We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to come back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have fallen in love with Hana but especially this hotel. The staff are some of the friendliest I have met. My wife and I went out exploring and got some great tips from the concierge and the bell staff. Venus pools were a great place to hang out.
The food was great I love that on the menu it tells you the name of the local fisherman who caught the fish that they are serving. We learned how to open a coconut and we drank the water plus ate the flesh. Andrew taught us about the age of the coconut and the differences in the flesh inside.
Loved it going to have to take a longer trip here next time.

Room Tip: Sea Ranch Cottage area is for adults only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmj1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Aloha!

Falling in love with Hana and Travaasa Hotel is not hard to do; in fact quite a few past guests have made Hana their permanent home. Andrew and the rest of our Cultural team are extremely knowledgeable in the rich history of Hana and our Hawaiian culture. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hana experience. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is the place to go to really get away from it all!! No TV, no Air, no Radio! You will not miss it. My wife and I stayed at Travaasa for two nights, should have stayed at least five!! We stayed in a cottage and had two huge rooms, large deck overlooking the ocean, with a sunken hot tub in the deck. Large tub in the bath with a walk-in shower.
Even the main pool and hot tub is open 24 hours. No getting run off at 10:00pm like most places!!! Major plus! It is vert quiet and you will not be disturbed.
The ENTIRE STAFF is the best anywhere and we stay at five star resorts all over the world. The food there is fantastic.
Do not miss out on Travaasa! We can't say enough. We will be back.

Room Tip: We had a cottage and it was fantastic. Great ocean view and the breeze is wonderful. Please try the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARcmbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Aloha!

You are absolutely correct; two days is too short of a time to enjoy the sites, sounds, cultural experiences of Hana and with no outside distractions to keep you from enjoying what matters most, each other. Thank you for recognizing our team and their work in making all of our guest dreams come true. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 nights here in a sea cottage late in July 2013. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the grounds were perfectly cared for, the activities well planned and enjoyable. The views, from everywhere on the property, were breathtaking.
We had drinks and appetizers in the lounge two nights for our dinners while they had local musicians entertain us. Wonderful!
The restaurant, which we ate in one night, was very expensive but very good. All the flavors went together extremely well.
The cottage had plenty of room to sit, sleep, and just hang out. Very nice bathroom with shower, toilet, soaking tub, sink, and dresser for our clothes. Breakfast area had coffee maker, coffee grinder and coffee beans, a refrigerator, sink and table. Also a safe for valuables. Its deck had a hot tub, 2 chairs and a table - wonderful sitting out there in the morning watching the sun come up. It was very pleasant hearing the roar of the ocean while we slept.Very soothing.
The pool, our daily afternoon activity, was great. Most of the time there were only a few people there and was perfect just to wade in and look out over the grounds to the ocean - on a clear day we could see the big island. The poolside bar was nice too.
The concierge personnel were great, always giving detailed info that we needed. Front desk personnel were always helpful and quite pleasant.
Its hard to leave a place like this but life has to go on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimijoe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Aloha!

I’m very delighted our staff was able to make your stay a very memorable and enjoyable experience. Our Sea Ranch Cottages are truly a one of a kind experience, where you can watch the most beautiful sunrise and moonrise on the island, and having the Big Island as your back drop at the pool is pretty awesome. If you feel you need a break from it all again, we welcome the opportunity to have you back. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent four nights (our entire stay in Maui) at Travaasa. This is a good place to come for total relaxation. We got the all-inclusive package, which I would recommend. There are a couple lunch places in Hana (Prahnee's Thai Food is the best!) but for breakfast and dinner, the hotel is pretty much the only option. And the a la carte menu is expensive so it was nice not to worry about food bills. Plus, we used our daily resort credits to get daily massages and it is very freeing to never have to tip. The resort is low-key and rustic. It is not 5-star super luxurious with all the modern conveniences, so if that is what you have to have, this property is probably not for you. Its appeal is in its isolation and in disconnecting - to escape and experience Maui's nature. Our days went like this: woke up with the sun every morning (beautiful views of the sunrise on the eastern coast), went to yoga, went swimming at Hamoa Beach, had a massage. We left feeling rested and rejuvenated.

Lastly, the people of Hana are the best! The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We enjoyed chatting with our servers Kea and Kevin. The bellmen were great, particularly Gabriel. I don't know if it's a Hana thing, a Maui thing, or a Hawaii thing, but the openness and hospitality of everyone are what will stay with us the most!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Sea Ranch Cottage, which was spacious and private. They do not have A/C, but the bree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADSGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Aloha and Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana! Wow, talk about an ideal daily schedule that would make most vacationers envious. Glad you were able to leave Hana rested and rejuvenated, sounds like we accomplished our mission!
The openness and hospitality you described, It’s definitely a Hana thing, you will never come across a more local and authentic bunch of individuals! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We are New Zealanders, and a great Kiwi holiday for us consists of a "Bach" by the beach (a simple cabin). For us, there is novelty value in staying in a big resort like you will find in Ka'anapali - but a real holiday is no TV, no shopping mall, no bustle. It's waking to the sound of birds, eating local and passing the time by playing board games in the sun.
If that all sounds like what you're after you can do no better than Travaasa. The charm is both Hana itself (half the adventure is getting there) but also the laid back staff, who instantly take you to the space I have described.
We woke early, and beat the crowds to Waimoko Falls (a two hour walk - take plenty of water), then met the Travaasa van at Hamoa Bay where we had a fantastic picnic delivered to us. It was a truly wonderful and memorable day.
It's a little pricey, but worth it - especially if you'd like to break up the trip to Hana to enjoy over two or three days.
The only thing that made us sorry was having to leave!

Room Tip: Decide if you want a sea cottage - the is a short walk to the amenities if you do - but the advantag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashtalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Aloha! Sounds like you experienced what many of our previous guests discovered during their stay, and that is once Hana gets a hold of you, you have no choice but to dial it down, relax and enjoy the beauty of the surrounding area. Author James Michener called Hamoa Beach “the most beautiful in the Pacific”. We hope to welcome you back in the future and mahalo for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and unfortunately it was only for one night, not the whole trip. This place is amazing and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The extras - yoga, boot camp and Pilates were great too. I love this place. The room was fantastic and the grounds are beautiful.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EP_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Aloha and congratulations on your marriage. It is an honor that you chose Travaasa Hana to spend such a special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back on your first anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed three nights in a Sea Ranch Cottage. Everything was perfect. It's pure bliss. Probably the most romantic and relaxing three days we've spent in ages. Before booking, I read all the negative reviews here (as I always do). None of them rang true during our stay. The service was perfect, the cottage was well maintained and clean and very private with mesmerizing views, the food in the restaurant was amaze (I really liked the fact that not only was it tasty, but that calories were included). Also, the fact that the Sea Ranch Cottage section is adults-only means that you can relax at the pool and really relax. As others have noted, there are no TVs in the rooms, no clocks. That was one of the best parts. And Hana is still Hana... quiet, off the grid, beautiful. We drove into Hana and flew out from the local airport. One thing I would like to see is a better and bigger fitness room, but the resort is undergoing further renovation under the new owners and I'm hoping they'll upgrade it.

Room Tip: Even if you stay just one night, treat yourself to an ocean front Sea Ranch Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Aloha and Mahalo for such a wonderful review of your stay. I’m delighted you had such an exciting and memorable experience. Thank for pointing out what Travaasa Hana celebrates and that is no televisions, clocks or internet in our rooms, which leaves you to discover the tranquility of Hana and reconnecting with loved ones and family.
The Kauiki and Hana Ranch Restaurants has long been a place that always provided great food, great service and a wonderful atmosphere. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
29.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
47 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
29.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
47.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: $534 - $877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing