We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, unique, and great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Kolea Cottage front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kolea Cottage front
Kolea Cottage Living Space Kolea Cottage Bar and dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Kolea Cottage front
Kolea Cottage Living Space
Kolea Cottage Bar and dining table
Kolea Cottage Twin Bedroom
Queen Bedroom
Bath/Shower room
Living Space
Kolea Cottage Lanai (porch)
Kolea Cottage fruit basket
Kolea Pawpaw!
Rest Room
Kolea Cottage Approach
Kolea Cottage with Haleakala in background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TrailBlaz...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, unique, and great location”
Reviewed November 21, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for 2 nights to explore more of the Hana area. Excellent location and easy to find. You can see the ocean from the window or deck, but it is not oceanfront. Very quiet. Comfortable, unique, and well supplied. Decorated well, but not outstanding.
We are not one that need to stay in 6 star accommodations that are decorated with the latest high fashion. We just need a place to sleep while we explore during the day. Therefore, we would personally rate this 5 stars, but the public standard would be 4 stars.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, unique experience
Liked least: Older kitchen stove and bathtub/shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariaplaye...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place! Wish we could have stayed longer. Wonderful!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in three different places on two different islands and this was our favorite! The setting was so beautiful... Truly felt like paradise. Everything was fully stocked, clean, and ready for us. Very private and quiet. Completely surrounded by colorful plants and trees. And having a washer and dryer was perfect, especially after a day of swimming in the ocean and hiking through the jungles near Hana and he seven sacred pools. WOULD LOVE to come and stay again. Thank you Andrew and Robin, for providing such a beautiful place!

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk_Burn...
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis near Hana”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my boyfriend and my mom last week for three nights and we were all delighted with Kolea Cottage. It's large, comfortable and private with a grove of fruit trees and flowers in the back yard. It rained the entire time we were there. In fact it was practically a monsoon! But it didn't dampen our spirits. In fact it made the waterfalls on the drive back on the Hana Highway 1000% more amazing than on the way up! Also when it rains in Hana, the O'heo Pools are usually sunny (as they were for us). But even if they weren't, I would have been perfectly happy just lounging around the cottage on a wet day. Couldn't have been bettter. LOVE THIS PLACE and will be back.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious open feeling of the main living area.
Liked least: The housekeeper locked the key inside. There is no cell service to call the owners so I
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clash99
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Neat place in the jungle”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5
people found this review helpful

After a long day on the road, we were so happy to arrive to this hidden house in the jungle. It was clean and tidy and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The owner was friendly and accommodating and kind enough to provide fruit from the property for our stay.

The house was large enough for the five of us. It was great sleeping with the windows open, hearing the birds and other sounds of the jungle. The kids loved exploring outside around the house and seeing the banana trees, lava rocks, exotic flowers, etc. The property was well maintained and I hope to visit there again someday!

Date of stay: March 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeJim
Tucker, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A+ Accommodation and Hosts”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Our stay in Kolea Cottage was pleasant and most comfortable in addition to being excellently located for all your local excursions. The only drawback is that cell phone reception is not possible, but it's not really a problem, as you are able to make local calls on the house phone and can use your mobile when you head into town. The house and grounds are immaculate and fully pleasurable, adding to the unique and magnificent experience of Hana itself! Andrew and Robin are attentive to your needs and offer their knowledge and hospitality with generous ease.

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique architecture and modern amenities
Liked least: Directions need to be updated, as the reference to mile markers does not take into account that the crucial one seems to be missing from the highway.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suemax
Miller Place, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Home in Hana”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Kolea Cottage is a great place to stay in Hana. The home is beautiful, as are the grounds. Everything you need is provided. The house is very close to Wainapanapa State Park, which is spectacular. We were able to enjoy Hana and not rush through.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikki696
Menifee, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Kolea Cottage is in an excellent location! We really enjoyed the emenities at the house.
Andrew and Beverly did everything to make our stay comfortable. Beautiful view!
Definently will go back there!

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: bugs (but they are everytwhere and they supplied sprays and candles)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing