We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive R&R&R (Rest, Relaxation and Romantic)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The drive to Hana is spectacular but tiring to do as a round trip in a single day. So we decided to stay at the Travaasa Hotel Hana overnight to relax and enjoy Hana as a destination. We knew of the great reputation that the Hana Hotel has always had as an exclusive getaway, but now we know why so many people recommend it. We booked a Sea Ranch Cottage room on the adults-only side of the resort property. We were so happy with our decision. The ambience was of total relaxing elegance. The room was large and comfortable, and the bed was very comfy. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful when you needed them, but they seemed to go out of their way to leave you alone which was wonderful. It added to the total feeling of exclusivity - and it gave us privacy to enjoy the stay the way we wanted to enjoy it. The views from the room's large lanai and the pool were wonderful. The breezes were soothing day and night in the open-air rooms. Because there are no air conditioners here, it was quiet. Very quiet. Birds singing, breezes and the sounds of the waves crashing on the dramatic shoreline was the sound track for our stay. This resort is on a large chunk of tropical property and has large views, but it's not large in guest count - I think I heard the total guest count max would be 160 people. But everyone was in their own little private exclusive world, so it just felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. It was pure R&R...and doing nothing but relaxing was bliss. And romantic...very romantic.

Dinner was also great on the veranda of their hotel restaurant. We had the Super Moon to light up our night when we dined, which added to the ambiance of our dinner. The local Hana chef created an amazingly tasty set of choices. My Mahi-Mahi dish was just fantastic. The service was super friendly and attentive. Dining here was another special time to connect....and it was romantic. Very romantic.

We also enjoyed massages at the spa which were well worth the splurge. The outdoor showers were like waterfalls which were refreshing and invigorating.

If you want to get away from the world for a relaxing private experience, this is the place. You will absolutely get a lot of R&R&R here at the Hotel Hana.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Mahalo for the great review! We’re very happy that you enjoyed our beautiful Sea Ranch Cottages, Kauiki Restaurant and Spa. You are exactly right, Hana has always been a place to getaway from it all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

It was a great little vacation within our vacation when we decided to break up our trip on the road to Hana and stay the night. We didnt want to leave this beautiful place! It is somewhere you will probably see on the travel channel in the top 10 getaways. The staff was excellent and friendly!! We go to Maui every few years and will be going back again!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MushL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

The journey on the Hana Highway is just part of the great experience that awaits you at Travaasa Hotel Hana. The staff and myself would like to thank you for making us part of your vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Travaasa Hana is in a unique location and seemed to have what we were looking for, an alternative to the big Hawaii hotel experience. At the far end the Hana highway we were looking forward to beautiful exotic location and an upscale hotel that promised service and quality. We got half way there.

Staff - Most of the staff here were full of the spirit of aloha, very helpful and cheerful and a joy to interact with. The young woman who checked us in at night and Ben, one of the other staff members were terrific...the concierge Dawn however literally started to Google "surf lessons on Maui" when I inquired about them, and then asked me to write down any of the phone numbers that looked good to me - shouldn't she have a bit more local knowledge? She was also pretty unhelpful even with the resorts own events and services...she was not sure what was happening when or even if it was available on the days I was looking for it.

Location - this place is certainly off the beaten track, and the grounds are beautiful - had it not been raining much of our stay we would have seen and enjoyed much more of them. Hana is self is on the wetterside of the island. The drive is tricky but not terrible and the views of the mountains and jungle are amazing.

Hamoa Beach - This is a lovely spot, and Koki beach around the corner was also nice...but beach service at Hamoa was very disappointing - chairs are all rusty, dirty, broken and heaped in a pile, and they didn't have a single towel for about two hours. There is also no drinking water there (they will pack a lunch for you though) and the bathrooms that are for the hotel guests are nothing to be proud of. The pictures make it look like a great spot with umbrellas and nice chairs - the hotel does not seem to support the team here when the photographers aren't around however - the gentleman running it was begging them to bring towels down at 11am and the state of the facilities show how little they've invested in it.

Food - the restaurant might be award winning, but breakfast didn't make them look like a good bet...their "seasonal fruit" dish for $12 was a bowl of melon, watermelon, grapes, blueberrys and a strawberry all nice, until you consider that across the street the stands are selling mangos, pineapple, bananas, guava and papaya for about a buck a piece...bloody mary's were very good though.

Rooms - this obviously is often the most important. No matter the weather, no matter how your day went, if you can retreat to serenity...what does it matter. To echo a review I read but didn't heed before I booked...these rooms are very very tired. Scuffs and scratches all over the walls, stained bedspread, and broken electrical outlets.

Overall, with rates on the island what they are and the hotel's location what it is, i expected more for the rate we payed. It is certainly not a "luxury hotel" as the books make it seem, not with the state the rooms are in or the way the amenities exist currently. With a major refurbishment it might be a great property to revisit but for the time being I'd suggest staying on the other side of the island, rather than find your self only half way satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank M80ALLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Aloha, we're pleased the unique location of our resort and landscaping was to your satisfaction. Our cottages are replicas of the plantation era style homes that once dotted the Hawaiian Islands. Most of our cottages are located near or on the ocean's edge, which is breathtaking, but their proximity to the ocean can have an adverse effect on any structure. The concerns you pointed out will be addressed this summer with our room upgrades, which will consist of new furniture, bathroom upgrades, new linens, paint, etc. I hope that you return in the future to experience the new higher end product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have travelled all over the world, and there are beautiful and wonderful places to go. However, all the money in the world and the best locations can't always bring about a soul depth rest and peace. This place provides both.

It is not the perfect place, but there are none of those. This is an authentically great experience, one long forgotten.

Do realize that you are billed for gratuities and fees up front, a great thing because you don't have to worry about that while you are there. Many persons serve your every need upon request and you are paying for it. I tipped someone for carrying my luggage and forgot I had already paid for that. I wish the person had said something, but then again, he may have thought he had done an extra good job. That was the one slip and I have to take responsibility for initiating it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Mahalo for your comments. We're delighted that you were able to enjoy one of the most beautiful places in Hawaii, which has been long known as a place to find peace, relaxation and to "recharge" oneself. We look forward to your next Hana visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This place was great. The view from our jr garden suite was awesome. Room was large and had a shower and separate tub. There are horses on the grounds that were friendly. The pics of the horses grazing with the beach and rocks behind them are beautiful. We spent one night and wish we had one more night here. Dining room was expensive but there aren't many options in Hana. There are 2 small stores right near the hotel for basic snacks and toiletries.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 81ames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Mahalo for a fantastic review! Happy to hear you were able to spend time with our horses, they are quite sociable. One day is definitely not enough time to experience the magic of Hana. We look forward to welcoming you back on your extended stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were at Hana for 4 nights in late May and we loved the peacefulness of serenity of this place. It is a very quiet place Hana but is the old Hawaii and you get entrenched in its be beauty.

I have NO idea what some people reviewed as staff as pretentious.. What planet are they on!!! The staff treated us like family and were wonderful.

Me & Lucy will go back one day as it is a special place for us and in our hearts.

Love to Patrick & Hoku especially :-)

Room Tip: Get a Sea Ranch cottage near the ocean...it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Aloha and Mahalo for making Travaasa Hotel Hana a part of your Hawaiian experience. We're very pleased that you were able to enjoy the beauty and tranquility that Heavenly Hana has to offer. We have a multi-generation staff, including myself that embody the aloha spirit, who are happy to make you and other guest's feel part of our ohana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Paia Inn, five nights at the Four Seasons in Waileia & three nights at Travasa Hana. It was here that we felt like we truly got to take in the essence of Hawaii. We were treated like family. We stayed in one of the sea cottages with a hot tub on the deck. This place is like glorified camp. Lots to see & do on an amazing piece of real estate. Its hard to beat the vista of the amazing coastline & ocean from your deck. At night, the sky awaits you with a dazzling show of stars. To fall asleep & wake to the sound of crashing waves gave us the true feeling of escape. The dining room is expensive but relative to location & entrees being served. We enjoyed the many local places to eat around the area. Know what kind of traveler you are & what you value in your vacation experience. If your more about experiences & location than fancy public space & lots of staff waiting on you, then Travasa Hana is the place for you. We hope to have the opportunity to take our three sons here sometime.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 3sonsrgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana Hotel. I'm very pleased you were able to enjoy the property and experience what Hana has to offer. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
47.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
494 reviews
29.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,243 reviews
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
29.8 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: $527 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing