We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation in Hana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Total relaxation in Hana”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Facing a very stressful business meeting in Oahu, I knew I would need some serious down time afterwards and friends suggested Maui. I didn't want to do the usual ritzy tourist hotels but wasnt sure where else to look. luckily I stumbled upon a new book about Georgia O'Keefe's travels in Hawaii and her stay in Hana in 1939. As a painter I was intrigued, so I began to explore and discovered Travaasa Hana, and immediately booked a 6 night stay in one of the sea ranch cottages. My goal was to get back into painting (which is difficult with my hectic job), totally disconnect from work, relax and enjoy some "me" time. It was exactly what I hoped for, and my only regret was that I didn't stay longer! Between time spent sketching and painting and visits to the spa, the days flew by.

As others have mentioned, the hotel staff is wonderfully warm and friendly. This includes the terrific folks who drive the carts, the friendly staff in the bar and the special therapists at the spa. I especially enjoyed the Thai massage and aquatic renewal sessions, plus the outdoor shower was delightful!

I stayed in cottage 509 - one of the spa suites. (Someone has posted a YouTube video of this one) It was lovely and open with an unimpeded view of the ocean and the pasture where the horses wandered by each morning. I had room to sketch on the lanai out of the sun, and enjoyed an evening ritual of a glass of wine in the hotub looking at the amazing starfield. (I recommend the Star Walk app for iPad or iPhone - you point the camera at the sky and it it labels all the stars and constellations you see. What seemed to be clouds amongst the stars was actually galaxies!) I left the doors open the whole time and loved listening to the waves crashing at night- or the rain.

I frequently ate in the bar (same menu as the restaurant) and the dinner menu changes nightly, but also ate at the Thai place behind the activity center and stocked up on some food at the Hana Ranch Store (which I thought had a much better selection than Hasegawa, especially for decent wine and cheeses.) Speaking of which, you can get quality wine there (e.g. Ferrari Carano or a bottle of Prosecco) but you will pay for the privilege. Room service delivery was prompt and the food was hot.

Housekeeping came by twice a day, including an evening turn down service and they were efficient and friendly.

To address the few complainers: are there imperfections? Yes, if you want to look for them. If you want the Ritz Carlton with polished perfection, then this is not the place for you. Although I understand they are doing a complete makeover of the sea cottages (the left half of the cottage complex was closed for renovations) you are still in the jungle.

I think I was the only solo traveller on property, but as others have mentioned, during the day you don't see that many folks about. But the guests included a full range of young couples, families and older couples. I took advantage of Mokulele Air and arrived in 20" from Kahalui. And WOW the view coming down the coastline was amazing.

All in all, it was an absolutely wonderful trip. I hated to leave and look forward to coming back one day. If I had one do-over, I might come earlier in the year, as August is hotter than I like. But even that couldn't spoil the pleasure of being there.

Room Tip: Sea cottages are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Mahalo for such a great review!! Hana has made such a memorable impact on numerous artists, writers, musicians and poets that some of them have made Hana their permanent home. I fly Mokulele at least twice a month myself and it’s a great alternative to getting into Hana with amazing views of dozens of waterfalls, coves, beaches and natural ocean arches you will not see driving the highway. I’ll pass along the good word to my father who operates the Hana Ranch Store about his wine and cheese selection. We look forward to your next Travaasa Hana experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    212
    89
    48
    31
See reviews for
222
718
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights and really loved the tranquility and uniqueness. The food was exceptional, as well. Innovative and local and very fresh. We took yoga classes and had wonderful hot stone massages both days. The accommodations are lovely, comfortable and very private. Neat place!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jeanbean10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Aloha! It sounds like you had an excellent girl’s getaway experience. We’re very pleased you enjoyed the yoga classes and massages, which is just a small part of our phenomenal activities schedule. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and we look forward to your next girl’s getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I love this place. Beautiful, serene, relaxing. A highlight for us was going net fishing with staff member and local Hawaiian Andrew Park Jr. He's a gem of a man, and was very patient and giving to us and our children. Net fishing is surprisingly complex. Andrew is a master, and we were soon (under his tutelage) casting into the sea from a black sand beach as locals cheered encouragement. A really wonderful day. He has really "made" our experience to this idyllic section of Maui.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for recognizing Andrew and the job that he does so well and his willingness to share his passion of the ocean and knowledge of our Hawaiian culture with all of our guests. I’ve shared your comments with all of our team members and Andrew sends his thanks! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was very lucky this year that I chose to stay in this hotel, honestly I don't know were to begin. The service is simply excellent, everyone is eager and happy to help you, escort you in any way they can. The rooms are big (not huge) and they have a big bathroom. Always very clean and in a very good position the hotel is ideal for relaxing and escaping from everything (as the whole island). It also offers a great (but expensive a little bit) spa, a pool and activities for children and adults (which are great). So If you have the money to give it certainly worth it even for 3 days (as we went).

Room Tip: I would recommend the garden view suite for families because the pool and the activities center is c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Aloha and a correction to your statement, It is we who were lucky to have been given the opportunity to host you at Travaasa Hotel Hana. We’re very delighted your stay was a pleasant one. Our Spa has always been recognized as one of the top spas in Hawaii and from the sound of it, your experience will attest that accolade. Mahalo for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I've never had a worse service experience in my life. A hotel staff member took it upon herself to tell my 7 year old twin girls that children just like them had been taken to the Red Sand Beach and were killed in a horrific accident. Apparently, there was an accident there in 2012 that resulted in a lawsuit which resulted in the inability for anyone at the hotel to provide directions to the area -- which I get. But this unsolicited 'advisory' was completely uncalled for and resulted in two little girls that were upset all morning. As for the property itself, it's no 5 star hotel. I'm used to staying in Four Seasons, Fairmonts and W's and Travaasa isn't in their universe. Paying $700 a night and not having Air Conditioning when it's 85 degrees outside disqualified them in my book. The bed was hard. The grounds aren't anything to write home about. The furniture in the lobby looks like it's from a 1950s bank lobby (and not in a cool post-modern way). The one worthwhile investment is the restaurant -- the seafood risotto was some of the best I've ever had and the breakfast was out of this world. So, if you feel compelled to check it out - go for the food but don't waste your money on a room and certainly avoid their hotel staff at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Haley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawai'i
Level Contributor
331 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was so happy we finally got a chance to stay here about 5 years ago when it was known as the Hotel Hana Maui.

LOBBY:
Open-air and tropical setting. We arrived around 8pm so we got registered immediately.

ROOM:
Sea ranch cottage - Definitely do spend the extra $ and grab one of these gems! You don't want to be stuck in the motel-like looking rooms by the road once you see them. The decor is very similar to the overwater bungalows in French Polynesia. There is no air conditioning, my only gripe about the place, but there is a very powerful ceiling fan above the bed which was great. There is no TV which was perfectly fine with me. Unfortunately we didn't get the cottage with the hot tub but it wasn't a big deal because we had fun at the pool at night. Not that kind of fun, mind you! In place of our non-existent hot tub was a spacious lanai towards the back of the cottage with great views of the other cottages and the Pacific.

PARKING:
Not too sure where the main lot is, but there was a tiny lot close by right next to the cottages.

POOL:
Simple rectangular pool great for swimming laps or lounging. Its the surrounding views that are awesome - coconut trees, mountain, ocean, and lush greenery.

BEACH:
There really isn't a much of a sandy beach near the hotel. Even if there was, the water is pretty rough. There is a red sand beach nearby but I think you are trespassing on private land if you access it. Your best bet is to head to Hana Bay where there is a big sandy beach, picnic tables, takeout food counter and restrooms. Very relaxing place to be and the locals are super friendly.

SPA:
Beautiful and simple boutique-style spa. I received THE deepest massage in my life from a male therapist. Yikes! He was awesome but will never do a heavy treatment like that again. They have a gorgeous over-sized outdoor hot tub, and outdoor relaxation area overlooking lush gardens.

RESTAURANT:
Beautiful high ceilings and great views of the gardens and ocean. We had dinner here but I can't remember what I had, sorry! I remember the prices being high though. Because we didn't want to spend a ridiculous amount on breakfast and lunch, we headed across the street to the Ranch Store which has a takeout window and sit-down restaurant.

OVERALL:
I love it here. Being a local, its a great place for a staycation. For the tourist, its the ultimate tropical paradise getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for such a fantastic review! It’s great to see our Kama’aina experiencing Travaasa Hana, which says a lot about Hana when you currently live on beautiful Maui, yet will come to Travaasa Hana to get away from it all. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next staycation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have fallen in love with Hana but especially this hotel. The staff are some of the friendliest I have met. My wife and I went out exploring and got some great tips from the concierge and the bell staff. Venus pools were a great place to hang out.
The food was great I love that on the menu it tells you the name of the local fisherman who caught the fish that they are serving. We learned how to open a coconut and we drank the water plus ate the flesh. Andrew taught us about the age of the coconut and the differences in the flesh inside.
Loved it going to have to take a longer trip here next time.

Room Tip: Sea Ranch Cottage area is for adults only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmj1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Aloha!

Falling in love with Hana and Travaasa Hotel is not hard to do; in fact quite a few past guests have made Hana their permanent home. Andrew and the rest of our Cultural team are extremely knowledgeable in the rich history of Hana and our Hawaiian culture. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hana experience. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
47.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
452 reviews
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
29.8 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Property: Travaasa Hana, Maui
Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing