We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another wonderful stay at Travassa Hana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Gold River, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“another wonderful stay at Travassa Hana”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

my husband and I have been coming to Hana for many years and have been through many changes at the hotel and we still love it.
WE have gotten to know many of the staff who are always so wonderful to us...and so welcoming and always smiling!
we have a condo on the other side in Kihei and it is always so refreshing to return Hana which remains the same!
Danny Mynar the manager was raised and went to school in Hana so he makes it especially special!

Room Tip: we have stayed in the Sea Ranch cottages and enjoyed them but now are very happy in room 51 in the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarplumfairy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Aloha sugarplumfairy78,

Thank you for your review and a perfect score! It is our privilege to have had the opportunity to host you over the years and look forward to welcoming you back to your Hana Ohana in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    212
    88
    48
    32
See reviews for
219
712
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Travaasa Hana, Maui
The Good, The Bad and The Ugly
After the demise of the Big Islands’ Kona Village Resort in March of 2011, we began a search for a place to continue our 30-year enjoyment of “Real Hawaii”. This year we tried the revamped Hana Maui Resort, recently rechristened Travaasa Hana.
The Good:
Travaasa has two distinctly different environments, low-rise hotel-type rooms that accept children and are served by a family pool/activity center, and a “Sea Ranch” area that is restricted to 16 and older and contains an adult infinity pool. Sea Ranch cottages are either family doubles or two to a bungalow singles, each with a large deck, some with hot tubs. The early 8os interior of our hale was partially upgraded and very nice. The “stiff” platform bed, not so much.
Overall, the sea ranch side of the resort was quite, scenic, and comfortable. Transportation between sea ranch and the resort facilities is readily available.
The Bad:
NO BEACH. From Travaasa you can walk downhill to the Hana Harbor where there is good snorkeling near the pier on a clear day. For sand, the resort provides a shuttle to a nice beach a few miles away. Service there or back is every two hours on the hour.
Limited, but expensive food choices. The resort has three food options; a limited bar menu in the lounge, a small but diverse dinner menu in the main dining room and a family menu in the Hana Ranch Restaurant that is located just off property. The Breakfast menu in the dinning room is standard hotel fare and runs about $50 for two. Lunch is a buffet that is popular with the busses that run from other parts of the Island. Dinner is a stale, static menu that varies only in the details of preparation of the 10 or so dishes available. Dinner was consistently $125 to $150 for two.
The UGLY:
OUCH. When we first arrived, I stepped out on our deck to see the view and immediately punched a hole (I was admittedly barefooted) in my foot on a rusty finish nail stick up from the flooring. A quick look found 50 more sticking up between a half and one inch. In addition, the decking was rotted, uneven and splintery. The on-site construction manager claimed that these decks would soon be properly upgraded (who is unskilled enough to use finish nails to secure decking?).
YUCK: We ate only once at the Hana Ranch Restaurant. Unfortunately that was once too many since my wife got significant food poisoning resulting in the runs at both ends. It was probably the Eggplant Parmesan, but overall cleanliness may have been a factor.
View, or lack of it. We used a Luxury Link package for our week long stay at Travaasa. The room promised was to have a “panoramic ocean view”. What we got was a deck with a narrow slice of ocean view and a panoramic view on the bungalows between the ocean and us. Only 8 or 10 of the Sea Ranch units have “panoramic ocean views. If you want one (and that nice ocean sound) ask for rooms 411, 412, 511 or 512. Since the resort was mostly unoccupied, it was insulting that they gave us a room with a dilapidated deck and a miniscule view.
Getting there and back: Our package included air transport from the main Maui airport and Hana on Mokulele Airlines. The 15-minute flight down was great. The return flight was cancelled, leaving us to call for a taxi which took three hours to get to Hana and enduring a 3 hour return ride up a 50 mile, two lane road with 52 one lane bridges and no restrooms. Although a great adventure, we would have preferred to avoid it. The resort did refund our share of the taxi ride but don’t trust Mokulele if you need to make another flight.
Other Stuff:
We unfortunately encountered one couple who felt empowered to remove our belonging from our pool chairs while we were eating breakfast, simple because “they always sat there”.
All of the Hotel staff had as lack of empowerment and when confronted with a decision or request told us to call someone else. The exception was the Concierge, HOKU, who got it done for us.

Room Tip: Book Sea Ranch 411, 412, 511 or 512 and get a ocean view and the surf sounds at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ackermanmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Aloha Ackermanmb,

I apologize about your unfortunate experience here at Travaasa Hana. I understand there were numerous attempts by my management staff to rectify your situation, but those attempts were not to your satisfaction. Again, please accept my apologies for not delivering a quality product and service we are known for.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukalani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have been in the hospitality industry for over twenty years and have stayed at countless hotels and resorts around the world, with the Travaasa Hotel Hana still ranking as my absolute favorite hotel on the planet. In today's cyber-paced world, this hotel provides welcome relief to the pace that so many of us are accustomed to. To borrow a phrase, it is like a bubble bath for your heart and champagne for your soul. It is, in my opinion, next to impossible to feel stress or anxiety of any sort at Travaasa. I have always said that this is where to go when you want to turn the volume of life down to zero. The silence is golden, and is only broken by the whisper of the wind and waves, the sound of the birds, the occassional rainshowers, and the warm greetings of aloha shared by the staff. Really, there is no place I would rather spend my free time. Hana remains, thankfully, a place apart from the rest of the world, and the wonderful people at Travaasa provide gracious and warm service that is always at the right cadence and the right volume.....there is peacefulness built into the DNA of this resort. GM Danny Mynar has done a wonderful job of guiding his team and elevating the experiential aspects of this resort. Although the resort has made some realtively big changes over the years, the aura of the property and the town have not changed much at all, which is truly a blessing in this day and age. There are plenty of activities for those who are active, but my advice is to bring a book or two and just allow yourself to bask in the uncluttered glory of this unique setting with an easy read and the laziest of days. If you want to really relax and recharge your batteries, Travaasa Hana will do the trick. Take a deep breath. Now take a few more deep breaths. That feeling....you don't even have to try in Hana. It just happens quite naturally.................Aloha.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Aloha Scott O,

Thank you for such a beautiful and heartfelt review of your stay. My job as the GM of this iconic property is very easy when having the privilege to work with a team that genuinely cares about the property, each guest no matter if it’s their first or 50th visit and will do whatever it takes to make each guest experience a unique and memorable one. Thank you again for you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

The minute we arrived at Travaasa a warm sensation of peace rushed through our bodies. The resort is magical: remote enough that you feel immediately zen from the surroundings, access to all kinds of fitness and health activities, excellent spa, close to nature and the tranquil setting of the resorts landscape is amazing, and an extremely friendly and professional staff that is top-notch. We hadn't thought about all the local excursions that you can do nearby when we booked this trip, and our only regret is not staying longer (4 days flew by!). After we stayed at Travassa we spent the rest of our trip in Lahaina and I would not recommend visiting these two destinations in that order. It was culture shock leaving the paradise of Travaasa to a touristy, slightly gimmicky, resort vibe on the west side. If you do want to visit multiple parts of Maui I highly recommend concluding your trip with the best = Travaasa. We will definitely return and book another sea-front cottage.

Room Tip: Room 407 had panoramic views of the ocean. Highly recommend paying the extra money for an independen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexCre8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Aloha LexCre8,

Thank you for your five star rating and sharing your experiences with our readers. I’m very pleased you were able to enjoy peace and tranquility we have to offer. Travaasa Hana is the last genuine Hawaiian experience on the island and we are very happy to have had the opportunity share our culture and authentic resort with you. Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and thank you for recommending us to our readers.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you plan to take the Road to Hana, this place is a must stay. The up front cost of staying here is definitely worth it and they do not nickel and dime you for everything. They offer so much different activities here and the staff members are amazing! They are genuinely happy to accommodate you and go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and get the most of your experience here.

Definitely a great way to get away from city life and just relax.

Room Tip: No electronics or A/C in the rooms but the purpose is to go out and experience what the hotel has to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Aloha Johnny P,

Thank you for sharing your “laid back, relaxing and memorable experience” with our Tripadvisor readers. Thank you for mentioning our team members and the memorable experience they provided you throughout your stay. It’s good to hear you enjoyed our plethora of complimentary guest activities. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband booked this hotel for our mini-moon stopover on our way back from our Wedding in Australia. I was a little hesitant given lack of electronic connections with the outside world (i.e. no internet or TV in cabins), however it was the best idea ever! We had the chance to relax and enjoy the area. He booked a Ocean Front Sea Ranch Cottage with a spa which was remote and perfect. We had most meals in the resort (which we never do) and the service and food was of a very high quality. The cottage was well equipped - bathrooms a little dated, however I think that adds to the charm of the location. All very clean and well maintained. We spent two afternoons in their Spa - I had the most amazing massage I have EVER had. Such a relaxing trip - definitely recommend if you are looking for a place to relax and recharge! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the Sea Ranch Cottages - definitely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneM1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Aloha AnneM1001,

Congratulations again on your recent wedding. I’m very pleased you enjoyed the no TV or internet in our guest rooms, which was designed to do what you experienced, relaxation, enjoy the sceneries of Hana, but most importantly the uninterrupted opportunity to spend time with your love one. We look forward to welcoming you back next year on your first anniversary.

Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Travaasa Hana and it became my "best vacation ever". Hoku's daily beaming smile and sincere inquiry made us feel genuinely welcomed. The rest of the staff was attentive without being pesky and always greeted us with smiles and openness. Our Sea Ranch Cottage was relaxing, very comfortable, and romantic with a view and live soundtrack of the ocean just beyond the cliff. Even the glorious sunrise begs to be "custom-ordered". Staying here provided the capstone to the glorious hiking, waterfalls, shoreline, etc. Thank you, Travaasa Hana and Hoku, for rounding out my perfect holiday in paradise.

teacherredmond

Room Tip: The Sea Ranch Cottages are a must for couples who want some solitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Aloha Patti R,

I'm very pleased we were able to help you achieve your “best vacation ever”, that's a very special comment. Thank you very much for mentioning Hoku and the outstanding job she does in creating a unique experience for all our guests, we are very fortunate to have her on our team. And thank you for mentioning our one of our kind team members who are very genuine and live the very definition of Aloha. Thank for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
47.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
47.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
29.8 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Property: Travaasa Hana, Maui
Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing