We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hana Kai Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

First of all, you MUST stay in one the oceanfront (not oceanview) units. Unimpeded, awesome view of the ocean and black sand beach. Best to stay on the upper floor to avoid footfalls of other guests.
Now, about our stay in oceanfront unit 3: gracious greeting on arrival, unit was spotlessly clean (if in need of updating in some areas), kitchen well-equipped, furniture comfortable. Spacious, comfortable lanai Only real complaint was the shower: weak water pressure and ultra-low shower head. Plus aforementioned footfalls of the two-year-old in the unit above ours.

This is clearly the best place to stay in Hana.

Room Tip: Oceanfront unit on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianTraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    205
    51
    19
    11
See reviews for
160
380
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in Aug 2012 with 3 members of my family. The hotel is in a lovely location with great ocean views and views of the black volcanic beaches. The hotel itself was clean and we had no issues at check in. The rooms was great, very nicely layed out and plenty of room even with 4 fully grown adults in the room. The room consists of a small kitchen, which has everything you require and a small dining table to the side if required. Our room had 2 double beds, one on the lower floor and one on a mezznine floor. The beds were clean and comfortable and left us well rested after our testing drive down the road to Hana.

I would definately visit this hotel again and would highly recommend the Hana area to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a great place to get away from the crowds. The location is fabulous right on the beach, and all have an ocean view. The units are tidy and pretty well equipped with all you require to prepare your food. There is also a nice little common BBQ are. Staff are friendly and the fish ponds are a highlight for a 2 year old.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froggiegirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I booked the Hana Kai Maui for several nights so that we could take our time exploring the Hana highway and Hana itself. We easily found the hotel, and friend staff showed us to our ocean front room. What a spectacular view! The room was spotless, and the kitchenette included everything we needed. Since restaurants are scarce, we purchased produce at the Hana Market, and patronized the well stocked grocery. Meals on our lanai were made even better by the sound of the ocean and the black beach. We hated to leave, but hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean front room. The view is worth the extra money .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara_and_Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Spent two nights there last October and had a wonderful time. They have two buildings, one right on the beach and the other, where we stayed, back and up the hill. We had a great view but may try to stay in the one closer to the beach next time. A 50 foot walk and we were on the beautiful black sand beach. It was great having the balcony overlooking the shoreline. We happened to be there for the annual Hana Parade and Celebration which was just a short walk from the hotel. If you want to drive the Hana Road, plan on staying over in Hana for a night or two and the Hana Kai Maui is a great place to do that.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the beach have a better view, but the one we had up the hill was still great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We loved our 2-night stay at Hana Kai Maui. Our room was very comfortable, and the view from our lanai was perfect. This was our second trip to Maui, and our first to Hana. What a beautiful, lush area! The trip itself was great fun - especially for me because I didn't drive! We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to be on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are a family of 4, 2 parents and 2 college age daughters. We wanted to do the Road to Hana, stay in Hana, then complete the trip all the way around South Maui. Hana Kai was a perfect change to the busy Kaanapalii coast! The small complex was easy to find, just following their directions online. Our unit was #107, 1 bedroom, corner unit, with "2 daybeds" in living room. We chose this unit because it was available for 1 night ( some units have a minimum stay of 2 nights), and more importantly, it was SUPPOSED to have 2 daybeds, one for each girl. Some of the units advertised futons, as opposed to day beds. There is no way 2 tall college girls were going to share a futon. A double bed yes, but not a futon. Turns out that there were not 2 day beds as stated on the web site. There was 1 futon, and one chair that pulls out to a little toddler-size bed. A 2 yr- 4 yr old would fit perfectly. One daughter pulled up the coffee table to the bottom of the pulled-out chair for her legs so she could stretch out. The girls made do, but it was irritating because that was one of the reasons we chose that particular unit! Anyway, the unit was adorable, spotless, and looked as if it had recently been updated. The bathroom looked as though it had new tile. The kitchenette had everything we needed. We brought a cooler with breakfast and lunch food. The sliding doors opened to a beautiful porch with a nice table and chairs and a partial view of the beach. It was unfortunate that the weather was so lousy that we could not keep the doors open. Our bedroom had a nice comfortable king size bed, and a small porch off the bedroom facing the front parking area. All of the linens were soft and cozy and comfortable.
The power went out around 8:30 pm, and you dont know what dark is until the power goes out in Hana!!! It must happen often, because there was a nice large lantern in the closet , located in the bathroom. It gave off enough light to read by and play games. Have to say it was nice not having any TV. Again, it was a shame that the weather was cloudy, because the stars that we did see, were so close and bright! I can only imagine what a beautiful night sky it would have been.
When we checked in, the bill we received was $15.00 more that the confirmation I received online. When I questioned this, the desk clerk said that it was an "overnight service fee"???? Whatever that means!!!!! There was nothing on my confirmation that I received from them. Rather annoying ...
As far as the twin daybeds ...how hard is it to change the wording on the website to tell future guests what is actrually there in the unit? Even on the confirmation, it said that there were 2 daybeds. And make sure "service fee" is on the confirmation!
The sliding doors to the porch off of the living area looked new and we were able to lock them. However, the sliding doors to the porch off of the bedroom were OLD and we were not able to lock them at all!!! We could see where there had been locks ( we think) . Being on the first floor, no power, pitch black, and can't lock the door? Uneasy ...
All in all, we really liked Hana Kai Maui and would def stay there again and recommend it to travelers. Just a few adjustments to the website and a lock would be great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank susea39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanakaisusie, Manager at Hana Kai Maui, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We apologize that the description on the website and confirmation did not match the unit. The living room had been refurnished and the beds were changed from 2 twin day beds to a full size futon with an additional twin sized futon chair so that the unit can actually accommodate 5 people. The work had been done but we neglected to update the website and confirmation docs. So sorry for this inconvenience. You missed the ottoman that makes the futon chair a full length bed.

Regarding the service fee; it is stated on the website. We charge this fee only for 1 night stays. Our booking engine cannot accommodate this fee properly so we manage it manually. This is the only fee we charge. It is meant to offset the additional housekeeping required for overnight stays and we have chosen to keep the fee rather than raising rack rates on guests who stay for 2 nights or more.

Regarding the locks on the bedroom door. They are in the same location as the ocean lanai door, but we will add some signage there as they are difficult for some guests to locate.

Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again.

Susie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.3 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
24.8 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
494 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Property: Hana Kai Maui
Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing