We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Absolutely beautiful”
Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hana Kai Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Pinconning, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I decided that instead of rushing the drive on the Hana Highway, I would find a place to stay in Hana. There aren't a huge number of options, at least compared to other parts of Maui. I found one room available for one night, and decided to reserve the room. When I first arrived, I wasn't sure what to make. The landscaping along the path to the check-in office was the first indication that this place was well taken-care of. The check-in process went very smoothly, and the woman was very friendly. I got to the room, and was truly impressed. Plan on bringing supplies, as there was a fridge, microwave, and oven available, along with other amenities. The bed was extremely comfortable. There was no TV, but there was wireless internet. My room was oceanview, and the view was great. I loved sitting on the balcony and looking out at the ocean. There was only a fan, but I left the door open during the night to enjoy the ocean sounds, and had no problems with the temperature in the room. I was overall very impressed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    206
    51
    19
    11
See reviews for
163
381
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, in stormy conitions. Got to check in early, found our studio warm, clean ,and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook our own meals while we watched the raging seas from our lanai.
Value for dollar very high here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winston111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

While exploring Hana we stayed in rooms 101 and 202 at the Hana Kai Maui. Lots of positive things about this place. We thought the location was great and loved the large full-size windows and sliding door to look out at the ocean from the bed (room 202, not 101. The bedroom in 101 faces the street). Though small and basic, the kitchen had everything we needed and they supplied delicious coffee every morning for the coffeepot. Bed linens were top notch, and everything felt very clean. They supply a very nice gas grill out front to use and they do the clean up. The only negative at Hana Kai was the very thin walls. You could hear everything through the walls, and I mean everything. Thankfully, everyone took note of the "quiet hours". Not fancy, but a cool place to stay in Hana.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ColoradoMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Hana. We had a great view of the ocean from our room and the sunrise was fantastic. The room was clean and the check-in and check-out process was easy. We only stayed one night and we were not there very long but we did enjoy are time. There was a nice kitchen and dining area. We ended up getting pizza and bringing it back to our room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scurry49428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed here for a few days before moving on to Napili during March 2011. Booked Hana Kai 1 and it looks exactly like the pictures. The room really is fun and stereotypically Hawaiian. We had a killer view and an enormous lanai; almost felt like we should've had more people with us...almost. The girl who checked us in was informative i.e. had a wealth of knowledge about local food etc and was friendly enough.

The room is huge, kitchen well equipped, bed comfy and everything is really great...with one caveat; if you have noisy upstairs neighbors....you WILL know about it. Quite a bit of salt spray crusted on the windows but I guess it's the price you pay for the location.

There are fantastic beaches nearby and the town itself is very "local", in a good way. Stores have limited stock so if cooking is your plan come prepared i.e. pick up stuff on the way from the airport. However, there are many roadside "setups" with traditional plate lunches (love the Teriyaki) and some good restaurants too.

Overall I would recommend (actually checking availability at the moment) but would consider another room...maybe. Though it wouldn't take tooo much arm twisting to get me to stay in the same:)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxuryLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We just arrived and could not be more pleased with our condo. Clean, well appointed unit with a balcony overlooking the black sand beach with its pounding surf. Hana is a quiet place, just what we are looking for. Having done a day trip to Hana in the past, which was lovely but tiring, we were thrilled to get out in Hana, go for a walk and unwind.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We enjoyed our two nights here and especially loved listening the surf pound the rocky beach outside our room. The lovely wrap around porch from unit #201 gave beautiful views. With no TV we watched movies from our laptop and enjoyed a bottle of wine as the sun disappeared. We had arranged two nights so that we could hike the 7 sacred pools. This was great but the one drawback of Hana is the lack of restaurants. Two nights was perfect for us. We drove back via the south road which is bumpy and rough for about 10 miles but otherwise added to the adventure. The room was lovely, beautifully appointed, clean and even had fresh tropical flowers on a table by the door waiting for us. A great little jaunt in the middle of our few weeks on Maui.

Room Tip: We were in #201 and it was great! Vaulted ceilings were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofthecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
506 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
27.2 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Property: Hana Kai Maui
Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing