We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh the view...but there are a few issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ekena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ekena
Ranked #4 of 9 Hana B&B and Inns
Kansas
Level Contributor
287 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Oh the view...but there are a few issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Really hard to write this review for me. This place has SO much potential. The view from the deck alone (ocean in front of you, mountains to one side, rain forest to the other) makes the stay worth it. We stayed upstairs in the Jasmine part of the house. The house is laid out very nice. There are 2 large bedrooms with a bath, a nice TV/living room with a ½ bath, a dining area, a big living room with a great view, a full kitchen and a laundry. OK, with this view and this house, what could be wrong? Just a few things. #1: the place is outdated. All the kitchen furnishings, and washer/dryer reminded me of my parent’s house from the 60’s. The rest of the interior could use a little love too. Issue #2 is the ants. We were overrun twice by ants in the kitchen. The caretakers are on the property and couldn’t be nicer. I really liked this place but with a little TLC, it could be the best place ever! Not sure if I would go back or try somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ben17a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isetorp, Manager at Ekena, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Aloha and thank you for expressing your feelings about your recent stay at Ekena. The opinions of our guests matter to us as we want people to love their time here and in Hana. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed the magnificent panoramic view of hills and ocean and that you liked the layout of this spacious home. Just for clarification, your family stayed in the Sea Breeze home, which is the upper floor. Jasmine is the main floor home. I am sorry that you felt the place is out-dated. We have replaced many things over the years, although there are certainly more things on the to do list. You were actually the first guests to use the brand new energy star refrigerator/freezer that the owner just purchased last month. The dishwasher is only a couple of years old and the microwave is about a year old. The range and oven are original. The dryer is just a few years old and the washing machine is original. It has been so repair and rust free that I have seen no reason to replace it for a newer model that may not hold up nearly as well. We have also replaced some furniture, flooring, TV's, window coverings, and much more over the years. We are always trying to keep things as nice as we possibly can. I do wish that you had told me about the problem you had with ants. We spoke daily as you and your family went out for your daily adventures and you never mentioned ants. If I had known there was a problem, I could have taken care of it immediately. The great thing about having a caretaker onsite is that we can take care of these things right away for you. That is why I am here. I hope that as you look back over your memories of the trip, the comfort, spaciousness, peacefulness, and the magnificent views will be what you remember about your stay here. We enjoyed meeting all of you and would be very happy to have you return. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us, Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed at Ekena for four nights in April. The stay was everything we expected. The place was clean, quiet and had a spectacular view along with Wifi. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was large and functional. Washing facilities were available.There are two levels available for rent and our party of four had the upper level. My understanding is that only one level is rented at any given time. Robyn and Gaylord live in the building but were by no means intrusive. I could go on and on about the place but would only be repeating the positive remarks of other reviewers. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ComfortWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We've stayed here twice. The view is breathtaking and the house was even nicer this time, with some updates to the interior decor and fresh flowers on arrival. We love the stunning view and local charm. It's paradise! This time my husband and I took my parents. We had a great time and it was perfect for two couples! We stayed on the top floor of the house, which we LOVE!! We've stayed in multiple rental houses and a condo in the Hana area and this is our favorite! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Garden of Eden, Shangri-la…enough can’t be said about the beauty of Ekena. From the website and reviews, we knew it would be beautiful and wonderful, and it was, in every way. Words cannot adequately describe, however, the spectacular view and the sense of peace and quiet and tranquility there. The well-tended flowers and trees on the vast property alone give a feeling of a tropical paradise, but when we looked out the wall of sliding glass doors and stepped out on the wrap-around deck, the view was simply breath-taking: sky and ocean, and an abundance of more flowers and trees.

We and two good friends traveling with us stayed in Jasmine for three days, February 5-7, and loved it. This spacious lower level of the house is absolutely lovely, with well-appointed comfortable furnishings and a beautiful, well-equipped kitchen. Jasmine’s two master bedrooms with baths are at opposite ends, so there is always privacy and no noise for two couples. We appreciated that there were no window coverings except in the bedrooms and bathrooms. From the kitchen windows we could see flowers and bamboo trees, and from the living room, the panoramic view of sky and ocean and a tropical paradise. Note that the house is not rented to more than one party at a time; thus both levels are not occupied at the same time, guaranteeing privacy and peace. We cooked in most of the time and appreciated that the kitchen was well-stocked with everything we needed. Friends who had stayed at Ekena a couple of months earlier and recommended it to us had said we should bring charcoal for the bbq grill, which we did, but found that there was some already there.

We found the privacy and serenity of Ekena to be amazing. We welcomed Robin and Gaylord’s gracious hospitality, and frankly were pleased that they were next door in case we had any questions or any problems. They had provided a list of suggestions on what to do and see in the Hana area, which we found helpful. Like Robin and Gaylord, we also have two dogs and two cats, and we found Razz and Riley and the kitties to be delightful and very well-behaved. Razz especially was welcoming and quite charming, happy to have a pat. We understand the reasons behind the house rules, though – no giving nibbles to the pets, and no letting them inside the house – and we complied. Razz, we apologize!

Robin and Gaylord were warm and wonderful hosts. They responded quickly each time we contacted them with questions before our arrival, and we had looked forward to meeting them. We thoroughly enjoyed our very brief visits with them at Ekena. Never once did we feel that they intruded on our privacy. Instead we felt that their gracious hospitality and knowledge of the Hana area, and even the occasional visit of Razz (the other furry critters pretty much kept to themselves) all added to the magic of Ekena. It really is a magical place, and we recommend it whole-heartedly. We hope we can return someday. Mahalo, Robin and Gaylord. Aloha!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy_Bob_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Lake, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed in the downstairs portion of the house and fortunately no one was upstairs. The care takers do live in the other side of the house, but it wasn't weird. Robyn was super nice and helpful. The downstairs was large, open floor plan with an awesome deck for views. I read other reviews where people called this a B&B, it is not a B&B it is a house rental. They provide a few things but don't pull out all the stops. Overall it's a very nice spot but beware you may be sharing the property with who ever is renting above or below you and the care takers will for sure be there. If you want total privacy, this isn't the spot for you. Oh, also, there are pets (2 dogs 1 cat), who we totally loved and Razz (the dog) would walk with us, they've been in this place though so if you have pet allergies... Loved Razz the dog though it was fun to have a dog hanging out with us while we were on vacation:)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thermos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We arrived from "The Road to Hana" adventure a couple hours earlier that our 3 PM check-in time due to the rain which limited our out-of-car experiences. Robin welcomed us with a friendly greeting and indicated our place was ready. For the next few hours, my wife and I sat on the deck soaking up an incredible view. With the 150 degree oceanview and the lush mountainside vegetation, we couldn't get enough. Perhaps, the "no visitor" policy stems from abuse of a great room and view that invites a party. (Another Hana B & B owner experienced a similar situation.) Although we were aware of the need to bring food supplies to Hana, we didn't anticipate the number 4 rated "B&B and Inns" would not have coffee or a continental breakfast. Also, only hand soap was provided. We would agree with a previous review that cited a need for curtains on the parking lot side of the house. Being owners of a house in the tropics, we are well aware of the constant need for maintenance (e.g.deck doors did not lock.) Ekena is showing its age.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. This place is beautiful, breathtaking. We were in awe when we saw the floor-to-ceiling windows and doors that all opened to the most gorgeous and lush view. We loved having a glass of wine and watching the rain fall from our lanai. A hammock hung there would be wonderful!
Ekena was one of two places we stayed in Hana. We do have a couple of aspects that would make us probably not choose to stay there again. One is privacy. There really isn't any. The caretaker lives next door and is always around; we felt sort of like we were celebrating our anniversary with our mom and dad. Second, there are no blinds to pull at night. While none are needed on most windows, one on the kitchen window that faces the parking lot and where the caretaker is often wandering around would be nice. We didn't feel like the place was really "ours" while we stayed there. We felt like we had to keep our voices low and couldn't really relax and take it all in. We were also given a small pamphlet to read "at our leisure." We excitedly took it out to the lanai to read and found that it was basically a rule book; such as "no visitors allowed." They did also have a piece of paper on the counter listing local sites which was nice. We saw that another reviewer described the caretaker as "brusque." We have to say that we agree. While she is perfectly polite it does seem a bit forced and her parting words to us were a semi-nasty comment regarding tourists; we drove away with a "hmmm" feeling.
It is truly a beautiful place and nice as an option given that there are not a ton of places to stay in Hana, but not entirely for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank life_love_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isetorp, Manager at Ekena, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to review us. We certainly do appreciate your 4 star rating and are always happy to see guests’ faces when they walk in and see that incredible view open up in front of them. We are sorry that you felt that the house was not as private as you hoped it would be. I could list the many ways that we are one of the most private homes in Hana, but the bottom line is you did not feel that while you were here, and I am sorry that you were disappointed with any aspect of the property. Your stay was very brief so I must have been very busy the one day that you were here. Fortunately, I know that your gorgeous ocean view across the front of the house was not interrupted since no one can walk on that side of the house as the land drops off steeply just below the balcony. I am sorry if you felt I was anything but welcoming. I actually remember that, amongst other things, we briefly talked about the beautiful part of Idaho that you live in. It is always my goal to have happy guests that leave here feeling thrilled with their choice of accommodations and looking forward to coming back. Your last comment about a “semi-nasty comment regarding tourists” left me totally bewildered. We have met and hosted thousands of people over the past 20 years from all over the world and without a doubt, the vast majority of them have enriched our lives and touched us in so many ways. We are very appreciative of the people who choose to stay here and I am sorry if you did not feel our appreciation. Again, thank you for acknowledging the beauty of Ekena. Mahalo, Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.2 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
23.5 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
29.2 mi away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekena

Property: Ekena
Address: Off Hana Highway, P.O. Box 728, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ekena Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing