We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Travaasa Hana. We stayed in a sea ranch cottage which is very comfortable and quiet. The pool is truly amazing. They employ mostly locals who have lived in Hana their whole lives and are very friendly and proud of their heritage. The restaurant is a bit below par but if you walk directly behind the resort you will find the most fantastic Thai food. Also the general store a quick walk to pick up a few things for the refrigerator in the room. The organic fruit stand is down the road, again within walking distance. The daily in room coffee is fresh ground local coffee. The daily activities are numerous and the spa service we received was phenomenal. If you are active person who likes a combination of activities and peaceful quiet beauty on vacation this is the perfect spot for you.

Room Tip: The views from the Sea Ranch Cottages are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rech1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Aloha Rech1313,
Thank you for such a great Tripadvisor review! The magic of Hana begins with its people who take great pride in their culture and history, which ultimately translates into Travaasa’s guest experience.
I apologize about your unfortunate dining experience; we have a fantastic chef who’s done a magnificent job since arriving here two months ago. I’m very pleased you were able to take advantage of our numerous guest activities on property and if you want to relax, there is no better place to do it than in Hana. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

The overall experience is probably as good as it gets in Hana, but is so far from what you will be used to if you are paying this much money to stay anywhere else. The service is hit or miss, the rooms can get hot at night, and the rooms are tired and need updating...not to mention you will hear other people and/or their kids at odd hours of the night. I don't regret staying here, because there were some redeeming qualities such as the activities and amenities that were offered as part of the stay, but I wouldn't stay here again when I return to Hana.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is not right on Hana Highway, as you will hear the cars passing at night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaileaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Aloha Wailea Don,

I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Being from the island of Maui, I’m sure you know that Hana’s location on the windward part of the island averages a comfortable 74 degrees year round temperature, but there are times when it tends to get a little warm. Fortunately, our rooms come with ceiling fans, numerous windows and screen doors to take full advantage of the tradewinds. We intentionally left televisions out of our rooms, so that our guests can enjoy the tranquility of Hana and the company of loved ones without the interruption of a television.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in a sea ranch cottage. The cottage was awesome and the grounds are beautiful! No TVs, radios or clocks in the rooms and you fall asleep listening to the ocean. The on site activities are a lot of fun. You MUST spend time with Andrew and Ulu in the activities center. They are both so kind and welcoming! We treated ourselves to massages and everyone at the spa was welcoming and made us feel very comfortable. The entire staff at this resort is incredible.

We found two downsides to being at this property; we didn't have a car and taking a bike on the Hana Highway was not an option for us, so we felt a little trapped. (We flew out in Mokukeke airline...great flight!!) Also, the food prices are really really steep. Breakfast was nothing to write home about even though it was extremely expensive. We finally bought some juice and pastries from the General Store and kept them in our fridge.

We ate at the Thai restaurant just behind the property - do not miss it. It is SO delicious and
inexpensive!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Aloha jb4455,
Thank you for such an outstanding review! The Sea Ranch Cottages are magical and mesmerizing with the most beautiful sunrise on the island with the waves crashing against the shoreline to lull you to sleep. Thank you for recognizing Andrew and Ulu for the wonderful job and experience they provide to all our guests. We do have a Enterprise Rental Car here on property, so the next time you decide to fly to Hana don’t forget to book a car as well. Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

No air conditioning. No TV in rooms. It's hot in Hawaii. That's why people go there. It becomes uncomfortable wherever you go. Exercise room has no AC!!..Dining room has no AC! Meal prices are high...$21.00 for an average hamburger. No place on the property to get a snack if the dining room is closed. Surroundings are beautiful. Staff are incredibly pleasant and helpful. Event coordinators (Hubert Aaron and Ms. Aina)are a pleasure to work with and bring great energy to their interactions with the guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Aloha Nathan K,
I’m sorry you weren't properly notified about our rooms not being equipped with air conditioning or television. We do our best to inform our guests about our rooms being without AC , television, clocks or radios through our website and Reservations Department. We will continue to improve upon our communication efforts about our rooms and its amenities. I hope you give an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was ready to book three nights at this hotel but was puzzled as to why the advertised starting rate of $350/night was not available on the reservation calendar for any day or month in October 2013 through October 2014. Instead, the calendar's rates start at $400 throughout. I called the reservation desk to inquire of this discrepancy and was first told that the reservation calendar's rates include 13.4167% tax and 18% gratuity on the $350, which doesn't add up. When I told the reservation clerk, she quickly made up another excuse, then another. I am disappointed enough with the website price deception that I just can't in good conscience book at this hotel now. I would caution others to question their practices.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank arlenejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Aloha Arlenejoe,

I would like to apologize about the confusion over the rate display on our website. The $350 starting rate you described is based on a one person stay. We have recently made changes to our website that the number of persons will now default to two, which will now give you the correct rate of $400 per night.

Again, I apologize for the confusion. If you have any questions regarding the matter, please feel free to contact me at hana@travaasa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is the place to go if you want a beautiful relaxing vacation. The staff bends over backwards to make your stay pleasant. There is a "no tipping" policy which removes a potential source of irritation. Accomodations are incredibly comfortable. Pool and beach facilities are great. There are interesting classes and activities every day.

The only thing that is less than perfect is the Restaurant. While the food is OK, the experience is not worth the high price charged. If you stay at Travaasa, I'd suggest having your meals at the Ranch House Restaurant. Less than half the cost, better food, and more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pay the extra amount for the Ocean Front cottages. They are worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Aloha MurrayL,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! I’m very pleased you were able to experience such a relaxing vacation. Great room tip, if you want to experience what Hawaii was 50 plus years ago, then our Sea Ranch Cottages is exactly the experience you are looking for. They are designed after the early 1900's Hawaiian sugar plantation homes, with sweeping views of the Pacific, Kaihalulu Bay and the Big Island of Hawaii.

We have two excellent dining options available here on property, Kauiki, which is more of a formal dining area and the Hana Ranch Restaurant more on the casual side of dining. Both are excellent restaurants, with magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The staff are by far one of this hotel's major assets! Andrew down by the pool was our favorite! He was the kindest and most helpful guy:) A true gem! We were fed delicious coconuts daily and a wealth of knowledge as well! The grounds are absolutely stunning, relaxing and quiet. My only irritation are the ridiculous prices at the restaurant! Absolutely unreasonable for dinner! Breakfast is still steep but delicious and I was willing to pay the price of a great meal. However our best dining experience was the Thai place across the field..AMAZING!!!! I look forward to returning! The flight into Hana from Kahului was also a huge bonus! Have drive the road many times and the flight not only decreased my nausea;) but was a stunningly beautiful treat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Aloha Lonaloo,
I couldn’t agree with you more on your assessment of the team members. Andrew and the rest of the team are truly authentic and love what they do.

Doing business in Hawaii can be expensive; doing business in a remote location, such as Hana has its added costs. For example, some of our food products from our local farmers and other vendors are trucked over the Hana Highway on a daily basis, which you can imagine be quite expensive. Even with our transportation challenges, our food prices are very comparable to most resorts on Maui.

The Mokulele flight to Hana is simply breathtaking! Aerial views of waterfalls, valleys and beaches not accessible by vehicle, You may catch a view of pods of whales during seasonal migration.

Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and look forward to your return

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
47 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
522 reviews
29.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,120 reviews
29.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: $540 - $888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing