We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay near Hana!!!”
Review of Ekena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ekena
Ranked #4 of 9 Hana B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay near Hana!!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My girlfriend and I had the great pleasure of spending three nights in Jasmine house in the beginning of April. My only regret after having spent some time there is that I had not planned our time on Maui better, so that we could have spent more time at Ekena and around Hana! The views are AMAZING, and any pictures I had seen online before arriving truly do not do it justice. We were up every morning to watch the sun rise over the rain forest and colors change in a kaleidoscope of colors from one side of the 180degree view to the other, and on the porch every night for dinner to watch the sunset and the colors go in the opposite direction. The property is immaculate, and large enough to give you the sense you are in your own little world high up on the hill. It is just a few short minutes (down the Hana Highway) from Hana town, Oheo Gulch, and all of the most desirable beaches on that side of the island (Which is by far the most beautiful region of Maui). Bring a cooler, stock up when you get off the plane, head out to Ekena, and stay there for as long as your schedule will allow!! Cannot say enough! We are already planning a return trip for much longer.
Thank you to Robin, Gaylord, Razz , and Kitties!

Room Tip: They are all the best room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miguelitoperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kapowsin, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My husband and I, along with some friends from Scottsdale, booked 3 nights at Ekena. We stayed in the "Jasmine" section which is the lower floor of the Ekena home. We wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of Lahaina and Kihei and that's exactly what we got. The Ekena (meaning Eden in Hawaiian) home is perched high above the hill and is indeed heaven on Maui. It's so peaceful, quiet, and absolutely lush with tropical foliage. The views from the HUGE wrap around deck are breathtakingly beautiful. Both bedrooms are spacious, comfortable, and each one has access to a full bath. This made it nice so that we each had our own private bathroom. Free WiFi is also included. It was convenient to load the photos on a website so that I was ensured all my vacations pics were saved in a secure place. I was able to order their photos to be delivered to their home before their vacation even ended.

Robin and Gaylord are excellent hosts. They make sure you have everything you need, but they respect your privacy. We were spoiled with fresh star fruit that Robin would put out on a platter on the kitchen counter. They also provide beach towels, boogie boards, beach chairs, umbrellas, flashlights, etc. Their dog Razz is a sweetheart and would follow you anywhere. However, Robin and Gaylord don't want Razz wandering off the property so be sure he doesn't follow you if you decide to hike around or outside the property.

Anyone thinking of visiting Hana should really consider staying 2 or more nights. I've made several 1-day trips to Hana in the past, and it was always a bummer (and a hazard) to drive all the way back to the Kihei or Lahaina side. The last thing I wanted to do was head back after having a little taste of Heaven anyway.

The drive to the "town" of Hana from Ekena is probably less than 10-minutes away. I'd highly recommend visiting Wai'anapanapa State Park which is even closer in proximity to Ekena: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g60630-d108464-Reviews-Wai_anapanapa_State_Park-Hana_Maui_Hawaii.html . Another nearby adventure not to miss is the Hana Lava Tubes: http://www.mauicave.com/

Please check out the attached photos. All were taken within the Ekena property. We and our friends highly recommend Ekena and know that you will not be disappointed. It is indeed like you were in the Garden of Eden "Ekena". :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfromhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We have been to Ekena over 10 times and we keep coming back because it is truly "Paradise on Earth". Hidden away in heavenly Hana it is modern, spacious and comfortable. We love to cook and the kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need including a dishwasher. It is like a first-class hotel with all the comforts of home. A peaceful haven with a view to die for. A spectacular wrap-around lanai with amazing views of the ocean and the fields. You can watch the whales pass by as you sip your morning coffee or evening cocktails. Give yourself a treat and spend a few days or a few weeks at Ekena. You will never want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debshipshape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I traveled to Hana with my husband and parents in June. We decided to stay in Hana rather than trying to drive out there and back to the western side of the island in one day. It was a great decision! After doing a lot of research online, we decided to stay at Ekena in the larger Seabreeze home. Robin was great about answering all of our questions ahead of time via email so we could plan out our stay perfectly. We prepared dinner in the well equipped kitchen all three nights, which worked out great with a little planning ahead of time. All of the necessities were there, including spices, utensils, ice, etc. There was also beach towels and some laundry detergent to use with the washer/dryer which was nice. Robin gave us some fantastic avocados from the property, which made some amazing guacamole. The property was beautiful, and the views from the deck were spectacular.
Razz and the cats were great to have around for some people who were missing their own pets.
One word of advice - keep all of your food in the fridge or cabinets - we left out some banana bread overnight on the counter and there were some ants having a feast the next morning. Not a surprise given the location of the house. One other thing which was very entertaining - the bedrooms have a lighted area all around the ceiling with glass going to the outside. At night it was fun to watch the little geckos hunting and catching moths.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thumper1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

If you are looking for a place to relax in beautiful isolation, this is definitely it. It's a million-dollar view of lush, green hills with the ocean off in the distance. After the hustle and bustle of the resorts in west Maui, this was a serene contrast. We rented Jasmine, which is a one-bedroom. It's quite spacious and has a wrap-around balcony with glass doors all the way around. There's a full kitchen and laundry, plus a selection of dvds, music, and games, as well as some great travel books. Robin was helpful and friendly but not intrusive. We stayed 3-nights (the minimum stay) and found no shortage of things to do around Hana, but if you just want to kick back on the balcony with a glass of wine, that works too. Hope we can go back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harthad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

After spending time at Wailea we wanted some down time in the Hana area. The last time we were in Maui we drove to Hana and back on the same day.....this was a bit grueling. So this time we booked 4 nights at Ekena - High above the hill. What a great decision this was. The accommodations are even more spacious than the web site suggests, and the views and surrounding gardens are stunning.

The drive to Hana from here is very short and the return up the hill to Ekena after a day of exploring was welcoming knowing we could relax on the wrap around deck relaxing as we listened to the birds and soaked on the surrounding beauty.

Robin is an excellent host who welcomes you warmly but respects your privacy afterwards. An Raz (the dog) was a good friend as well.

Do not hesitate to book Ekena...You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa,FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We just returned from our 3rd visit to Ekena in the last 4 years. I agree with the other reviewers who note that the website does not begin to do justice to the view. It is incredibly green, lush,expansive and private. The views reach to the ocean and back to the beautiful mountains. The house is large (regardless of whether you rent Jasmine or Sea Breeze.) They are basically 2- 2 bedroom homes, one over the other. You have the entire property to yourself as they do not rent to anyone else. The house is comfortable and spacious, with every amenity you need. Robin and Gaylord are gracious and unobtrusive hosts. They have a lovely dog Razz and 2 cats who are often outside ready for pets. We love the location, just before Hana town and near Waianapanapa. The house is very easy to find and get to. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlsbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
3.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
3.6 mi away
Hana Kai Maui
Hana Kai Maui
#2 of 2 in Hana
648 reviews
27.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
5.5 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
23.7 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekena

Property: Ekena
Address: Off Hana Highway, P.O. Box 728, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ekena Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing