We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dream Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Travaasa Hana is a retreat where you truly relax. The entire staff is amazing and made us feel like we were at home. We are still raving about Hubert! He did an outstanding job coordinating our dream wedding. We commend his efforts and professionalism. We already booked another stay in the same Sea Ranch Cottage for our one year anniversary!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PayneJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha PayneJM,

Congratulations again on your marriage! We are honored that you chose to spend this special occasion with us. Thank you for recognizing Hubert and tremendous job he does making our guests dreams come true.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your one year anniversary. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    212
    88
    48
    32
See reviews for
218
705
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda Dunes, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

So quiet and relaxing. I have never been more relaxed! We're here on our anniversary and we're staying in a sea cottage, and it is great, so private! It's like your own condo, very nice place, huge patio with a nice Hawaiian breeze. Highly recommend this place if your looking for a romantic getaway. They have in room dining and a beach close by, they offer lots of activities and have a restaurant. Let's see what else can I say beautiful ocean view, beautiful pool. No tv but who needs one here. At first we were a little worried about that but a few days in we're not missing it. Lots to do here a great experience all around.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trese72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha Trese72,

Congratulations again on your anniversary and thank you for spending such a special occasion with us. The layout of Travaasa Hana allows our guests to experience an almost private resort feel, which is almost unheard of at most Maui resorts. We offer a variety (complimentary and paid) of activities to our guests on a daily basis or if you want to lay around and spend quality time with that special someone, this is the perfect place.

Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and we look forward to hosting you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife found Travaasa through Conde Naste and we stayed there last week for four nights with our two young daughters. The best way to sum up our experience is to tell you we booked seven nights for next March (2015) before we departed.

Travaasa Hana is in all respects an exceptional place - in a truly beautiful part of the world, east Maui, Hana. We have experienced helpful staff before but the Travaasa staff members are different in that they exude happiness and positivity. They almost reflect back the relaxed, happy, sunny vibe of the region. I realize the food and beverage staff are technically employed separately from the resort staff. While I think this could present a potential wrinkle in service consistency our experience was that both teams worked very well together as an integrated whole. Ryan will forever remain our favorite bartender, Hana dad of three, and Hana raconteur.

If you don't have younger children I would recommend a sea cottage. If you like seafood I would stick with the fresh catch. All the dinners are pricey but on par with luxury hotels in Wailea - in other words, very expensive. Breakfast was exceptional and 100 times nicer than eating in a crowded resort dining room.

The Makana pool house staff is wonderful. We loved learning about the culture of the islands in between swims and relaxing poolside. Our girls spend hours coloring and crafting out of the sun.

I met with Danny the night before we left and we chatted about the resort and our memorable experience. We are grateful that places like Traavasa Hana exist... We will be dreaming about our return next March.

Travaasa Hana has what really appeals to us - great people, interesting culture, emphasis on fitness, locally inspired cuisine, and above all, real heart.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirty-something72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha Thirty-Something72,

Thank you for such a great review of your stay, I’m very pleased you all had a great and memorable experience! It was a pleasure having that opportunity to sit and chat about your Travaasa experience, I look forward to hosting you and your ohana again in March.

Thank you for mentioning the wonderful services the Makana team provided during your stay, they are very knowledgeable in our Hawaiian culture and it’s always their pleasure to immerse you in our experience.

Travaasa Hana is a very unique experience and it was a pleasure to have shared that experience with you and your ohana.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Travaasa is at the end of the road to Hana, a trip that includes over 600 turns on a coastal road. The trip itself is often just a day for tourists on Maui but that's a mistake. Travaasa manages to be both high end and laid back in one breathtaking spot. Take a few days and make this your base of adventure in Maui. Away from the crowds, the psudo hippies and the rest, Hana is a heavenly place and Travaasa is the best hotel there. Arnelle in the Hana Dry Goods Store on the property is exceptionally helpful, Doug at the pool house is a wealth of information about the hikes and nature around the area and Kanai, the yoga instructor is terrific. DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE.

Room Tip: The restaurant, run by another company, is slow and has a limited menu. Better to grab food for brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha Elizabeth E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Travaasa Hana experience with our Tripadvisor readers. I am very pleased you had a very memorable experience. Thank you for mentioning the exceptional service Arnelle, Doug and Kanai provided you during your stay. I hope to have the pleasure of hosting your again in the near future.

Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed 4 nights during spring break. We are returning guests. The property is beautiful and the hotel staff is wonderful. But, beware...the food is less than desirable. I would expect, that when paying a modest nightly room fee, that the food would be above average. It's not. In fact, it's awful. Our first night, I ordered a $50 steak off of the menu. It was so tough that I couldn't even cut through it. After waiting over an hour for dinner, I was frustrated and sent back my meal. I was never given an option of another steak or an option of something else.

I was told that one of the long standing restaurants in Lahaina manages the food service for the hotel. I don't think "manages" is an accurate assessment. Neglected would be a better choice.

Throughout our stay, we continually had slow food service, and watched several guests experience the same. It's incomprehensible that the Travaasa corporate people haven't recognized the terrible dining. I assume some "bean counter" in a corner office could justify saving a buck from outsourcing the food-but in my opinion, this decision completely ruins the rest of the experience. And if you dine with children, don't expect a friendly menu-peanut butter and jelly is it.

I expressed my concerns with Danny, who was gracious enough to hear me out. He responded that "he doesn't manage the restaurant but is responsible for it." I'm not sure what that means? I can also say, that in my previous stay, and from dining here in the past during several day trips to Hana, the food has always been excellent.

One other item to note: we had some unruly guests next door who caused quite a ruckus during our first night. Danny stepped up to the plate and upgraded us to a direct ocean front room. This was the highlight of the trip.

The hotel is beautiful. The staff is wonderful. But, I can't justify a return visit with such a poor dining option.

I'm not the type to write a review, whether it's positive or negative. But, after "simmering" I felt my experience needs to be shared. For the sake of the other employees, I hope the food situation is fixed soon. I believe the solvency of the hotel depends on it.

Room Tip: Ask if you could be upgraded to room 215! Supposedly this is a "model" room that is what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ted64116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Aloha Ted64116,

I’m very disappointed that your entire dining experience was frustrating and not to your satisfaction. Please accept my apologies again.

Our food and beverage outlets are managed by one Hawaii’s most popular, respected and acclaimed restaurants in Hawaii, Longhi’s. Let me reassure you that I am working Longhi's to improve our food quality and service standards.

As per our conversation in my office, Travaasa Hana does not manage the day to day operations of our food and beverage outlets, but I am overall responsible in ensuring that Travaasa standards are maintained, which includes impeccable service standards and the very best quality of food and beverage we can offer our guests.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to our model room, but very disappointed to hear you won’t be staying with us again. If you ever have a change of heart, please give me a call and I’ll ensure your next stay will be your best.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frechen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

if you go to Maui and stay in Lahaina, you will want to see Hana for a day- don´t do it in one day- it is all stress. just go there and stay for one night in the Travaasa Hotel Hana- best in a Sea Ranch Cottage, with outside whirlpool- it´s perfect!

Room Tip: sea Ranch Cottages are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreaFrechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Aloha andreaFrechen,

Thank you for such a great review of your overnight stay with us! The road to Hana is such a beautiful and picturesque drive that you will ever experience. It’s almost impossible to see and appreciate all of Hana in a day trip. I’m very pleased you enjoyed our beautiful Sea Ranch Cottages.

Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and we look forward to hosting you again.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okatie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed in one of the cottages. It was very comfortable and roomy. The staff was cheerful and helpful. We were on the package that includes all meals and credits toward activities, including spa services. No tipping! The restaurant is run by an outside company and the staff there was not as good as the hotel, activities, and spa employees, but we had no complaints. The food got a little boring after 3 days, but was always pretty good. We would go back any time. It's not cheap, but is well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Aloha Alice R,

Thank you for sharing your Travaasa Hana experience! Our tipping policy allows our guests to enjoy their vacation without worry of constantly having to tip every employee they encounter throughout their stay. Please accept my apologies that your dining experience was not to the level of your satisfaction. I have shared your dining comments with our Food and Beverage team.

Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and we look forward to hosting you again.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
47.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
47.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
29.8 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Property: Travaasa Hana, Maui
Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing