We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Remove the Family, Lose The Magic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Travaasa Hana, Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Remove the Family, Lose The Magic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel Hana Maui WAS a five star family experience. What the new owners are doing is taking away one of the greatest family places and turning it into a joke and putting a huge price tag on it. Give me a break, "net fishing" and "two step lessons" - no ultra rich fool cares about that. Stop putting a price tag on something and try and turn it into a cold "four seasons" experience. Hana is about family - even the name Hana means "beloved home or house", although I bet Travaasa has never looked that up yet.

I hope the new owners fail and the treasure goes back into a family that cares about the town and people of Hana first and the family visitors as well.

As a kid I was lucky enough to ride the horses, surf the waves, etc. I got married on Hamoa Beach. I played soccer with the locals and go to their pot luck fundraisers. I'm sure Travaasa hasn't put this in the brochure because, God Forbid, a child steps near their ocean suites.

The cows that used to roam those fields wouldn't let kids in either. But at least, they were protecting the Hana way of life, not the fake spa and nurture facilities... You're turning this into a Hollywood re-hab center with the B.S.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha JimS
I am sorry to hear that our property did not meet your expectations. As you can see from the hundreds of positive reviews we strongly feel that we offer a unique boutique hotel experience at a great value. I have personally spoken to hundreds of delighted guests that commented very favorably on our amenities, the beautiful setting and warm service of our staff. Although we were not able to meet your standards during your visit we truly hope that you enjoyed your vacation and visit to the beautiful island of Maui.
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    184
    72
    46
    31
See reviews for
178
600
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed five nights in one of their cottages with an ocean view. It was large, private, clean, and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good, and the grounds were beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved watching the waves crash on boulders along the shore. There were a few minor problems with the cottage (nonfunctioning vent fan in the bathroom, low-wattage light bulbs that made reading a challenge at night). We really liked their no-tipping policy. We would stay there again if it weren't for the 3-hour, narrow, winding road from the airport at Kahului. The plus side of this drive was that there weren't many people in this part of Maui, making driving tours once we got to Hana a lot more pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKMtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha – Mahalo for your post. Our recent partnership with Mokulele Airlines now gives our guests an option to fly to Hana. Rental cars will be available for day excursions. Perhaps you can give that a try on your next visit?
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

When u contemplate staying at the Travaasa Hana you are also biting off the "road to Hana". We did the full circle with its hairpin turns requiring a horn honk since the road and bridges can be totally blind which add to the experience, a bit laborious, and unbeknownst to us we were out of compliance with our rental car contract. We were celebrating our 4th anniversay and they graciously sent a bottle of Sparkling wine and a loaf of banana bread to go with our delicious coffee in the am. Since, we are "I Prefer" members they upgraded us to an OV cottage for our two night stay, which by the way was the perfect length of stay. The panaramic view of the grounds and ocean was gorgeous. The sea view cottage was clean, serene and rustically simple but hasn't changed since my husband was their several years ago. The garden cottages across the street are a LONG way from the ocean. The Spa which has been rated the "best in Hawaii" was not. We chose to dine early and take advantage of the ocean vistas and really enjoyed taking in the live local Hawaiin music by "CJ". The seafood was fresh and the local grass fed beef was delicious. I highly recommend this trek once!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay less than ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barefoot12GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L D, Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Aloha Sandy C.
Mahalo (thank you) for visiting Travaasa Hana, and for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted that our facilities, staff and especially our entertainment and culinary offerings exceeded your expectations, and will be sure to share your positive comments with our staff and management team.
It would be my pleasure to personally assist you with any future inquiries.
I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Hana in the very near future.
A hui hou (until then).

Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was one of the finest hotels I have stayed in. With a staff that was excellent and the perfect spot to get away from it all. The ocean front room were out of this world and watching the horses i the morning grazing with the ocean in the background spectacular. Love Love Love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lgal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L D, Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Aloha Igal45,
Mahalo (thank you) for visiting Travaasa Hana, and for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted that our facilities and staff exceeded your expectations, and will be sure to share your positive comments with our staff and management team.
It would be my pleasure to personally assist you with any future inquiries.
I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Hana in the very near future. A hui hou (until then).
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed Dec10-17 2012 in pricey sea ranch cottage. Location,pools,grounds beautiful, however placed us in a cottage way at the back overlooking a field, ocean view only if you leaned out and craned your neck. They moved us to a better view room yet the blinds were broken, towels dirty and coffee maker took 20 minutes to clean out, Yuk. Asked to move again, this time got amazing view and clean room. Staff were great about it all. The only issue we had was with the waitress in the Paniolo Lounge. She needs to be fired. We arrived to eat about 45 minutes before closing. She asked us to eat in the main dining room since they had the same menu. The dining room is cavernous,we'd be the only 2 in there so we wanted to stay in her Lounge with the other patrons. Her eyes rolled and took our order. She spent the whole time with her boyfriend who was waiting for her to get off work, he sat a table near the bar. We had to beg for coffee, dessert menu and the bill. She just wanted us out of there. The boyfriend we met the next day, he runs the Travaasa beach facility at Hamoa beach, she was visiting him while he tried to do his job there. It's not the only place to stay in Hana so I would not stay again for the $$$ charged and they need to know about that staff in the Lounge, shame on her.

Room Tip: If you pay for a sea ranch cottage, get the ocean "front" rooms, the ocean "view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 958ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha – Thank you for writing! We are in the process of addressing your concerns regarding our guest room product and are planning a complete room renovation at the end of this month. As you pointed out the hotel has a great overall feel with the openness of the lobby breathtaking pool and beautiful grounds. We are committed to improving all guest amenities and hopefully will be able to welcome you again in the future.
Danny Mynar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Completely agree with Craig's review. He hit it spot on. Love the grounds and zen, dining is good food and lovely views. Accommodations and service are mediocre at best. Friendly, just not the level of service a hotel with these rates call for. The Sea Cottages are dates but clean. Very 'old Hawaiian' style. No one is over eager to provide service but always willing. Kind folks, just Hana speed.

Room Tip: I wouldn't hesitate to try the standard garden rooms, as the sea cottages did nothing for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmjarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha – Thank you for writing! We are in the process of addressing your concerns regarding our guest room product a complete room renovation at the end of this month. As you pointed out the hotel has a great overall feel with the openness of the lobby and the beautiful grounds. We are committed to improving all guest amenities and hopefully will be able to welcome you again in the future.
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place was remarkable. We were blessed to stay in the ocean view cottage with its own outdoor whirlpool. You could literally be naked the entire time without any worries of being seen.

Some highlights: no television in our guest rooms. This really adds to the intimacy of the place. They have a library that is full of fun games and great books. My girlfriend and I played battleship, had great conversation and great wine into the night.

The yoga room. Its something out of a movie. If you practice yoga, bring your mat as it was open the entire time while there [though, i am sure they have them].

I highly recommend staying more than just one night, as we felt like three nights would have been perfect.

Make sure to stop at the local general shop, or better yet, bring wine, champagne, OJ, cheese and other snacks from a Safeway on the other side of island. There is a refrigerator in the room to keep your things cold.

The only sub par experience was the service at the fine dining restaurant. Our server was nice, but was poor when it came to the all of the important little things, such as bringing spoons with your coffee, forgetting knives when the steak came etc.

If you want a romantic getaway that is based on having time for conversation, and the fun and memories you create, it does not get much better.

Aloha

Room Tip: Spend the little extra to stay in your very own cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVidaAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I am so glad that you are able to get so much out of your brief stay with us. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of some of our programming options! Thank you for taking the time to write and I will look forward to welcoming you back to Travaasa Hana again soon (hopefully for more than one night)!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
46.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 321 reviews
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
29.8 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Property: Travaasa Hana, Maui
Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing