We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Robin and I recently spent a second consecutive vacation at Dan and Sandi's piece of heaven. We have found our place of absolute rest and relaxation at the cottage. It is spotlessly clean, our hosts have become friends and not just hosts, and for the first time in my life I truly feel relaxed and recharged at the end of a vacation. The drive there on the highway is just a bonus to a wonderful vacation. Our next vacation is at least 50 weeks away and we are already planning the details for Hana and the surrounding area. If you are even considering rewarding yourself by going to the Hana Oceanfront Cottages say "yes" and immediately book your stay. You will be glad you did and may make it an annual pilgrimage like Robin and I are planning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelStraight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanabythesea, Owner at Hana Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Aloha Robin and Michael, Thank you for your wonderful heartfelt review and I feel so fortunate to have you as return guests and now new found friends. You are both a joy and I can't wait until you book your return for next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
135
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved staying in Hana and we loved staying at Sandi and Dan´s.
Hana is just paradise, if you happen to go to Maui, and especially if you travel from Europe you MUST go to Hana, your trip would be incomplete otherwise. I am from Spain and my girlfriend is Irish
The entire island is great, all the things we did were awesome: Molokini was nice but packed, snorkeling like in La Gran Via in Madrid but still worthwhile, Lahaina very touristy but we liked it, Paia very cool: we loved it, ….but Hana is completely different and unique, (we heard that each of the five Islands in Hawaii have one side similar to Hana, the wet side)…fantastic beaches, the real Hawaii and unbeatable landscape….falls, green mountains, nice hikes (seven pools)..it’s definitely not to be missed! The only downside (and it wasn’t a big problem) was that we weren´t very lucky with the weather. We stayed three days and the three of them were cloudy and it rained more than we would have liked. However, we’re sure it is not always like that, they say that if you don´t like the weather in Hawaii just wait five minutes, it was a bit longer than that for us, but it really was not an obstacle to do all Hana has to offer.

Regarding the house and the hosts. Only nice and kind words can be said. They are the best hosts you could ask for. The house is great, best accommodation we had during the trip (including California). Big room, very comfortable bed, full equipped kitchen, pretty big living room we didn´t even use and a very nice porch to enjoy the view while having a beer. It’s a real home away from home. Sandi and Dan have everything you could possibly need: coffee, cleaning products, oil, vinegar, salt, condiments etc…..all the kind of things you like having but might not buy for just three days…you wake up dying for a coffee but you might not spend 10 bucks on buying a bag of coffee (Hana is more expensive since the supply is more difficult), Sandi and Dan have all this sorted for you. And just as important as the house being stocked is they have body boards, beach towels, beach chairs etc etc for you to fully enjoy the beach there. I loved trying to Bodyboard, and I would not have tried it otherwise. They have a book and lots of flyers with different activities to do in Hana which is also very helpful.
They are very nice people and what they have to say about the area is very interesting …not just helpful comments such as “you should try this place, it’s better than the other, be careful with the beach over there which dangerous” kinda stuff but also stories which help you learn and understand more about Hana and its people. They recommended us very cool stuff to do and some very authentic restaurants. And for those of you who are very protective of your intimacy, yes it is true that they live just above and there might be another couple staying in the suit in front of the house but Sandi and Dan are very careful and respectful and you don’t even notice them.
All in all I can’t recommend this place highly enough and would love to go back in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr Whelans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a marvelous property with an out-of-this-world location. You are right across the street from a gorgeous beach, and can come home to a beautiful, comfortable, and quiet home. We greatly appreciate the immaculate cleanliness, large, well-equipped kitchen, and lovely owners. This was our second visit and we will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Ideal location, beautifully kept and appointed, our favorite vacation destination. Hamoa beach is right across the street and is arguably the most beautiful beach in Hawaii. Dan and Sandi are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_midwesterners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This lovely cottage, right across the street from Hamoa Beach, is an extraordinary example of simplicity done right. If you want a vacation that is relaxing, alone, and with locals, this is it. The owners have done a wonderful job in bringing real Hawaii to this adorable bungalow and allowing guests to make their own meals, use boogie board, lounge chairs and whatever else you need to feel at home. Bring food before making the long winding drive to Hana as there are less options to buy things right in Hana, but stay at LEAST 3-4 days because trust me, you will NOT want to leave.

Recommended to my daughter and her husband and they LOVED it, too.
Gorgeous views, comfortable place, amazing in every way.

Room Tip: If you can't get the cottage, the duplex in back is just as wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityc0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Cottage at Hana by the Sea is a dream come true. The location, the atmosphere, and the hosts, Sandi and Dan are exquisite. The rooms are beautifully appointed and immaculate. There is a well-equipped kitchen, so we brought our own groceries and cooked almost all of our meals which we enjoyed on the spacious deck, looking out at the ocean. Hamoa Beach is not even a 2-minute walk from the cottage. Beach gear and beach towels are provided, and there is an outdoor shower as well. Sandi and Dan are wonderful hosts. They gave us great advice about lovely places in the area to visit, local restaurants, and different activities to do. One afternoon, Sandi handed us a warm loaf of home made bread! Another time, Dan appeared with a bunch of fresh bananas grown right there in the garden. Ours was an unforgettable experience, the best way to visit Maui. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha_Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a beautiful piece of true Paradise! I wasn't expecting such a gem when I arrived at Hana Oceanfront Cottages. The suite was beautifully appointed, spacious & what a view! The property is immaculate & full of photo opportunities if you are a shutter bug like me. Dan made sure to show me where to find all of the extras for beach & outdoor plans although I was content just grabbing my towel & camera for a very short walk across the street & down the stairs to the most beautiful beach. Everything you would need was at your fingertips. Sitting on the lanai watching the sun go down was so peacefull. I only wish I had spent more time enjoying the treasure I discovered here. While this was my second trip to Hana, it was my first time at Hana Oceanfront Cottages but will NOT be my last. I look forward to my next visit & will make sure it is longer so I can enjoy it fully. Mahalo Sandi & Dan for sharing your hidden treasure! Deb R Anchorage, AK

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebRAnchorage_Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
2.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
2.7 mi away
Hana Kai Maui
Hana Kai Maui
#2 of 2 in Hana
648 reviews
48.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
48.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
29.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Oceanfront Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Oceanfront Cottages

Property: Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Address: 522 Haneoo Road, PO Box 843, Hana, Maui, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hana Oceanfront Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"E Komo Mai" Welcome to Hana Oceanfront Cottages at Hana By the Sea! We offer two of the most beautiful and romantic couple's only oceanfront vacation retreat homes, located in secluded Hana, Maui, Hawaii. Imagine walking out your door and being just a few steps from one of the best beaches in all of Hawaii, Hamoa Beach. Breathtaking views of the ocean and Hamoa Coast are visible from almost every window in both of our accommodations. Both our Hamoa Beach Cottage and Hamoa Beach Suite are spacious with tropical interiors, one bedroom and one bath, featuring queen-size bamboo sleigh beds with new gel technology mattresses. Read the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor and you will find that our guests love our beautiful accommodations, tropical setting and ideal location. You are invited to join us. K Komo Mai, you are welcome as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hana Oceanfront Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Oceanfront Cottages Hotel Hana
Hana Oceanfront Cottages Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing