We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals bring da family ova”
Review of ONO Organic Farms

ONO Organic Farms
Ranked #11 of 31 things to do in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ono Organic Farms is a family owned and operated tropical fruit farm in Hana, Hawaii. Our family has been farming organically for over 30 years. We specialize in apple bananas, papaya, avocado, and a variety of exotic fruits including durian! Our Estate Coffee has been called "the Rolls-Royce of Hawaiian coffee, because the ride is so smooth!" Chuck grew up surfing and growing things along Maui's southern shore. He and his wife Lilly own and manage the farm with the help of numerous sons, daughters, grandkids, and apprentices. The richness and beauty of the land keep everyone happy and healthy.We sell our products at a roadside market stand in Hana, just past the gas station. Meet us there, 9 to 5, 7 days a week! We also offer Exotic Fruit Tasting Adventures at the farm, Monday through Friday at 1:30 pm by reservation. Come enjoy our Estate Coffee and an exquisite variety of fresh fruit -- fun for the whole family!
Kahului, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Locals bring da family ova”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We live on Maui and wanted to share this great place with our son and new daughter-in-law when they came to visit. We all had a great experience and Evan was so nice and helpful. Only sorry we missed Chuck and Lily. Found out the only one in our group who liked durian was Bill. He ate the whole thing! It's so fun to try new fruits we've never had before. Aloha from Kahului.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    9
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We got there after a winding road, bordering the coast of the island to get to the most beautiful spot on Maui and had a full on organic farming experience. Loved the fruit tasting and had a tour of the farm with the lovely hosts Chuck and Lily Boerner

Helpful?
Thank alemarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnoFarms, Owner at ONO Organic Farms, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Aloha & Thank you for your kind review! We loved sharing our farm and fruit with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Level Contributor
741 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Good fresh fruits and banana bread!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Got all our smoothie fruits here. Good banana bread too. Kinda pricey but this is Hana afterall.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnoFarms, Owner at ONO Organic Farms, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for stopping by our market in Hana! We love papayas and bananas for our smoothies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delicious experience at a beautiful place!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Words cannot explain how amazing this farm tour was! My taste buds were ringing and smiling with each minute of this tour! Egg-fruit and star apples were some of my favorite of the exotic fruits that we tried, and the mangoes and avocados were the BEST I have ever had! The coffee was also the best I have ever had! It was amazing to connect the fruits with how the crops are grown/techniques that are used at Ono.

From start to finish, the tour was friendly, authentic, and rich with organic goodness!

One of my favorite parts of my 3-week stay in Maui.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissygpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnoFarms, Owner at ONO Organic Farms, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your kind words! We love to share the farm. Thank you also for sharing your photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best farm tour ever!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My friends and I had an amazing time at the farm tour at Ono Farms! We ate around 17 different fruits that completely blew my mind! Their Kona Gold Coffee is literally the best coffee I have ever had! The setting is picturesque in stunning Kipahulu. The staff and owners are fantastically friendly and knowledgeable. For locals and visitors alike, please do yourself a favor and enjoy the little piece of heaven that is Ono Farms.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arianna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnoFarms, Owner at ONO Organic Farms, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Aloha Arianna- We are so glad that you enjoyed the farm. Chuck is smiling over how much you loved the coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ONO Organic Farms also viewed

 

Been to ONO Organic Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing