We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see spot in Hana”

Wai'anapanapa State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$385.95*
and up
Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight
More Info
$155.00*
and up
Maui Hana Coast Day Trip
More Info
$435.00*
and up
ONE DAY TOUR: Heavenly Hana Tour Maui - Island Hopping Oahu to Maui
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waianapanapa State Park is on the road to Hana, Maui.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Must see spot in Hana”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was high on my list of stops to make on the journey to and through Hana. Seeing a black sand beach is a bit surreal when you are used to red, tan and white sand. The rocks on the edge are craggy and show a great power against the soft succulents. The great blue water creates such a lovely contrast. We arrived quite early, so hardly anyone was there. We took the Loop walk around to 3 cave pools. Gorgeous and a bit of a hike, so wear athletic shoes. Going down to the beach is magical. The waves are harsh at times, so experienced swimmers only. Very romantic and unique.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ericamcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    270
    31
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Breath taking views”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A must stop onthe Hana hwy.
Wear good shoes so you can walk up to top.
Beauty all around you. Go all around the park, you never know what you'll find a few steps further.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jogar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wow, a must visit!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Swam at the black sand beach, hiked both sides of the beach. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Hana.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jibbajibba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Favorite stop on the Road to Hana”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stopped to see the black sand beach. We stayed for a little while to enjoy the water. My husband, along with many others, jumped off the rocks into the water. There was a smaller cave you could hike to as well. It was smaller than expected, but when you walk in you find some nice fresh (cold) water you can jump into and swim.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place for a picnic lunch”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had our picnic lunch on the black sand beach after the drive to Hana. This is a nice park, with clean facilities.

The view is not to be missed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maxsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wai'anapanapa State Park also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Wai'anapanapa State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing