We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Views”
Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hana Kai Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2008

We stayed just one night at Hana Kai in May, 2008.They are limited choices in Hana so we felt lucky to have just found a place. The people were wonderful even before we arrived, giving us recommendations of places to eat etc. We reserved 2 rooms. As it turns out, we ended up with an upgrade for one of the rooms, we aren't sure why and didn't question it. I believe our one room was 208 (right on the end of the one building, it was great and it's patio had an amazing view, cute little kitchenette and adorable decor. BUT the upgrade to Room #503 ... this room is spectacular! It is a one bedroom with 2 bathrooms and 2 pull out couches, it has a gorgeous deck with a table and chairs set. From both the bedroom and the pull out couch, you could watch the sunrise over the waves right from your bed. The interior photos we have don't do the place justice, it was huge and adorably furnished. One word of warning, Hana, in general, seems to be a windier area of the island and a sweater would have been handy. Definitely the ideal place to stay in Hana, without a doubt, whether you get a 500 or a 200 room, it is fabulous!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CMRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 679 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2008

Unit 206 is excellent! Although the entire resort stands out amongst the Hana competition, Unit 206 stands above all in the resort. Excellent location, wonderful amenities and the owner just a phone call away should you need anything. We spent four nights and could have stayed longer. Hana is heaven so why not stay there! Maui without the strip malls.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank magnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Loved this spot. We even went to the see the pricey resort, not that great, it had no view. The Hana Kai had a much better view, lovely room with a million dollar view!!! It was great to have the kitchen with full frige, microwave, stove, and all the untensils (dishes, pots, pans, brita water filter pitcher, coffee, etc) you need provided for you. Also they provide full size shampoo, conditioner, and soap.

The only downside, no ac. You get wind off the ocean with the huge doors out to the lanai. But during the day it can get toasty.

We stayed in room 102 a studio. Perfect for a couple.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rooooomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

I can't remember our room number other than 2nd floor, newly redecorated. We didn't see the other rooms but this one took our breath away, we walked in to the sound of the ocean waves outside our deck and slept with the glass doors opens, the wind blowing the curtains gently and felt like we were in heaven. Our only regret was not staying 2 days.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ConnecticutTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Great for 1 or 2 nights. Slightly dated but everything functioned well and the bed was certainly confy. Great location and very good value for Hana. Excellent ocean view from the end unit, second floor, in the back building. Room 207--I think.
It's a rocky beach so the sound really travels.
The ocean lulled us to sleep each night.

Tip: Do drive out the extra 10 miles to the National Park Service
(7 Sacred Falls). The "sacred" falls are nice but the real treat, if you're able to hike, is to cross the road and climb up to the incredible waterfalls. It's a 60-90 min. hike and goes through a magical and truly wonderful bamboo forest. The best we've ever seen. Get there and start your hike by 9a.m. and you will probably have the falls almost to yourself.
Another mile down the road is where Charles Lindburgh is buried. Very Quiet....

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Hana Kai is a nice place to stay for a night, maybe two after enjoying the drive to Hana. We stayed in a one bedroom unit on the second floor, with a good view of the ocean and it was very peaceful. It had a stocked kitchen and though It was a little rustic, it was also a decent price. We enjoyed a walk on the (rocky yet quaint) beach, explored Hana & as well as a day trip to the Seven Sacred pools. The weekend manager we met was very pleasant and friendly. Overall a fine alternative for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winegalsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Pros: Great view of Hana Bay. Ocean sounds help you drift off to sleep. Good location. 1 night stays are available (difficult to find in Hana)

Cons: Noise travels easily through the walls of the condos (even when all guests are inside ). Room was a bit dated (bathroom can use some upkeep, musty smell in drawers)

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JMS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
47.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.4 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
47.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,126 reviews
47.2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: $292 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing