We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Alanta, GA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Paradise!”
Reviewed January 13, 2007

This oceanfront cottage was the highlight of our trip! We only wished we could have stayed longer. It was perfect from the moment we arrived to our private cottage. We stayed in the one bedroom cottage which seems to have a better view of the ocean than the suite behind the cottage. The location and attention to detail is what sets this place apart from the others. I also liked how the property only has two units (plus the owner's unit) therefore making it feel as though you've rented your very own private beach house.

First of all, the landscaping of the property was very well done. When we walked into the cottage, we were greeted with local Hawaiian music playing on the stereo. The cottage was filled with a lot with good information on Hana. Also, I loved all of the local artwork that covered the walls. The cottage was clean and well designed with island flair. The kitchen was well equipped with anything you would possibly need (including colanders, salad spinners, utensils, new pots, coffee maker, coffee, etc). One night we grilled out burgers on the BBQ which is located at the side of the cottage. There are also beach chairs and boogie boards that are located here for your use at the beach.

We had a perfect view of an uncrowded outstanding beach from our porch (which is where we spent most of our time). We watched the local surfers every morning come out to enjoy the huge waves. We also enjoyed hearing the sound of the waves crash as we feel asleep an night.

Working as an interior designer in the hotel industry, I must say I have a critical eye when it comes to hotel/bed and breakfast accommodations. Dan and Sandi have put a lot of love and work into their property and it shows. I honestly cannot find a bad thing to say about this property. You will not be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Liked — peaceful getaway
  • Disliked — honestly nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Pick up food at Foodland grocery store in Kahalui before heading to Hana.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PickyTravelerAlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
135
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2006

My new wife and I found this place by providence over the internet, and were fairly impressed by reading through the web site and reviews on Trip Advisor, etc. However, nothing prepared us for how much this little slice of heaven on earth would blow us away. I have never slept more soundly than in the Cottage's screened bedroom with the sound of the surf rocking me to sleep. And waking up to the fresh breeze, soft sunlight, and tropical birds added to the refreshing wonder of our stay.

Our hosts treated us like royal guests. Dan and Sandi greeted us with freshly baked bread and a jar of famous tropical jelly prepared by Gertrude, a 96 year old Hana resident--so delicious! (See the Ono Organic Farm for more on Gertrude; onofarms.com.)

The Cottage is fully equipped with all the kitchen amenities one could hope for--pots, pans, cooking spices, stove, oven, dishes, and even a dish washer! And for the BBQ fans Dan has installed a first-class gas grill right out back. (Mmm, the pineapple-basted steaks we grilled were awesome!) Also, we were delighted to use the high speed wireless internet access from our kitchen. (Blogging our trip was a blast. And hey, I'm using it now to write this review as we pack up to leave :-)

The location of the Cottage is perfect. You are situated on the most beautiful beach spot in all of Hana. (And honestly, from our looking around Dan and Sandi's Hamoa Cottage is the best kept, most nicely groomed cottage in Hana that we have seen.) In the morning, the beach is virtually your own private haven. (Guests from the local hotels don't arrive until late-morning, and even then the beach was not crowded during our 7 day stay over the Christmas holiday.) You are only 10 minutes from Hana town (for gas, groceries, nice dinner at the Hotel Hana Maui, etc.) and about 20 minutes away from Haleakala National Park at which you can hike to Maui's tallest waterfall, swim (and cliff jump!) in one of the Seven Pools, and view waves crashing into the amazing cliff coastline of this end of the island.

When planning our trip a few people told us not to stay in Hana for 7 days because it is so small and there isn't much to do, etc. I think my wife and I would recommend the opposite. If you are looking to relax, to escape the rush of tour groups, crowds, traffic, noise, etc., and if you enjoy the tropical outdoors, we can't imagine any other place on the island that we'd rather spend a week. This place is perfect for a soul-refreshing sabbatical. Reading on the beach, body surfing, playing in the waves, hiking in the tropical forest, swimming in waterfalls, cliff jumping, eating lazy brunches overlooking Hamoa Beach, sleeping with the surf, etc. all have caused us to fall in love with this place. And if you just have to do the tourist activities, plenty is available around Hana--massage therapy, horse rides, snorkeling, surfing, etc.

All in all, we love this place. Our honeymoon in Hana couldn't have been better. (Hope to return for an anniversary some day!)

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank lotrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2006

We stayed in the Hamoa Beach Suite for our honeymoon and loved it! Dan and Sandi were so friendly and accomodating. They provided us with beach gear (beach chairs, umbrella, boogey boards). Sandi even baked us a loaf of bread and gave us a jar of lilikoi jam that one of her local friend's makes.

Hana Oceanfront Cottages was a great launching point for all of our exciting adventures. The cottages are within walking distance of the world renowned Hamoa Beach, which was our favorite one in all of Maui. We also loved the adventurous trip to the Red Sand Beach. During our stay we finished the remaining sites along Hana Highway. Our favorite spot was Oheo Gulch (aka, 7 Sacred Pools).

The Hamoa Beach Suite itself was extremely nice. It was very clean and spacious, and included a full kitchen, a must in Hana. There aren't very many restaurants in Hana, so we cooked every night (except one, when we ate out at Hotel Hana Maui -- overpriced and not all that good in our opinion). There is only one grocery store in Hana, so you might want to bring food to cook before heading there. The Hana Oceanfront Cottages landscape was beautiful and very well maintained.

Hana is a great place if you like adventures and want to get away from the hustle and bussle of the more crowded areas of Maui. If you're planning a trip to Hana, we definitely recommend Hana Oceanfront Cottages.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2006

The other reviews all are full of praise, but still we were stunned at the superb accommodations and attention to every little detail that Sandi and Dan provide their guests. We stayed in the suite, which is decorated in a refined Hawaiian theme featuring numerous works of art and first class tile and fittings. Fresh cut flowers grace the rooms, and the grounds are meticulously landscaped and tended. The setting is spectacular with views and sound of the surf ever-present. The idyllic uncrowded Hamoa beach is steps away.

You are made to feel very welcome in a most unobtrusive fashion, but should you need advice or help (Dan graciously helped the cottage residents change a flat in town!) they are right there for you.

This is the one place on Maui that we recommend all of our friends stay, and we hope to again soon as well.

Thank you Sandi and Dan!

  • Liked — Quality and setting
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early, only 2 accomodations!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FirstLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2006

Hana Oceanfront Cottages are a must-stay accomodation if you plan to spend anytime in Hana. There are two options: the first floor one bedroom suite downstairs from the owners of this lovingly maintained property and a separate one bedroom cottage located on the property. We stayed in the downstairs suite which was enormous, immaculate, and comfortably furnished. The kitchen is stocked with anything you can imagine to prepare your meals here. You can see and hear the nearby ocean from the kitchen and the lanai, and the bedroom is quiet and secluded. Hamoa Beach--again ranked in the top 10 this year--is literally steps away from the property (although you do have to cross the road to get there.) The owners, Dan and Sandi Simone are extremely warm, friendly people who clearly take a lot of pride in their home and business and it shows in every detail. Of all the places we stayed in the island--including the Four Seasons in Wailea--this is the only place I wish we could have stayed longer.

Helpful?
7 Thank Cali4niaDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 14, 2006

The place is perfect. A furnished aparatment with any and everything you would need. The most beautiful view of the Hamoa Beach, just across the street. You can fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the ocean waves, true paradise. The worst thing you can do on a vacation is lose your money, wallet, credit card. So we called Sandi, the owner, and told her our problem. W ell they were found to be in the drawer of the night stand next tot the bed, not lost just left behind. We were about 3 hours away before we noticed. Sandi packaged it up and sent it on the plane that flies between Hana and Kahului, so we drove to the airport, picked up our items and continued on our trip. Now if that is not the best sevice ever I dont know what is.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2006

Believe only the great reviews! We just got back from the Hana Oceanfront Cottages; our stay was three nights long, from Thurs, April 27 through Sun, April 30th. Dan and Sandi Simoni are the most amazing hosts and they have created heaven in Hana, a true labor of love with no detail too small. The location is amazing with views of Hamoa Beach from every angle. The outdoor shower and foot bath are so cool. With fresh, hot homemade bread from Sandi, you will never go hungry! Ono!! We had his and hers teri cloth "non-robes" to wear and I lived in mine. The bed had 400++ thread count sheets- like butta! It also had a plush mattress topper that we melted into each night, sleeping to the sound of the soft rain. By morning, it was clear. The kitchen has spices, dressings, and Kona coffee, along with utensils and cookware. There is a gas grill in the back flanked by tiki torches. We lived on the lanai which faces the beach. On a night with no clouds, you can see the full constellation of stars and the shimmering lights from the Big Island. We hiked the Pipiawai Trail and the Oheo Gulch before the day trippers arrived. We had the waterfalls and pastures to ourselves each morning. Heavenly. Due to Sandi's referral, we did the Maui Stables horseback ride and the massage at Spa Luana. The horseback ride took us to a hilltop with panoramic waterfall views- breathtaking. At Spa Luana, Lauren and Vandy gave us amazing lomi luana massages in a hale (hut) overlooking Hana Bay. The massage combined traditional lomi lomi and hot rocks! The rocks were to die for!
Mahalo to Dan and Sandi for the warm welcome and the TLC! Sandi had to pry the keys out of my hands when we left! Ha! We hope they put us in their will! We'll be back.
Annette and Pedram

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank herbalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
2.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
2.7 mi away
Hana Kai Maui
Hana Kai Maui
#2 of 2 in Hana
648 reviews
48.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
48.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
29.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Address: 522 Haneoo Road, PO Box 843, Hana, Maui, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hana Oceanfront Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"E Komo Mai" Welcome to Hana Oceanfront Cottages at Hana By the Sea! We offer two of the most beautiful and romantic couple's only oceanfront vacation retreat homes, located in secluded Hana, Maui, Hawaii. Imagine walking out your door and being just a few steps from one of the best beaches in all of Hawaii, Hamoa Beach. Breathtaking views of the ocean and Hamoa Coast are visible from almost every window in both of our accommodations. Both our Hamoa Beach Cottage and Hamoa Beach Suite are spacious with tropical interiors, one bedroom and one bath, featuring queen-size bamboo sleigh beds with new gel technology mattresses. Read the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor and you will find that our guests love our beautiful accommodations, tropical setting and ideal location. You are invited to join us. K Komo Mai, you are welcome as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hana Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Hana
Hana Oceanfront Cottages Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing