We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heavenly Hana Inn
Nearby Hotels
$525
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$357
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$549
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$544
$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$575
$529
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$335
$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$471
$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$177
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui(Wailea)
$559
$479
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
8
1
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
1
1
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 12 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2006

This bed and breakfast is anything but Heavenly; it is a cold and clammy dark hole. The innkeepers are complete snobs and very unfriendly, making you feel as welcome as a rodent. The place is a fake Japanese feng shwag nightmare. The owners list about 100 rules and regulations making you feel like you are walking on eggshells. I have not felt this way since catholic boarding school; meanwhile I was on my honeymoon. There was not enough hot water for one bath, let alone two. Being on my honeymoon, it would have been nice to at least bathe. If you plan to get a good nights sleep, think again its not going to happen. The bed is like a pile of hard bricks. Basically it is an old futon on a cold wooden platform that is hard to climb even for a teenager. The only thing the room has to offer is a sightseeing guide giving a local's view of the best places to explore in Hana. Although, this printout is the only thing that is worth anything, it’s definitely not worth $300, but at the end it’s all I could take to feel satisfied. Instead of gifting this guide out which would cost about 30 cents per copy they strongly advice guests not to steal it. Its safe to say I would rather sleep in my car next time and bathe in the ocean.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
32  Thank binkydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2005

Staying at Heavenly Hana Inn is like discovering a hidden Japanese teahouse and gingerly melding yourself into the beautiful setting. It is definitely not for everyone. It can feel like you’re at your strict aunt’s house. But for us, it was definitely worth it. The details that went into the room and the garden are quite immaculate. If you want the serene, hidden Eden experience, this is it.

Town of Hana is a very small, country town that is the opposite of the other areas of Maui where condos and big hotels are the norm. This Inn is a perfect reflection of it. Small, quiet, and private. You can sit in the big bath at night with all the windows open listening to the wind in the leaves. From our ocean facing room (not beach front, just view) you can see the greenery melding into the ocean. Walking around in the grounds before dinner was a meditative treat. With dozens of fruit trees and well manicured lawn, you feel like you’re strolling in your own country estate.

I would definitely go back to this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Beckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2005

This Japanese inspired Inn is beautiful and it's obvious the owners take great time and thought into caring for their property. They have a knack for paying attention to little details, fresh flowers, cloth napkins, fragrant shampoos and lotions. It is immaculately clean, and tastefully decorated.

Like the previous reviewers, we were a bit disturbed by the tone of their 7 page "welcome letter" that mainly outlined the rules and regulations in UNDERLINED CAPITAL LETTERS. We shrugged it off by thinking perhaps they had had severe trouble with previous guests & just wanted to prevent future problems. I honestly don't think they have any idea their letter comes across as an unpleasant scolding before you arrive. I resisted the urge to anonymously rewrite it for them in more gracious terms.

The Inn is located about a mile before entering the town of Hana. The atmosphere is perfect for those who don't mind not being on the beach. It lends itself to meditation. It is absolutely perfect for the right type of traveler. Very zen yin yangish is how I would best describe it.

We wouldn't choose to stay again, although nothing was "wrong", we simply just couldn't get comfortable. There isn't a kitchen area at all, and taking all meals out can get tiresome when you just want to snack on nuts or something yet the RULES prohibit it. They do offer breakfast which we heard was delicious.

We stayed in suite Ichi (#1) which consisted of three dark rooms. You entered the unit from the outside by walking directly into the bathroom (which was quite luxurious) however, another bathroom door led to the small TV room, and yet another bathroom door led to the bedroom. This meant there were 3 entrances to the bathroom, so, if you are squeamish about privacy while perched on the potty (talk about wiping the mystery out of romance) it can be quite disconcerting.

The closet had only three hangers to those prone to overpacking, but there is a nice dresser inside with several drawers. We slept soundly in the bed. The TV room (which has a small hidden fridge FOR BEVERAGES ONLY) is furnished with two wooden semi-reclining chairs with padding. Warning: If you are a TV person, this may cause you some distress as it's difficult to get relaxed. There are no windows in this room, and it's somewhat claustrophibic...but in reality, why would you want to be boxed up watching TV when surrounded by exotic places to explore? That's my innervoice rationalizing.

To end, let me say this Inn is far superior to several we visited where friends were staying. It is beautiful, it just needs to find its niche with the right travelers. We were just misplaced, not disappointed in their efforts.

Aloha

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank packs-too-much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2005

I agree with the previous reviewer from Chicago. The grounds are beautiful and the room was extremely well furnished and comfortable. But the language and tone of the rules and regulations were indeed bordering on scolding, and the staff were stuck up and unplesant. We had forgotten what time breakfast was, had no reminder, and they showed displeasure that we were late. Also the bathroom smelt bad (maybe there's a drainage problem??), and the hot water was slow, inadequate and unreliable. In the middle of my shower, the water turned cold suddenly. For nearly $300 a night, you would have expected much better. Nonetheless we had a peaceful stay, and learned much about the history and geography of Hana from the neighbor next door.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Reefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago,Illinois
114
Reviewed March 7, 2005

The place is immaculate!! and quite lovely.

Read the list of rules before you book. Not that we minded them....but the tone is very overbearing and they scare you into thinking you are going to do anything and be sent out.

The inn keepers are not the friendliest. One of them did not speak one word to us the whole time we were there even though she prepared breakfast for us...Which was delicious by the way.

We did not get the sense that they really enjoyed having us there. It was more of a chore not something they really enjoyed. I wish I would have known this in advance and would have stayed elsewhere. Usually B&Bs are wonderful.
The rooms are very dark and you could not read at night without a flashlight. One was supplied but that was not enough for us. It was so dark in the rooms that it was difficult to see our clothing that was in the closet. If you want total serenity, dim rooms and want to simply be alone, this is the place for you. If you want more, stay elsewhere.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews