We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location with smiling local staff”
Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hana Kai Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Very beautiful, black beach cove outside my windows and very good value since I stayed in 2 different apartments and they are fully equipped. Terrific spot for families interested in walking and relaxation.
I enjoyed coming to a more authentic Hawaiian local after the crowds and shops on the other side of Maui.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 684 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

We were here only one night. Room was great (#3). Wood floors and full kitchen. Looks out onto the beach. But very little insulation and could hear every step the guests above us took on those wood floors as well as conversation. If we were back I would definitely want a top floor condo. If you are in Hana for any length of time the kitchen is great since there are only 2 restaurants in the town that serve dinner and both are pricey.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sawbonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Myself, my wife and daughter visited Hana, at east Maui at December 22, 2013 and stayed in Unit No1 of Hana Kai Maui. It is corner unit of oceanfront building. Fantastic views of Specific Ocean and adjoining Waikaloa black sand beach are available from everywhere (bedroom, living room and balcony) from this unit. Scenic beauty of Hana, particularly Specific Ocean is better than many other places and from this unit view is gorgeous. This oceanfront building is three storied and five unit are distributed in second and third floor level. Our unit was at second floor level. At February 2013, I also visited Hana with my wife and stayed in Hana Kai Maui for three days. But, at that time we booked unit#204 at second building which is just behind oceanfront building but at higher level. Due to level difference very good view of ocean and beach are also available from rooms and balconies of second building. This building is two storied and have seven units in each story. It is better to book upper level unit for better view. All the suites of Hana Kai Maui consist of Bedroom, Living Room, attached bath (no bath tub) and Full Kitchen. Wifi and parking are available at free of cost. But, no TV and Air-conditioning are available in those rooms. Air conditioning is not needed at Hana, because weather remain very comfortable throughout the year, in addition to that fan is provided in each room. Front desk is working from 8AM to 8PM only. So, it is better to reach there before 8PM.
Hana is somewhat remote place in Maui. From International Airport to Hana is about 80KM and driving time is about 4 hours through narrow winding road. There are only few restaurants, one gas station, one convenience store and some accommodation (mainly home rental) are available here. But, scenic beauty of Hana is best of Maui.
Personally I like Hana and as well as Hana Kai Maui. If I get a chance I shall come back to Hana and will stay at Hana Kai Maui, because, I am unable to find any better place for staying in Hana.

Room Tip: Unit 1 and 4 are oceanfront corner units. So, view will be best from these units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushantakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed in unit #1. Perfect for a couple. Only downside was noise from walking in the condo above with what sounded like high heels. Every thing was comfortable as we stayed for three nights cooking in the condo after stopping on the way at Mana food for fish and organic vegetables. Touring the area every day and watching sunrise and sunset from our deck or living room window.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

At this moment, we're enjoying our fourth and final night at the Hana Kai Resort. We're staying on the upper floor of the first building (one building away from oceanfront but with great views, too) in the Kawaipapa Room #207, a very private end unit. There's a magical orange moon over Hana Bay in full view from the well-appointed lanai where we've dined each evening. Our kitchen is well-equipped down to the details of basic spices and cooking oil. The resort's communal barbeque grill is powerful and capable of searing fish and meats in a few minutes time. The resort staff are friendly and helpful. The groundskeeper offered us local tips on sights, hikes, beaches, and ocean safety. The beach at Hana Bay is black rock and sand--not a classic barefoot beach but one well-worth walking across with sturdy shoes. During the day surfers catch waves offshore though the steep beach covered in smooth rounded stones doesn't lend itself to body surfing or splashing around. We highly recommend Hana Kai Resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at Hana Kai for a last minute one night stay-cation on Maui. Booking was smooth and easy over the phone and we arrived to our lovely full ocean view studio room. The unit was incredibly clean and nicely decorated. So many little touches added to the experience: the beautiful koi ponds on property, the BBQ picnic area with the ocean view and the organic local toiletries, lanai furniture in great condition.

We really appreciated the aloha and help from Miya at the front desk. Since we stayed in the upper building, she showed us two units in the lower oceanfront building to consider for future stays. It makes a huge difference to be directly on the water, so it's worth the money if you can afford it. We will absolutely be back. Another great place to stay is Hana By the Sea if this property is booked.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you then book an upstairs room. We could hear the people above us walking, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetheLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

After a long flight from SFO to Maui and then a drive from Maui to HANA, with some hikes on the same day, this place offered much needed rest and comfort.
We reached the place late in the evening by 6:30 and we knew we will have limited options to eat, considering it was a christmas day, so we were ready to prepare dinner.
Having dinner in Lanai of # 106 unit with the clear starry night and sound of the waves with a cool breeze, with the iPhone light - could not have asked more for a sweet little dinner for me and my wife that evening.
The Kitchen was very stocked and the unit was very clean, with nice toiletries. We are so glad we were able to book the place a week before our trip ( last minute trip ) , getting the accommodation was though tough. we got lucky that someone cancelled their reservation :) I wish we could have stayed there for another night, after a good 4 miles hike to Waimuku falls.
Will stay here again on my next trip to HANA !

Room Tip: If you book the place for only one night, there is an additional charge.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cooltarunbakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
47.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
767 reviews
47.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,142 reviews
24.8 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: $292 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing