We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essence of Maui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Paia Inn, five nights at the Four Seasons in Waileia & three nights at Travasa Hana. It was here that we felt like we truly got to take in the essence of Hawaii. We were treated like family. We stayed in one of the sea cottages with a hot tub on the deck. This place is like glorified camp. Lots to see & do on an amazing piece of real estate. Its hard to beat the vista of the amazing coastline & ocean from your deck. At night, the sky awaits you with a dazzling show of stars. To fall asleep & wake to the sound of crashing waves gave us the true feeling of escape. The dining room is expensive but relative to location & entrees being served. We enjoyed the many local places to eat around the area. Know what kind of traveler you are & what you value in your vacation experience. If your more about experiences & location than fancy public space & lots of staff waiting on you, then Travasa Hana is the place for you. We hope to have the opportunity to take our three sons here sometime.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 3sonsrgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana Hotel. I'm very pleased you were able to enjoy the property and experience what Hana has to offer. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were at Travaasa one night, and one night was enough. Although it was very beautiful, clean and a little piece of paradise we felt the staff was pretentious. We had one small complaint and they seemed to take it personally. When we walked around no one even said hello. They might have been trying to give people their privacy, but it felt rude and cold. I felt very uncomfortable the rest of the time. Hana is a beautiful place and is a definite location you must visit if you go to Maui.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leemers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thanks for staying with us! I am glad that you were able to experience our ‘piece of paradise’ in East Maui! Offering exceptional customer service while maintaining guests’ privacy is often a ‘balancing act’. If you have read previous Trip Advisor responses, however, you will see that the friendliness of our staff is one of the primary reasons that our guests return time and again. In your case, it seems that we may have missed the mark, and I sincerely apologize. I hope that you will consider a return visit and give us another chance.
With warm aloha,
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. To begin with, the restaurant was terrific. All meals were excellent and the wait staff only added to the pleasure of the food(and wine). All staff at the hotel are well trained and will assist you with any help you require. While there, we enjoyed the hour long horse ride on hotel property along the ocean. In addition, my wife and I enjoyed the hot rock massage and she also had a facial. Everyone associated with the spa was very professional. We stayed in a Sea Cottage facing the ocean. The view was terrific. The cottages do show their age but we were told they are planning to begin renovations later this year. And finally, the drive to Hana is hard to describe but is a grand part of the entire trip.

Room Tip: The Sea Cottages are worth the extra dollars for the serenity and view they provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cchtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thanks for writing and or making Travaasa Hana part of your Maui vacation. It sounds like your favorable impressions of dining, spa and your Coastal Horseback ride might warrant a return trip?
Hope to see you in the very near future!
With aloha,
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at Travaasa for a friend's wedding. We were in Garden View room #11. I assumed we would not have views of the ocean, but I was pleasantly surprised to have a lanae that looked out over a beautifully manicured lawn and onto the ocean. Quite lovely. When we checked in we were greeted by friendly staff, cool towels, and fresh juice. Then we recevied a tour of the grounds (by golf cart). Our room wasn't anything to get terribly excited about, but the bed was comfortable, and the views were spectacular. I took a yoga class the next morning and was impressed. We were there such a short time, we weren't able to take advantage of the pool or other ammenities, but they all seemed high quality. The staff was excellent and so friendly.

I had read previous reviews expressing disappointment with the restaurant, and we had a similar experience. It took us 35 minutes just to get our drinks (we ordered orange juice and a mimosa) and the food itself was overpriced and uninspired. The waiter was kind enough to comp our drinks because they took so long to arrive.

Overall, I wish we could have stayed at least two nights to be able to enjoy more of the resort ammenities. We would stay at the Travassa again. However, we would avoid the restaurant and eat at the cheaper and tastier roadside food locals in Hana.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay in the Garden View suites, ask to see a map of the grounds first. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exlisstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for writing! We are in the process of addressing your concerns regarding our food and beverage operations. Thank you for your honest feedback.
On a positive note, I’m glad that you were able to enjoy some of our activities during your short visit. As you mentioned a longer stay, on a future visit, will allow you the opportunity to experience more of what Travaasa Hana has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.
A hui hou (until then….),
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The beaches were to picture perfect. We are going back. Mr Blue was great to us and so was Pat. Everyone is loving and really care about you!We are making Hana a place we can stay to really get away. Everything we ate was fresh and made with love.It was food from heaven. You will have to try the coconut sryup with the bannanas and pancakes. Wonderful in the morning with one of the finest cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuskey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thanks for writing! I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing like gearing up for your day, with the breakfast items that you mention. Pancakes with coconut syrup on the lanai at our Kauikiki Dining Room = Heaven! Please come back to see us again soon!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We got married here a few years ago and We have been back here twice and look forward to many more times. It is the most amazing place on Earth!! We love the whole experience!!
This place is a way to have the time of your life with the one you love! I can't Wait to be back!

Room Tip: The Ranch Cottages are my favorite with a Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cjlovestb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Mahalo for spending your recent anniversary with us. We are always delighted when couples return to Hana to create memories. Travaasa Hana is proud to have been selected as TravelAge West Editor's Pick: Best Resort for Couples, Hawaii.
Thanks for writing, and we will see you again soon!

Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked the Travaasa looking to find a quite place to relax and reconnect as a couple. The hotel property is unique and rustic and nicely provides a large area of rooms where children are not allowed. The adult pool and room area helps to keep the noise to a minimum. There are no TV's in the room, which we liked. The resort experience isn't cheap and I advise you to pay very close attention to the actual costs as opposed to what is featured on the website. We had a surprise on our bill that the hotel customer service folks weren't willing to address with us at first. After a bit of discussion, the hotel owner himself came in and made everything right, which we greatly appreciated. We will be back when we next need to unplug and unwind.

P.S. AT&T cell service is pretty good at the property.

P.P.S., there is a wonderful hidden secret beach about 10 minutes walk along a coastline trail from the resort. We didn't find it until the last day. We wished we knew about it before. Be advised that the beach does appear to be informally clothing option - which just adds to the experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mokulua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Mahalo for visiting! It is especially nice to hear from our Kamaaina guests! I’m glad to learn that your bill was resolved to your satisfaction, and I apologize for any inconvenience. It sounds like you were able to embrace our seasonal ‘adults only’ experience. Thanks for your positive comments.
A hui hou,
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
29.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
47 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
29.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
47.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: $538 - $884 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing