We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better!”
Review of Hamoa Bay Bungalow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hamoa Bay Bungalow
Ranked #4 of 9 Hana B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Could not have been better!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stumbled upon this marvelous property and are so glad we did! It felt like we had our own little "island" of serenity on Maui all to ourselves. We had all the conveniences 1 could ask for. We loved being able to gather mangos and avocados. We took full advantage of the outdoor shower and the beautiful porch giving us a view of the Big Island. Having a full kitchen made preparing local offerings an added benefit. If we ever get back to Maui, and I bet we will, we will return. It truly is the best experience we have ever had!

Room Tip: You get the entire Treetop Bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LillieMarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I second everyone else's praise of this place. We stayed in 4 different places during this Hawaiian trip and this bungalow by far was the most beautiful and relaxing. Every little touch comes together beautifully - fresh flowers, a great view, the seclusion, the outdoor shower or indoor tub. I wish I were still there, to be honest. I'm trying to balance this with something less glowing so you don't think it's a fake review...Hamoa Bay is a bit farther than I'd expected and we had to walk along the current detour of the main road. Took us 15 minutes, not 10. The open-air room below the bungalow allowed the mosquitos to munch on me while I was in the hammock, but I was too lazy to spray myself. Also I discovered I don't like the smell of overripe breadfruit. And that's all I can come up with for negatives, ha ha! The rest is golden. It would be a perfect honeymoon spot if you don't mind the road there.

BTW, if you are wondering about driving the road south back to civilization, we managed it in a rental Malibu, not known for its 4WD capabilities. We checked the road condition first, cause there's a spot where you cross a dry stream. If it weren't dry, our Malibu would've not made it I suspect. The road is dirt and narrow in places but not rutted or impassible by any means. And the remoteness when it finally opens up is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoviki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hamoa Bay Bungalow for three nights on our honeymoon. It was our absolute favorite place we stayed on any island we visited. All three mornings we walked the 10 minutes to Hamoa Beach and watched a glorious sunrise. The tub on the lanai is amazing, and the landscaping makes you feel like you are in your own private jungle. There is no more romantic spot near or in Hana if you ask us. Hanging out under the bungalow in the really cool space created there was fun.
We love this place so much that we are spending our first (and hopefully all) anniversary there. If it ever comes up for sale we would buy it. That's how much we love it:)

Room Tip: Theres only one, you cant go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamGilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed in Hamoa Bay House in April with my boyfriend. What a most amazing and beautiful place. We wanted a place that was quiet and peaceful where we would be left alone and away from the hustle and bustle of Maui. We chose well. We spent the most wonderful and relaxing 4 nights and would have loved to stay longer if we could. We adored the town of Hana as it was a very relaxed feel. So much to do in the area, we hiked up to the falls, swam in the ocean, attended the Taro festival and enjoyed the Lava Tube. The best part was all the homemade banana bread we consumed. We will be back, thank you for the experience.
Mahalo,
Alana and Colin

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a memorable experience at Hamoa Bay! I love the location; it is so secluded in beautiful Hana. I absolutely loved waking up to the sound of the ocean everyday and watching the beautiful sunrises. Even though the owners are not on site, they were available via phone anytime we needed them (at one point we did call due to not being able to access the internet). The bungalow is perfect for those wanting to get away. We loved the outdoor shower and the shower on the screened porch! We loved playing board games each evening. We also so appreciated the beach gear offered! We took the paddleboards and snorkel gear with us everyday to the beach. We even went for a run each morning and made friends with the farm dogs located way down the street (they enjoyed the daily runs, too=)). Homoa Bay in Hana is one of the most memorable locations I have ever stayed; it was beautiful and offered so many outdoor experiences (from beaches to hiking to watching the sun rise. We even loved all the fresh stands, such as Hana Farms). I would love to come back here one day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in three locations on Maui and this was our favorite. Hamoa bay is two separate properties, the bungalow and the house. We stayed in the house and it was soo nice. It had a real Zen feel. We loved the outdoor shower, the big comfy bed, nice big kitchen and all the space. The screened in porch is a room off the front of the house with beautiful views. There's a lot of farm land in Hana, and you can hear the nearby cows at times. The house is two miles from town. We loved staying in Hana because it gave us time to see all the sights at a leisurely pace, and ahead of the crowds. We were able to do the drive to Hana later than most tourists too, so no rushing, plenty of parking at stops along the way. There's a shared washer and dryer that guests can use. Kitchen has some condiments. Laundry soap provided. Nice cd collection and some books and games. It didn't rain at all while we were there. Loved hamoa bay too, we swam there everyday. Stop at one of the two stores in town. Lots of fresh fruit stands in the area. Very laid back feel. We hope to get back there someday and highly recommend this place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank whitefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in Hana last year and wanted a place closer to the water. This place wasn't as close as we would have liked, but it was so wonderful and perfect that we were sort of happy being in our own little jungle paradise. We stayed in the house which was big, open, airy, beautiful views out every window, equipped with everything we needed. The garden had a variety of fruit trees, a nice lawn, and the cows were grazing in nearby fields making for an interesting soundscape. We were there in early May and there were no bugs to speak of and the geckos were mostly hiding. I can recommend this place very highly if you want quiet, beauty, peace, tranquility, comfort...just don't plan on walking to the beach with all your gear.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
6.1 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
25.0 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,135 reviews
25.6 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
18.9 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
516 reviews
25.0 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamoa Bay Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamoa Bay Bungalow

Property: Hamoa Bay Bungalow
Address: P.O. Box 773, Hana, Maui, HI 96713-0773
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hamoa Bay Bungalow Hotel Hana
Hamoa Bay Bungalow Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing