We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Adorable Cottage”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Koali Ranch Cottage from the ocean
From the lanai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Crystal61...
Burnaby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adorable Cottage”
Reviewed February 16, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We overnighted in Hana from Kihei and stayed at this cute little cottage for one night. It was homey and clean and perfect. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: December 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Layout of cottage
Liked least: Lots of bugs on deck at night - can't do anything about that tho'!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
life_love...
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy and Inviting.”
Reviewed December 2, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We loved this charming little place. The pictures online make it seem really far from the ocean, which really isn't the case. If it weren't for having to navigate past a bull (who 'seemed' friendly) and some cows, you could actually walk to the water pretty easily. The view is breathtaking and the lanai is so private and cute. The cottage itself is adorable. We loved the clean white-washed charm with the bright green quilt and art. It was so cozy. We wished we had more than one night there. The pantry is also full of items that you might need when cooking but don't want to buy a whole thing of at the store. We felt like we were staying at a friend's house. The best parts were the details! They left a bouquet of fresh flowers, plus fresh flowers in the bathroom, in the shower, by the bed (so welcoming!) plus a bowl of fresh fruit. The shower was really nice and they have the best soap in there; it's local, natural and smells amazing, this was the first time I have taken soap with me from a room, ever. We were also greeted with a nice "welcome" letter which told us to "just enjoy" ourselves. We also loved the cows (that part we weren't sure about going in.) They just quietly mooed the day away and it was relaxing to watch them relax in the shade and munch on grass. Then at night they went to wherever cows go at night. They weren't even back in the late morning, which allowed for a great sleep-in after a day checking out the local splendor. There were also a lot of cute, little geckos on the lanai (obviously attracted by the light we had on.) So lots of new friends to be had!
Overall, we loved it here. Charming, cozy, beautiful view and we just felt very welcomed. Oh, and we showed up about 3 hours early for check-in and the cleaning lady graciously let us in early, she was very nice. Loved it.

Date of stay: October 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The coziness, charm and welcoming staff.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graceisen...
Volcano, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“This is why they say Hana is heavenly”
Reviewed November 9, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
6
people found this review helpful

We opened the door and I just cried - this lil' cottage is SO beautiful. If there was ever something wrong with this place, my heart is sad for that reviewer's experience. THIS IS PARADISE for us. I got up and watched every sunrise with the horses and cows in the pastureland just below. Once there were a few cows that came very close and we were entertained for more time than we'd like to confess. Everyday we found the ocean and played and swam and enjoyed the slower pace on this side of Maui. One night we went to the grocery store and came back and lumbering down the other side of the road was a HUGE bull. The only time we didn't have a camera. There was a local in a pickup not far behind and my husband asked, "did you lose something?" and he said, "No, it's one of the neighbors." We decided you can take that both ways in Hana. Speaking of beef, buy some local meat and grill it up - here we are living in the midwest and we found THE BEST hamburger we have ever had at Hasegawa's in Hana. Crazy, huh? Must be the grass - you'll never see healthier animals than on the rangeland in Hana. The cottage had everything we needed and the nicest touch was some homemade soap by someone from Upcountry Maui. If we wanted for anything it might have been a second set of beach towels, but that is because we were always going to the beach. Most of our meals we cooked at the cottage - we did not have problems with bugs, but I've been to Hawaii lots and so we kept things in ziplock bags, cleaned up crumbs and kept fruit in the fridge. That's another sweet thing the owners provide - a basket with fresh fruit (even an avocado.mmm) and a small banana bread. I can see why someone thought the bed was a bit smaller than a queen size, but I don't think it is a double - it was very comfortable and the linens were very nice. We hiked into the "Venus Pools" and I got eaten alive by the bugs - I'm including a picture though because it is this beautiful and not far from the cottage. We also found a waterfall and I swam in the pool by the side of the road - we got there before anyone, including the barrage of vendors that set up their wares by the side of the road. Because you are staying on the Hana side you can take time to experience all the beauty that you rush through when you make the drive from the other side. Nahiku was beautiful and we hiked down and over to Hui Aloha church after visiting Oheo Gulch. We barely beat the crowds to Wainapanapa and Oheo Gulch, but that was because we treasured our mornings at the cottage. The Kahanu Gardens seem to charge a lot for a walking tour ($10 each), but to see a huge heiau and think about the rich history that we so often miss was worth it. I did cry when we closed the door to drive back to other side of Maui - we did not expect to fall in love with this little place, but we did. We are both thinking we need to save our pennies and stay longer here and less time on the "crowded side" of the island. We "splurged" on four nights, but it will be at least seven next time 'round. Mahalo nui loa for sharing this slice of heaven with the rest of us. We are forever grateful for our time at Koali Ranch Cottage.

Date of stay: October 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace, the place - everything
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewed October 17, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
4
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HikeLover...
san Francisco, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“will not go back,, sorry, but never..”
Reviewed October 5, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Wanted to share my experience, so no one makes mistakes like we did.
This cottage was a total disappointment for us. Yes it has a beautiful view, absolutely,, but that's about it.

First of all, the place needs better maintenance: bugs everywhere, both alive and dead. the place smells like eurine - yes it is in cattle ranch, so yes, expected to have ranch odor, but, the inside of the place could smell better! the worst part, we found a woman's worn underwear under the bed.. !!! that was absolutely disgusting..

Secondly, their bed is claimed to be a queen size bed, but super mini - queen size! plus it has terrible mattress. DO not expect to have a good night sleep.. We had to drink up & get wasted every-night to fall asleep.. :-( It totally ruined our vacation.

Before I made reservation, I've read reviews here and they were wonderful. People have different opinion, so, I just wanted to share my opinion, hoping to help those who'd like to hear from someone with a different opinion from the majority of the reviews here.

Date of stay: September 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the view
Liked least: everything else
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2011
Dear Tracy Kim.

As owners and managers of the cottage, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We are eager to encourage you to return and enjoy the tranquility the cottage offers. You will notice that we have made major improvements to our cleaning rourtine. Please call Wendy at 808 248 7746 and give us an opportunity to make you happy.

Chuck Gray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D
Evans, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Serenity and Ideal Location in Hana Area”
Reviewed August 19, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at the Kaoli Ranch Cottage was lovely and memorable. Although only 50 feet from the highway, it’s very peaceful and relaxing.
When we arrived at the cottage, its curb appeal didn’t overwhelm us, but it’s larger than it looks and the interior is very nice. We loved the fresh flowers and fruit.
The location couldn’t be better: about halfway between the village and Oheo Gulch. If you leave the cottage at 7:00 AM, you will be the only visitors at the Seven pools in Oheo Gulch. The light will be perfect for photography, and there won’t be 30 teenagers screaming and jumping off the rocks into the pools.
Don’t expect any strip malls or supermarkets in the Hana area. Hana is laid back, off the beaten path, and resists change. We stayed at the cottage after spending a week in a Kihei resort. Because we had been warned about the availability of fresh food in Hana, we took a cooler jam packed with food. We hoped that there would be fresh seafood available in Hana, and we were delighted to see fresh filets at a roadside stand in the village. We returned to the food stand on the second day and learned that the fisherman had not visited the stand all day. We were told that a fisherman normally sells fresh catch near Hamoa Beach. But because he was not there, we bought steaks and produce at one of the two food markets. On our final evening we had the same experience: no fresh seafood anywhere in the village. I advise anyone staying in Hana to ask one of the locals about fresh seafood. Better yet, ask Wendi or Otto Horen, Hana Paradise Cottages managers.
Our favorite places to visit were . . .
1. Oheo Gulch and especially the hike on the Pipiwai Trail to Waimoku Falls. On the way, don’t miss Wailua Falls, only 1.25 miles from the cottage. Hike the entire trail system; first down to the lower pools, then on the Pipiwai Trail to Waimoku Falls. The trail to the falls could be muddy and slippery during rain.
2. Wai'anapanapa State Park and Beach. The black sand is stunning, but the surf is too treacherous.
3. Hamoa Beach.

Date of stay: July 2011
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Serenity
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kris1975
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, never wanted to leave!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was perfect! Great view and close to wonderful waterfalls, beaches and hikes! A little peace of heaven. Can't wait to return... Aloha!

Date of stay: May 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing