We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly Hana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Heavenly Hana”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This place was remarkable. We were blessed to stay in the ocean view cottage with its own outdoor whirlpool. You could literally be naked the entire time without any worries of being seen.

Some highlights: no television in our guest rooms. This really adds to the intimacy of the place. They have a library that is full of fun games and great books. My girlfriend and I played battleship, had great conversation and great wine into the night.

The yoga room. Its something out of a movie. If you practice yoga, bring your mat as it was open the entire time while there [though, i am sure they have them].

I highly recommend staying more than just one night, as we felt like three nights would have been perfect.

Make sure to stop at the local general shop, or better yet, bring wine, champagne, OJ, cheese and other snacks from a Safeway on the other side of island. There is a refrigerator in the room to keep your things cold.

The only sub par experience was the service at the fine dining restaurant. Our server was nice, but was poor when it came to the all of the important little things, such as bringing spoons with your coffee, forgetting knives when the steak came etc.

If you want a romantic getaway that is based on having time for conversation, and the fun and memories you create, it does not get much better.

Aloha

Room Tip: Spend the little extra to stay in your very own cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuraVidaAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I am so glad that you are able to get so much out of your brief stay with us. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of some of our programming options! Thank you for taking the time to write and I will look forward to welcoming you back to Travaasa Hana again soon (hopefully for more than one night)!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    212
    88
    48
    33
See reviews for
218
705
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice location after the drive but we must have set our expectations too high. Most of this was due to the service staff being polite but not attentive or truly service oriented. Nice layout and certainly authentic, vintage Hawaiian.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha – Thank you for writing. I’m glad that you enjoyed the ambiance and authentic Hawaiian aspects of our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a perfect retreat. Service was outstanding. Everyone was friendly. Bellman/valet are helpful in whatever you need. Infinity pool and hot tub are great for post hike relaxation. Large bar in the room and plenty of sitting areas in the cottage make for a great time. Will be going back very soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha - Thank you for writing! I’m so glad to hear that Travaasa Hana was just as special as you hoped, and that you were able to experience a peaceful, restorative stay. I can’t wait to welcome you back again soon!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

For those who may be visitiing Hana for more than one day, you may want to check out the Travaasa Spa. We were staying at the Hana Kai Maui Resort for four nights and I decided to get a facial at the Travaasa hotel spa (formerly Hotel Hana) and it was one of the best spa experience I have had. The spa facility is located below the Hana Coast Gallery and the hotel's main lobby. I was expecting to just get a facial but when I made the appointment I was told I could arrive early to take advantage of the steam room and outdoor jacuzzi. The Spa gift shop is where you check in. I arrived about 45 minutes early. Under the new management, it seems they have dedicated large rooms for their facials and massages. All nicely appointed rooms and a key given to you for your assigned locker in the dressing room. Comfy robes and rubber slippers were given to wear. There were instructions to spend 5-6 minutes in the steam room, then take a plunge in an outddoor cold water soaking tub (one person capacity) and then repeat the process again before stepping into the outdoor lava rock jacquzzi which has a lovely view of Hana bay. Another couple was getting out of the jacuzzi because they said it was too hot for them and they could only stay in for a few minutes. I believe the hot and cold immersion before acclimated my body because I thought the water was perfect. I just wished I had more time than five minutes but my facial was next.

Liza gave the best facial I've had. She is a long term resident of Hana of 30 years and really is an expert in what she does. The potions that were used are all organic and smelled wonderfully. She gave shoulder, arm and hand massage that was so relaxing. This was so rewarding especially after a hike to Waimoku Falls that afternoon. The whole experience was incredible and this will be on my things to do list the next time I'm in Hana. Mahalo!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank p0rt0bell0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I am so glad that you are able to get so much out of your spa experience. Thank you for taking the time to write and I will look forward to welcoming you back to Travaasa Hana again soon, hopefully as a hotel guest!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and this was the perfect hotel to choose. It is a little expensive, but I don't regret spending the money. The staff made us feel like we were the only ones there. They handled our every need and then some. The location is beautiful. We would definitely go back there however it will probably take us some time to save up enough money to do so. If you want an unforgettable honeymoon this is the place.

Room Tip: There are rooms called "sea cottages" and a handful have private hot tubs on your deck. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Aloha David V.,
Congratulations and mahalo (thank you) for visiting Travaasa Hana, and for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that our facilities and staff exceeded your expectations, and will be sure to share your positive comments with our staff and management team. I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Hana in the very near future.
A hui hou (until then),

Danny Mynar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We recently stayed two nights in a Garden cottage. This was our last accommodation in Maui after staying in four other locations and we had thought we were saving the best for last. While Hana was stunning, the Travaasa Hana was overpriced. Our cottage, while roomy, was not particularly clean and in need of renovation. When I peeled back the bed cover, there were all manner of stains which made me uncomfortable - at some point these things need washing or replacing. The floor had sticky bits and the door frames were muddy. I washed the tub before use as I wasn't sure if the yellow stains were filth or age. For an expensive hotel, this was not my expectation. While shampoo and conditioner were provided, no coral friendly lotion was offered which given the spa services associated with the hotel was surprising.

This said the staff were very pleasant. They do provide a warm greeting with fresh juice a leis. There was an invitation to a reception. Fresh banana bread. Coffee beans and some nice teas in the room, (but we had to ask for cream). Were these services worth the premium ... Not in our case.

I would certainly go to Hana again, but would look for other accommodations. Frankly, the bed and breakfast, Moonlight Gardens, we had stayed in the night before in Kula had been so wonderful I would seek out another such gem in Hana.

I should note that Dinner options in Hana seem to be limited to the hotel restaurant with excellent food (we tried all the appetizers), but pricey; and the Hana Ranch (now owned by Travaasa) across the street which was good (at least the BBQ ribs were good). There are many wonderful breakfast and lunch options in Hana.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Aloha CatherineK.,
Mahalo (thank you) for visiting Travaasa Hana, and for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor.
I wanted to let you know that we are currently in the beginning phase of room renovations and will have a small allotment of fully renovated rooms available in late 2013. As we need to balance this project with guests currently staying at the property we are pacing renovations building by building. At the same time we are fully committed to maintaining the cleanliness and maintenance of all rooms and I have advised our maintenance team to take your room out of order as soon as possible to address any immediate issues. We expect to have a fully updated room product available prior to your next trip to Hana and look forward to sharing it with you then.
We are in the process of addressing your concerns regarding our restaurant operations and will have a favorable resolution to the items that you mention before your next visit.
Despite the minor issues you have shared, I hope you still experienced quality customer service and had an enjoyable overall stay. Should you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to let me know. In the meantime, it would be my pleasure to personally assist you with any future inquiries.
With warm aloha,

Danny Mynar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We didn't have the pleasure of staying at Travaasa on our visit to Hana shortly before Christmas, but based on our experience enjoying drinks in the lounge there, we'll stay there if we return to Hana. All the staff we encountered were full of genuine aloha. Some of the waiters even double as entertainers in the lounge, which really gives visitors a special and authentic Hawaiian experience: when we were there, the very talented Kimo sang and played ukulele while local guests got up and beautifully danced hula. One of the managers, Michele, even shared a hula that night! I hope Travaasa realizes how unique and valuable their staff in Hana are because they are the heart and soul of the resort.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L D, Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Aloha from your neighbor island of Maui!
Thank you for visiting Travaasa Hana, and for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you were able to stop by the Paniolo Lounge and, while there, that you enjoyed the local entertainment.
It is especially good to hear from an island resident, and, hopefully, you will be able to stay with us for a night (or more) on your next visit to Maui.
Mahala Nui Loa for your input, and please let me know if I can be of assistance on your next island-hop.
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
47.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
428 reviews
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
47.2 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
29.8 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Property: Travaasa Hana, Maui
Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing