly surprised by my experience here. Yes, the service is slow (by my city-dweller standards) but you have to manage your expectations a little bit- you're in Hana! There is a different pace of life there. I went for dinner on a weekday and was immediately seated. They nicely accomodated our larger group plus a highchair request. The menu was solid (was happy to see a nice drink menu), and we were also able to request a cheeseburger (on the lunch menu but not on the dinner menu). The prices were reasonable, the waitstaff was friendly and the food was good. Giving 4 out of 5 stars given the Hana location and alternatives available nearby.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lordoftheonionrings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Ranch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hana Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing