We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but extremely overpriced; sketchy environment”
Review of Coconut Glen's

Coconut Glen's
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout
Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good but extremely overpriced; sketchy environment”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

While the coconut milk ice cream was very good, we paid $5 each for a Dixie cup full. Then, the spoon was made of a piece of coconut shell, so I lost much of mine on the ground because I couldn't scoop it very well. Something about the place made us feel very uneasy; we couldn't get out of there fast enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheriinmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    72
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sooooo good!!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a must stop for ice cream lovers! I had read about Coconut Glen's before our trip and knew we had to stop here and when we passed mm27 and then I saw the sign approaching I kept saying "There it is, there it is!!!" (like seeing the Disneyland sign as a kid as we pulled up, lol). When we pulled up we were the only ones there so we had a good chat with the guy working the counter that day (not Glen). Told us some interesting stories. I ordered the classic (coconut) and my husband pineapple banana. Served in a half coconut shell with a coconut shell spoon. All ice cream is made from coconut milk. Some of the tastiest ice cream I have had. The coconut ice cream had pieces of coconut candy in it. Heavenly! The guy working was scooping up ice cream into several cups that he said were ordered by some of the hotels on the island. Wish they would open a store closer to Kihei or Wailea!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
210 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Get passion ice cream”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Make sure you stop and try this place it's pretty good when we were there a kid from Austin tx was work there he was a very cool dude that knew about the area

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NEWJERSEYSCOTTIEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Level Contributor
408 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Non-dairy delight”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Some of the best ice cream you have ever tasted comes from coconut milk, not cow's milk. At $5/scoop, it seems expensive until you taste it. Then you will order seconds.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“yum!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great little place to stop and stretch out a little on the road to Hana. Try the classic coconut - it's delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeabassATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Glen's also viewed

 

Been to Coconut Glen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing