We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last stop on our trip- perfect relaxing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

After driving the long and winding road to Hana (I got car sick) we arrived at the hotel where the staff were really kind and immediately gave me cold water.

We had an ocean view and the cottage was spacious and clean and well furnished. Fresh coffee beans, hot tub. lovely smelling toiletries.

I felt the food in the hotel was trying too hard to be trendy!

We liked the Ranch Restaurant just up the hill. They do really meaty burgers and good sandwiches.

Room Tip: Go for ocean view if you can. It is bit more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Aloha MOWO,

Thank you for that perfect review! I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our Sea Ranch Cottages. Our in room coffee is a one of a kind experience with your bag of locally roasted coffee beans and a coffee grinder, ahh nothing beats the smell of freshly ground coffee in the morning. On your next trip to Hana, try dried ginger, candied ginger, any ginger product will help alleviate your motion sickness.

Our burgers are made fresh daily from locally raised beef. The Wrangler burger is my personal favorite!

Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

For anyone who has longed for a trip to Hawai'i and hopes to discover the true meaning of Aloha, you will find it here. The people who love this land and have lived here for generations are astonishingly generous with their time, their joyfulness and in sharing their special paradise. I feel as though we were guests of honor in a kingdom of rare beauty and peace.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vashonsialnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Aloha vashonsialnd,

Thank you for such a beautiful review! I am part of that multi-generation team members and it is such pleasure to welcome all into our home. I’m very pleased you had such a great and memorable experience here at Travaasa Hana. Mahalo for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

lovely hotel, food is very expensive and not great,so, we went to The Ranch for dinner and it was great. Ranch is the same menu as at the Hotel but half the price and twice the portions. Standard room was fine for one night, not inexpensive. Clean and lovely setting would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debi221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Aloha debi221 and congratulations again! We are much honored that you chose to spend this special occasion with us.

The Ranch Restaurant is a great choice for that casual dining experience, while our Kauiki Restaurant is a more formal side of dining. Both restaurants are great choices and their prices are comparable to other resort restaurants on Maui, considering some of our locally caught or grown products are trucked four to five days a week from central Maui to Hana.

We hope to welcome you back on your anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at the Travaasa Hotel in Hana for 2 nights in a beach ranch room. Well worth the money to get the sea view. The road to Hana is twisty with single lane sections. It took 2 hours to complete the 40 mile drive. On arrival we were greeted with water and juice and a hot towel. The staff were always very friendly. We did not try any of the managed activities in the hotel or the spa, instead we went out of the hotel for hikes and to the sea. We did play tennis on the hotel courts which were very well kept. The staff were very good and while we had a couple of minor blips (breakfast item not ordered correctly) these were easily off-set by the otherwise exceptional service. In all it was a very relaxing 2 days.

Room Tip: go for a ranch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Aloha Richard W,

Thank you for such a great review! And thank you for recognizing the team members and the great job they do for our guests. We have some of the best hiking trails in town just below our Sea Ranch Cottages along the rugged coastline or our mountain trails, which lead to Hamoa Beach. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana and we look forward to hosting you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I drove the road to Hana by myself and was happy to arrive at the Hotel for the night. My room was standard not one of those beach front ones but very comfortable. I did not have dinner at the hotel as a single diner, eating in those large dinning rooms you stick out went into town.
Got up at 6:15 and walked down to the beach front so see the sun rise, it was amazing and then got lucky with a rainbow over the church.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, I do like the no tipping policy.
The only draw back was as I said I am single and at breakfast maybe an offering of a newspaper or magazine would have been a nice touch.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Aloha Patricia M,
I very pleased you enjoyed your one night stay with us. Hana has some of the best places to watch the sunrise, especially along the rugged coastline below our Sea Ranch Cottages.

Our no tipping policy is a big hit with our guests; you don’t have to worry about tipping Housekeeping, when the valet retrieves your car or when the bell attendant shuttles you around property.

Thank you for a great review and we look forward to having you back on property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The physical beauty and the spiritual peace of this property are amazing.
If you are looking for the "party hearty" crowd, go anywhere.
If you are looking to find yourself, come to Hana.
Many of the staff of this resort grew up on or near the property. They love this place as it should be loved, and they will lead you to love it too.

Room Tip: My room was ocean front, very near the water. If you love the sound of the surf, this room is a dre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogimn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Aloha Yogimn,

I couldn't have said it better myself, thank you! Its amazing what you can discover when you set foot on property, the noise and distractions stops and the peace and tranquility of this place embraces you. Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to having you back in peaceful Hana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just got back from this beautiful hotel in Hana. We were there for my husband's birthday and what a place to celebrate a special day. The hotel is SUPER CLEAN, beautiful, the view is breathtaking, the staff are wonderful, fantastic pool with an amazing view..... it's the kind of place you have to experience on your own to believe it. They even had fantastic smoothie day where they made DELICIOUS smoothies with fresh tropical fruits and vegetable.....yummm. They treat you like adults (ex: the pool is open 24hours). This is not a place to come with kids. Calm and peaceful. We can't wait to go back. Not to mention their comfortable beds and super soft sheets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Aloha Hermineh,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of your stay. Ruth does an excellent job at her juicing/smoothie class using our bike powered blender, with all the fruits and vegetables coming from right here on property or from a local organic farm. Travaasa Hana is a truly amazing place to spend time alone with that special someone! We look forward to hosting the both of you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
47 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
515 reviews
29.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
29.3 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,102 reviews
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: $539 - $878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing