We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Tropical Paradise ~ Hana Kai 206” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hana Kai Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tropical Paradise ~ Hana Kai 206”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We felt like we in Bali though we were in the US.
Shayla's condo #206 in Hana was gorgeous.
From our first step in the door we were treated like this was our personal home.
We opened the beautiful sliding door and were overcome by the noise of the surf we were so close. We listened to the soothing sound of the waves crashing over the black sand all night long.
I appreciated the espresso maker, wine in the fridge, and all condiments/spices needed for cooking.
Shayla was very quick to answer any and all questions we had prior to the trip. She also provided a guide of sights to visit/hike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    200
    45
    19
    11
See reviews for
150
366
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waianae
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in room 102 Kaumaka and it has the best ocean view on the property! The room was absolutely perfect overlooking the black sand beach with waves lapping on the shore. The room was well appointed including a fully stocked kitchen. We enjoyed breakfasts and dinners on the lanai to take in the beauty of the bay. We walked on the black sand beach every morning and watched the sunrise. We left the lanai doors open throughout the day and night to feel the cool island breeze and to listen to the sound of the waves. Hana's old-time hawaiian natural beauty and culture made our stay so inviting. The local people showed their aloha spirit to the max! Mahalo Susan and staff for a wonderful stay at Hana Kai Maui. We are Kamaaina's living in Nanakuli, Oahu and plan to come back one day soon! A Hui Hou! Hal & Brenda Levy

Room Tip: Full on ocean views are spectacular choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

After a long day exploring on the road to Hana with the family, we stayed a night at Hana Kai. The location is fantastic, with an incredible view. I would suggest requesting a high floor, corner room. The room we stayed in (204) was very well equipped. The beach isn't kid friendly and there is no TV, but my kids could have cared less...plenty of activities to take advantage of in the area (7 pools, Hamoa Beach, Lava Tube and numerous wayside parks to visit. We can't wait to go back and stay LONGER!

Room Tip: The walls are a bit thin...it wasn't noisy by any stretch, but you could hear conversations in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontanaSwanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brawley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a fabulous find! I finally stayed a couple of nights in Hana, and now I know why it's called "Heavenly Hana." We stayed in Unit #1 (ocean front, one-bedroom) and had an awesome view of the black sand beach and ocean. Sunrises and sunsets were breathtaking. The unit was well-equipped, nicely appointed and clean. If you need a television, a/c, nightlife, shopping and a hectic lifestyle, Hana is NOT for you. You need to head to west Maui with the million other people. I guess the units can be a little noisy depending on how heavy-footed your neighbors are, but it was very tolerable in our unit. There are house rules that ask noise to be kept to a minimum after 10:00 p.m. and before 8:00 a.m. Free wi-fi is available but no elevator. If you have physical limitations, you may have a little difficulty depending on which unit you decide to choose. There are two, small grocery stores nearby. People will complain about them being pricey, but why go to Hawaii if you can't afford a little extra here and there. There are "fruit stands" with fresh local fruits and some that also sell food, like garlic noodles with vegetables or scallops. Don't forget to try the banana bread with or without macadamia nuts. "Roadside restaurants" are also a good find. We had some great Thai food at one of them. There are a couple of restaurants in Hana, and I understand that both are owned by the folks from Longhi's. We never ate at the restaurants, but I've eaten at Longhi's in Lahaina and in Honolulu. The food is good. The staff at the Hana Kai are very friendly and helpful. Next time I'd like to just fly into Hana and stay at the Hana Kai for a few days. I'm already feeling relaxed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed here twice now, once as a couple then most recently with all our family and friends! We rented out the whole property for our wedding and it was absolutely perfect. Great location, excellent group area downstairs, great amenities, and Hana is a wonderful rustic Hawaiian town. We will be returning many times!

Room Tip: The walls/ceilings are a little thin, so you may have less neighbor noise if you're on the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lennie_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is a gem in Hana and actually priced pretty reasonably compared with nearby accommodations.

Every suite has an ocean view and a sizable lanai within earshot of the Hana Bay waves. It's accessible to the beach with some small waves, but the rocks are pretty rough.

Decent size kitchen with a full frige stocked with a brita and utensils, stemware, and some great Maui coffee.

Plenty of closet space, some games and books in each unit, and contrary to some of the reviews, I found our bathroom to be quite modern and nice. Beach towel service from the front desk, and some high-end shampoo/conditioner/soap that's locally made.

Service staff was friendly and professional, booking was a breeze, as was checking in and out.

Parking is a bit tight and the noise carries given the amphitheater-like design, so please be courteous.

Also of note, there is no A/C, but I was never uncomfortable given the ventilation and ocean breeze.

Not sure if it's standard, but our unit (103) had an umbrella and styrofoam cooler that both came in handy. There's a small programmable safe for your valuables, and lots of closet space.

Kama'aina and military discounts available.

Room Tip: The Website has good descriptions, recommend reserving early as the rooms get booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masato I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

To say our wedding party took over Hana would be an understatement!
To my knowledge, our entire party stayed at Hana Kai for the week of our best friends wedding and it couldn't have been a more tranquil, easy & beautiful experience! From pot lucks in the common area outside, to peaceful strolls on the black rock beach, this location was top notch.

Make a stop at a market before taking the road to Hana & this splendid location, as every room has a very well appointed kitchen! Waking up to the sounds of the ocean & making breakfast to eat on the lanai was perfection.

Walking distance to Hana Bay, SUPER Thai food and Luana Spa for massages - it's a wonderful location. The staff was lovely, the units clean and the beds delightful! I think the last time I slept so well I was a child!

Thank you Hana Kai... we will most certainly be back again & again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki_nyc_la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.3 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
46.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
47.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Property: Hana Kai Maui
Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing