We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hana Oceanfront Cottages- In one word: Blissful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We could not have been happier with our decision to visit Hana and to stay at Hana Oceanfront Cottages. It was so nice to sit back and enjoy some of life's simple pleasures like being able to BBQ and eat dinner on the porch while watching the waves roll in with someone you love. The cottage was fabulous and our stay in Hana was wonderful. Highlights for us included hiking to Waimoku Falls, listening to traditional Hawaiian Music and eating dinner at Travaasa (expensive dinner, but the food was fabulous), and of course the beach. The cottage was clean, quiet, had a spectacular view, and was only minutes from the beach on foot.

There are a few things I wish we would have been better prepared for however. There are not many places to eat in Hana and groceries are limited and expensive. Plan ahead if you want to use the kitchen/ grill. Also, there is nothing between Hana and the airport.... If you've just flown in, eat something in the city first and perhaps stock up on things you might need for the week before heading to Hana. If trying to get to red sands beach- MAKE SURE NOT TO WEAR FLIP FLOPS. It is a hike. Kings trail at Waianapanapa State park is beautiful and much less difficult.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay and we highly recommend Hana and Hana Oceanfront Cottages.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TLP429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanabythesea, Owner at Hana Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review and the hints to assist future guests to have a wonderful experience in Hana. I really appreciated that you took the time to write this review and most of all thank you for letting me and others know how much you enjoyed you stay.

Please return in the not too distance future.

Mahalo and aloha, Sandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Hana Oceanfront Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

It's not often that a vacation rental is better than advertised, but this one truly is. We were looking for a low-key holiday in a beautiful setting where we'd have quiet, comfort and privacy and we found it at Hana Oceanfront Cottages. The two hour drive along the Hana Highway was worth every twisty mile. We arrived in darkness at about 7:15pm, to a cozily lighted cottage with wonderfully welcoming Hawaiian music playing through the TV inside. The ceiling fans and screened windows provide nice air flow for sleeping and the bed is very comfortable. We awoke the next day to an amazing pink sky and the panorama of Hamoa Beach at sunrise.

We kept saying to each other the entire week we were there, "Next time, 2 weeks!" ....as we sat on the front porch, (Lanai), watching whales breach out in the bay in the late afternoon.

Sandi and Dan are lovely hosts, and very knowledgeable about the area. Sandi has prepared a binder with lots of suggestions on things to see and do.

The (easy) concrete steps down to Hamoa Beach are just a few dozen yards down and across the road from the cottage....a nice stroll with your coffee on an early morning to watch a local surfer or two looking to catch a couple of good waves before going off to work. Later on a few tourists arrive, but there's not a lot of parking, so not many. :) There's one Hotel in Hana that shuttles beach goers to Hamoa, but again, it was never very busy and we were there during Spring Break.

While much of the Hana Hwy sees rain off and on, especially in the Winter and Spring, once you reach Hamoa Bay you'll find that it tends to have its own micro-climate of sunshine.

Pick up groceries at the Costco, Walmart or Safeway in Kahului. Buy fresh fruit and vegetables from the local farm stands along the Hana Hwy. If you need something there are two grocery stores in the town of Hana.

We met the couple staying in the main house suite...they'd been coming back every year for 13 years. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanabythesea, Owner at Hana Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you so much for letting me know how much you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to come back for 2 weeks the next time. I enjoyed getting to meet you and I look forward to your return.
Aloha, Sandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

When looking for a 9 day rental in Hana, we almost decided not to stay at Hana Oceanfront Cottages because we greatly prefer a king bed. However, the reviews were so good that we decided to book it. The reviews were right--everything about this place is top-notch. Sandi and Dan thought of all the details that would enhance our time in Hana. The Beautiful fresh tropical flowers was my favorite detail. The suite is good-sized, and Hamoa Beach was a great place to spend the day. At the current time, there is more traffic on the nearby road than usual, but check when the bridge construction will be completed.

Room Tip: The cottage is closer to the road. The suite is set back and very private, but still with a great o...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PortTownsendtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just got home, it was one of the toughest places to leave. For my wife and I it really was Perrrrrfect, exactly what we wanted in a vacation. Walking distance to beautiful Hamoa and Koki beaches. Hamoa is virtually across the street, we watched surfers and whales from our front porch - every day. The town of Hana was just the right size for us, the biggest crowd the entire week was when all the locals came out for the ball game. Hiking at the parks and even across the street was very enjoyable.

We stayed in the front house. It was very comfortable, very clean, with a surprisingly well stocked kitchen, and very well decorated - MUCH better than any hotel suite I've stayed.

The locals are still friendly, if you go, and you should, please leave your stateside attitudes at home - It is wise to give into Hana time.

We stayed one week and I regret we didn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Make sure to eat lunch at the Thai restaurant
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 700Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a one bedroom house that is across the road from one of the most beautiful beaches in the western hemisphere, Hamoa Beach. There were surfers and swimmers. Several other fabulous beaches were a short drive.

Gourmet cooks will find the kitchen to their liking, although they had better purchase their groceries before getting to Hana. We ate most of our meals on the front porch, watching the waves come in. The TV and sound system is only adequate, but why use them?

Sandi was quite helpful and knows the area quite well. The guestbooks were filled with love letters to Hana and the cottage, written over the many years Sandi has been renting the house. This was our second stay there and hopefully there will be another.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mheitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanabythesea, Owner at Hana Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and letting myself and others know that you loved your stay with us. It is such a compliment when guests decide to return for a second time, given all the beautiful places in the world and especially Hawaii. I feel blessed that you have found us and a bit of a paradise, and look forward to a three-peat!
Aloha, Sandi and Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here for our honey moon and it really made our trip! Beaches are surreal along with the whole area of Hana. Respect the land and the locals and you'll have a great trip. Hana is very special place, lets keep it that way.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nsbjake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had the privilege of staying at the cottage for a week over New Year and it was just heavenly!
The cottage is nestled in a rainforest that is so lush, tropical and peaceful and right across from one of the most gorgeous beaches you will ever see. It is remote and very different from the suburbia of the resort areas. It is what we imagined the true Hawaii to be.
This was our first time staying at a self-catering establishment and we were so happy and could not have asked for anything more. The cottage was like a home away from home. It was extremely clean, fully equipped and tastefully decorated. We were able to instantly relax and be comfortable in this very private and magical setting. Rain or shine we sat on the porch to have all our meals, watching the ocean, listening to the waves and at night admiring the star studded sky.
Our hosts Sandi and Dan could not have been more hospitable. Their trust in their guests, generously and helpfulness made you feel so welcome. The information package that Sandy mails to your home before arrival is filled with helpful information like stocking on groceries if your stay is a little longer. While there are a couple of grocery stores in Hana, their offerings are very basic and a bit pricey. During our stay the ocean was quite rough and so it was hard to come by fresh fish as the fishermen could not go out. We did however really enjoy the delicious free range local Beef. We bought some of our fruits and vegetables at local stands, and Hana Fresh, where we could buy wonderful (but limited) organic produce, macadamia banana bread, and the best citrus jam we have ever had.
Thanks again, Sandi and Dan. We had an amazing vacation, and can't wait to return to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanabythesea, Owner at Hana Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Aloha and Happy New Year again. Thank you for joining us in 2013 and the transition into 2014. It was so wonderful to have you join us during this special time of year and it does my heart good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thought it was magical! I am so blessed to get to live in Paradise year round and meet wonderful people like you and share my bit of Paradise with them. Even with the detour going on our place is wonderful!

Yes, please join us again! Mahalo and Aloha, Sandi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
2.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
48.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
29.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,006 reviews
29.6 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Oceanfront Cottages

Address: 522 Haneoo Road, PO Box 843, Hana, Maui, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hana
Price Range: $378 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hana Oceanfront Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"E Komo Mai" Welcome to Hana Oceanfront Cottages at Hana By the Sea! We offer two of the most beautiful and romantic couple's only oceanfront vacation retreat homes, located in secluded Hana, Maui, Hawaii. Imagine walking out your door and being just a few steps from one of the best beaches in all of Hawaii, Hamoa Beach. Breathtaking views of the ocean and Hamoa Coast are visible from almost every window in both of our accommodations. Both our Hamoa Beach Cottage and Hamoa Beach Suite are spacious with tropical interiors, one bedroom and one bath, featuring queen-size bamboo sleigh beds with new gel technology mattresses. Read the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor and you will find that our guests love our beautiful accommodations, tropical setting and ideal location. You are invited to join us. K Komo Mai, you are welcome as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hana Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Hana
Hana Oceanfront Cottages Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing