We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ekena
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hana
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hale Ho'omana(Makawao)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paia Inn(Paia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Sprecks Plantation House(Spreckelsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
56
8
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjasmine suitewrap around deckgrand roomexcellent hostessthe kitchenthe lower levelstayed nightsbanana breadroad to hanagreat roomupstairs unitwasher and dryerperfect hostsfruit standwe've stayedbeach towelsboogie boards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 67 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

If someone asked where they should stay in Hana, we would recommend Ekena in a heartbeat. I think that Hana (and the road to it) was the best part of our amazing trip to Maui, and staying at Ekena played a major role. It has everything and more we would want from a home away from home (in paradise yet). Our only regret is that we did not stay longer. Thank you Robin & Gaylord for sharing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurenZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

If we ever return to Maui, we will definitely stay at Ekena. The accommodations were beautiful, the hosts were helpful but unobtrusive, and the view was celestial. Robin and Gaylord truly have a little slice of heaven on earth, and they are incredibly generous to share it with the rest of us.

Room Tip: We stayed in Jasmine, but I can't imagine that any of the rooms are less than wonderful.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were looking for a quiet, beautiful place to have our wedding/honeymoon and found even more at our stay in Ekena! The scenery was beyond compare, Hana was the quiet beach location we were looking for and Jasmine house was the perfect place!
The property was in a perfect location and was very spacious for the two of us. It was very clean and had all the comforts and necessities of home. Best of all was the help from Robin and Gaylord! They were very helpful in helping us in last minute wedding preparations and had information and instructions we found very useful for finding out of the way beach locations and things to do. They were very considerate in respecting our privacy so we could celebrate our honeymoon.
We cannot say enough good things about Ekena, we can say we can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were referred to Ekena by my sister and her husband who were guests there this past January. (They said they enjoyed the home so much that they almost didn't want to leave to go explore the beauties of Hana). Upon our arrival we were greeted with a warm "Aloha" by Robin (one of the managers) who took us inside Ekena and familiarized us with the house. It was immaculately clean and everything was in perfect condition. In the past we have stayed in rental properties where the pots and pans were old, scratched up and had no matching lids...but not here! They were all new and had lids to match and were stacked nicely in the cabinets. The dishes and silverware were new and the appliances all worked perfectly (and there were even a set of wine glasses)! The beds were very comfortable and the showers & tub were luxurious after a long day out hiking, swimming and exploring "Heavenly Hana". The panoramic view of the ocean from this home on the hill was breathtaking! We enjoyed our mornings eating fresh Papayas, Pineapple, Bananas, Guava & Passion Fruit out on the covered balcony. The tropical breeze was so refreshing as we enjoyed the view in the morning and also at sunset. This is a home that is peaceful and tranquil. We highly recommend Ekena to anyone who is searching for a vacation home to relax, rejuvenate and refresh your spirit! Hana is a place to experience what traditional Hawaii is all about. No commercialism, no high-rise hotels, not much concrete at all! Our two young adult children enjoyed spending their afternoons at Hamoa Beach (one of the most beautiful beaches in all of Hawaii) and we all took a picnic lunch to many of the other sights to see in the Hana area (Wianapanapa State Park which includes water caves, Black Sand Beach and the Blow Hole; Ka'eleku Caverns (Lava Tube); Haleakala National Park; Pools of O'heo (O'heo Gulch); Waimoku Falls; Kipahula; Hana Coast Art Gallery; & Hana Bay). Also one of the extra ammenities of Ekena were the use of large luxurious beach towels & mats and several boogie boards and beach chairs. The infamous "Road to Hana" was challenging but absolutely worth the trip! Waterfalls and Rainforests surround you along with breathtaking views of the Maui Coastline! What are you waiting for???

Room Tip: This is not a resort and there is no pool, hot tub or fitness center. It is a beautiful home to relax and enjoy your visit to Hana, Our whole family savored every moment of our stay at Ekena!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nursimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This place is spectacular the moment you approach it. Ekena sits high on a hill in the clouds with an unbeatable view. If you like 10:30 curfew-definitely the place for you. Tons of rules and post its. Even if you follow all the rules and appreciate the property--the moment you make some noise, expect robin to be checking on you. There are a lot of caveats. Having people over for dinner? No problem until the landlord walks in and tells you to wrap it up immediately. If you like to take yourself very seriously and your vacation consists of post its, rigid plans and silence--in a rustic setting at a resort price -- this is the ultimate place for you. I just wish the website accurately depicted all of this upfront before booking-- instead of a laid back hana home. (Just trying to accurately place the consumer with the seller.)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank allysf415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

When feedback from our guests is constructive and honest, we appreciate their opinions and consider what we can do to improve our guests’ experience. We realize that it is an important ingredient to running a successful vacation rental. Sadly, this was not the case with these guests. They did have a bad experience and it was also incredibly stressful and uncomfortable for us. They booked our home and paid for four guests (we have a published 4 person max) and showed up with six. When we addressed the issue with them, they assured us that the extra people were only there for dinner. As the night went on and on, it was clear there was no intention for the 2 extra unpaid guests to leave. This left us in a very awkward and uncomfortable position. We do have set policies that are consistent with the other rentals in the area. These policies are on our website and a reminder goes out in our confirmation emails. Because we always want guests to be happy with their stay, we are very upfront with occupancy details. We trust that informed guests will rent a place appropriate to their needs. If they had only told us what they needed upfront, we would have been more than happy to refer them to other accommodations that would have worked perfectly for them.

These guests chose to leave the next day. Though we were under no obligation to do so, we made the decision to refund them for their unused night and they seemed grateful at the time. Given the circumstances, it was incredibly disheartening for us to learn that they posted this misleading and inaccurate review.

We work hard to provide our guests with excellent accommodations and despite a bump in the road now and then, we continue to love Hana and our business. Please feel free to call us if you have specific concerns, requests or questions regarding this review or our accommodations.
Mahalo,
Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews