We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply breathtaking views!!”
Koali Ranch Cottage from the ocean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Koali Ranch Cottage from the ocean
Koali Ranch Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Koali Ranch Cottage from the ocean
Koali Ranch Cottage
Koali Ranch Cottage Lanai
From the lanai
Snow on the Big Island
Parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DaleMurph...
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply breathtaking views!!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Koali Ranch Cottage for three nights so that we could enjoy the surrounding area of Hana. We absolutely loved the place!!

It is a tiny, cozy cottage with everything you need to be comfortable. The jewel in its crown is the gorgeous view and huge covered deck which overlooks the ocean. The sunrises are spectacular and the cottage is quiet and secluded to allow for a nice relaxing place to unwind.

We will definitely rent this cottage again when we come back for another visit.

Totally satisfied,
Dale and Brenda
Tulsa, OK

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and seclusion.
Liked least: No phone or internet service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRJnT
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax on the Lanai and Gaze Across at the Big Island Volcanoes”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in May 2010
1
person found this review helpful

This is a small cottage, in excellent condition, very well equipped, stocked with everything you will need, located just outside the National Park. It is impossible to adequately describe the view from the lanai. You are looking down across groves of trees and a pasture with a few cattle, some horses and inhabited as well by numerous bird species. Beyond is the blue Pacific, waves crashing against the shore, for 180 degrees as far as you can see in both directions. Directly across is the Big Island, volcanoes protruding above the clouds. It is a fantastic accomodation. Hope we can go back some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gryphonmo...
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I can only dream about”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Koali Ranch was the best part of our honeymoon.. its worth every bit of the drive from Kahului to Hana. We started driving off from Kahului at about 4pm but luckily we reached the cottage at 7pm and passed most of the windy roads before sunset. It was not easy to find really.. as the GPS doesn't recognise the full address given,you will have to rely on the instructions given by the hosts to get to your destination. It's about 5miles away from Hana town where food , gift shops and a general store is available. Eating out can be expensive but luckily the cottage has everything you need to cook except the food. There is also a dvd player , cd player, flat screen tv and a selection of books including travel guides for those who have not planned enough. You'll wake up to cows eating grass and waves splashing against the rocks. The view here is picture perfect at any time of the day. At night you'll get lotsa insects on the lanai, if you really hate beetles then this might not be the place for u.

Hamoa beach, Waianapanapa state park, Kipahulu are all within 30min drive from the cottage. I will suggest to stay at least 3 nights to enjoy the surronding this place has got to offer. Stock up essentials before you head to Hana, Hasagewa General Store only sells beef and a small selection of vegs.. but you can get canned food, drinks, ice cream, toiletries readily from there. I will definitely stay there again if i have the chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: flies in the bathroom, the cd always
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LScholle
Irvine, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was the best place to stay in Hana for the price”
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third overnight stay in Hana and by far the best. It was so quiet and serene and very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the pasture, complete with bulls, cows, horses, goats and the ocean.
Liked least: The 'boom box' kept skipping or turning off when you walked across the room without tiptoeing.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeniciaTr...
Benicia, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Koali Ranch Cottage is an ideal Hana area rental for two people.”
Reviewed May 7, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in a number of rental properties in Hana over the past ten years or so, and this is by far our favorite. As soon as we stepped out onto the deck with the sweeping view of the peaceful pasture and the ocean beyond, we were hooked. I could have just sat and relaxed with a good book and a glass of wine. And the sunrise, with the light at a perfect angle on the green grass of the pasture?...WOW!... Got some great pictures! But the location is perfect for a trip to Kipahulu or the wonderful beaches near Hana, Hamoa Beach and the Red Sand Beach. It is well equipped with a complete kitchen, wonderful tiled shower, and even a flat screen TV with
many channels. We will definitely be back, next time hopefully for more than three nights. We just loved it .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: View, location, peacefulness
Liked least: can't think of a thing.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlesbe...
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed April 10, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Thankfully we decided to spend two nights in Hana instead of simply doing the drive there and turning around to head back to more populated parts of the island.

We did have a bit of an issue finding the property (we ended up going to the residence just past the cottage), but once we found it, we were blown away by the view. The second you walk in, you will be greeted by a sweeping view of the coast and farm. Yes, it is as good as it gets.

Overall we found it to be very clean, a nicely stocked kitchen, and a wonderful place to enjoy either a meal or drink. Two nights is the minimum you should consider doing -- four probably would have been perfect.

Thanks for sharing this piece of heaven with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The fact we were only there two nights!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal61...
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adorable Cottage”
Reviewed February 16, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We overnighted in Hana from Kihei and stayed at this cute little cottage for one night. It was homey and clean and perfect. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Layout of cottage
Liked least: Lots of bugs on deck at night - can't do anything about that tho'!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$170
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing