We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience the Lava Tube - its worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hana Lava Tubes

Hana Lava Tubes
Ranked #3 of 32 things to do in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Experience the Lava Tube - its worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I really enjoyed going down into this lava tube. It was quite an experience to be underground and see a variety of formations. There are stairs to bring you down into the entrance. Take a few pictures of your group with the opening as a backdrop as it makes for a memorable photo. If you have never been in a lava tube its just like going hiking into a cave. You park your car and bring your water and maybe a energy bar and you get a flashlight when you pay your entrance fee. The path is easy to navigate so it makes for a fun family activity.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    112
    29
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“I would have given it a 3.5, but rounded up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife before coming said it's just a cave, I said there is no such thing as just a cave. Caves are awesome and if you have this attitude you won't be disappointed paying $12.50. My wife was surprised to have enjoyed it. I wish it was a bit larger, which it is, but because the neighbor is using it to store drugs/humans (probably?) they won't let anyone go passed the point where the cave becomes their property. I was tempted to hop the tiny aluminum rail and continue on since there is nobody there to stop you (no guide). The walkable part of the cave is about twice the size if you could go the full distance.

I wouldn't take a trip to Hana just for the caves, but if you are going to Hana anyways, I'd definitely suggest checking it out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank theschuay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting Short and Informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

You only need an hour or so in your trip to spend the 30 to 40 minutes [pace is up to you] underground exploring the tube. The owner gives you a helpful talk before you go down and all the interesting features are well signed underground.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whiteley_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
319 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Kinda cool, but it's just a cave”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

KInda interesting to see a cave carved out of lava but at the end of the day it's not much more than that. If it was half the price it probably would have been more worth it

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank snoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lava Tube near Hana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice stop on the long drive of Hana Hwy. Quite a different and pleasant experience even if you are not a total rock enthusiast. Amazing how this earth has churned spewed and twisted over the years. Nice 1/4 mile walk, thru total darkness...you are provided a hand held flashlight for this self-guided tour. Not recommended for young children and elderly, very tedious walking in some places, lots of stairs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank snevets4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Lava Tubes also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Hana Lava Tubes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing