We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maui's Private Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Road to Hana Tours

Road to Hana Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.16*
and up
East Maui Waterfalls and Rainforest Hike
Ranked #2 of 8 Tours in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Milwaukee,Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maui's Private Guide”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were in Maui with our adult children in April and wanted to go on the road to Hana. We were going to drive ourselves but decided to get a tour guide. It was money well spent. We contacted Bryan Miner kind of last minute even changing our date once and he was very accommodating. We met him at 8 am and spent 12 hours with him. He went swimming with the kids and stopped wherever we wanted. He is very knowledgable. At the end of the day we needed to get groceries and he took us there and waited for us. We will call him again next time we are in Maui.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marso63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    66
    26
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Was planning on driving the Road to Hana but opted for a trip with Discover Hawaii tours and was really glad we did. They knew all the great places to stop for sites, Dennis our guide was knowledgable and entertained us the whole day. Don't miss out on a relaxing day and leave the driving to the locals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must:)”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Its much better when you take tour. First you not nervous about driving difficulty and direktion. You just relax and enjoy ride with nice company, good driver, tasty food and gorgeous view. I will be never drive around like tour did specially its not alowed by rental company and who want this headache. So book a tour and relax.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank IzabellaN61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Relax and let Bjorn guide you!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What an experience. No way could you learn about the sights and history if you did this on your own! Our guide Bjorn was informative, and fun. It's not a big tour bus but a van. So you really feel the personalized service. We made little side trips too. We stopped at Willie Nelson's bar, we stopped at a winery, black sand beaches. So personal!! He took great care in making sure everyone was comfortable and enjoyed themselves!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hopline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go with Valley Isle Excursions, and Ask for Barry!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I took this tour in February with Barry and it was our favorite activity on Maui. Barry was so knowledgeable about Hawaiian history and talked virtually non-stop for the entire tour. We learned so much from him, and he took great care of us all day long.

The company was great to deal with--we needed to meet up with the tour because we were staying in Makawao, and that was no problem. They gave us the internet discount even though we had to book via phone because of that.

We drove up Haleakala twice, and while that drive was scary, the roads to Hana are much scarier. Leave the driving to the pros!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Road to Hana Tours also viewed

 

Been to Road to Hana Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing