We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We fell in love with this hotel. We wish we could go back ever year! We cannot wait to go back to this hotel in the future. We plan to bring our daughter so we can show her all of the sites in Hana!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Aloha Melanie m,

Thank you for sharing such an amazing review with our Tripadvisor readers. Falling in love with the Hotel and Hana is very easy thing to do. I do hope you have an opportunity to share that special experience with your daughter in the near future.

Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
There are newer reviews for Travaasa Hana, Maui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

552 - 558 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent 1 night at the Travaasa Hana Hotel and loved it. We wished we had booked at least 2 nights. Very relaxing and quiet property! A totally different experience than the South Shore or West Maui. Come here to relax and partake in any of the numerous activities they provide free of charge. It was so welcome that there was no resort fee or tipping. The service was outstanding. I would definitely recommend staying here especially if you're looking for a romantic getaway without kids. The rooms were very spacious and nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlr02129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Aloha travlr2129,

I’m very pleased you were able to spend at least one romantic night with us. Hana is such a special place to find peace and uninterrupted quality time with your loved one. Thank you for recognizing the Travaasa team members for the outstanding service they provided you. We hope to welcome you back on your next extended stay in Hana.

Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay 5 nights in a Sea Ranch Cottage. We enjoyed every minute we were there. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and the views incomparable. We participated in core classes, smoothie/juice classes, swam laps in the beautiful pool, hiked all over the area including the beaches, ate great sashimi, ceviche and ahi at the restaurant and in our room, enjoyed the Thai neighborhood restaurant (yummy!), were spoiled with massages in the amazing spa and visited the beautiful waterfalls up the Hana Highway. No TV in our room was not a problem, it was a gift! We had so much fun with the warm and friendly staff. Everyone we encountered were helpful, knowledgeable and very, very friendly. The only negative about
this trip was the re-entry back into the real world!!

Room Tip: The Sea Ranch Cottages are amazing. View of the ocean and so peaceful and private.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Aloha K R,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of you fun filled five night stay with us. It sounds like you kept yourselves very busy with our activities schedule and enjoyed your dining experience on and off property. It was great meeting the both of you and I look forward to having your energy and smiles back in Hana in the near future.

Thank you again for sharing your excellent comments with our Tripadvisor followers.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in an ocean front cottage with the Total Travaasa package. From our first contact exploring the possibilities all the way through checkout we were blown away with the Travaasa team. The cottage was "quaint" but extremely comfortable, the free and paid activities were great, the spa was awesome, and the restaurant and lounge unbelievable. The only thing that surpassed the facilities was the people. Everyone we dealt with had such positive and loving attitudes, we felt like we were visiting family, not a resort. A little costly, yes, but do yourself a favor and splurge, you won't be sorry you did!

Room Tip: Can only comment on a seaview cottage - it was outstanding!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallrejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Aloha hallrejr,

I’m very pleased you enjoyed you five night stay with us! I would like to thank you for recognizing the team members that make this property a truly remarkable and memorable experience. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed your dining and Spa experience as well.

Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

After consulting tripadvisor reviews, we decided to splurge for the Sea Ranch Cottages and put our friend up in the Garden view room near the main lodge. Our experience is that the sea view room is better value, notwithstanding the much better view of the SR cottages. The garden view room# 30, get this, and the 3 other rooms to its right have ocean view! They are spacious and are in slightly better condition than the SR cottage we stayed in. So what do you get for the ~200$ upcharge to the cottage? You get bath salt, sounds of roaring waves and a pitched roof with skylight letting in the sun in between rainy spells. There is not more privacy either. We can see the insides of the next cottage downslope from ours which is semidetached to our neighbour to the left. No difference to the garden view room end units: one side is attached to the next room.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank sunnyboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Aloha sunnyboy9,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Travaasa Hana experience with our Tripadvisor followers. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you pointed out, we have four rooms in the Garden section of the property with a partial ocean view, but those views are pales in comparisons to the unobstructed view you will find at our Sea Ranch Cottages, plus a larger square footage to enjoy those views. Please be assured that our Sea Ranch Cottages are going through a renovation process, which will only improve on what is already an exceptional product.

Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and we look forward to hosting you again!

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Now our third stay! Unlike other places on Maui here you feel solitude, relaxation and release. The resort is whatever you want with the right amount of options and activities for a full experience. This haven is little discovered due to the journey to get there but worth a few days stay. Lots of aloha and mahalo!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jabes75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Aloha jabes75,

Congratulations on your third visit and a big thank you from the Travaasa team for your continued business, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hana! The journey to Hana is long, but beautiful as you already know. I’m very pleased you were able to find solitude and relaxation, which is not very hard to find once you get here. Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is amazingly situated in a tropical rainforest. The road to Hana is a must during the day and take Dramamine the windy one lane road is loaded with bridges & waterfalls with gorgeous views. The rooms are spacious and clean the bathtub is a true soaker tub . I can not give enough praise to the genuinely friendly staff, especially Hoku the concierge. My husband is a chef so when I say the food was well presented and delicious too we mean it. We have found our home away from home. We will make this our vacation spot again and again, don’t delay book now!

Room Tip: Our garden view are really nice and spacious. If you can splurge for a sea view cottage do so they...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldldumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Aloha Idldumm,

I’m very pleased you enjoyed your journey to Hana. The views along the way are simply breathtaking views. Thank you for recognizing the Travaasa team and the fabulous experience they provided you during your stay. Hoku does an excellent job making every guest feel welcome and creating that one of a kind guest experience. Thank you for mentioning your great dining experience!

Thank you for sharing your Travaasa experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
47.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
29.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
29.8 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: $522 - $834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing