We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of paradise”
Review of Maui Ocean Breezes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maui Ocean Breezes
Ranked #2 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
SF Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slice of paradise”
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Indeed, ."Swaying Palms Studio" is a very apt name for this little slice of paradise. From the secluded porch of our efficiency, we luxuriated in a panoramic view of palms, birds, fruits, ocean views and yes, delicious balmy ocean breezes. Best of all - no tourists, no traffic jams, no hassle on this part of the island. Exactly the way a vacation in paradise is meant to be.

Our one room hideaway was completely functional with a comfortable king size bed, small kitchen area, room to eat and lots of storage area for clothes, cameras, etc. Hosts Anjali and Ken are attentive to detail and happy to help with directions, supplies, recommendations and even wireless internet access. My husband and I would (and hope to) return in a minute. Well, a minute's probably a bit unrealistic, but you get the idea.

Cell phone service is spotty, so don't expect to be in constant touch with the mainland. Just escape!

  • Liked — tranquility
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Laney44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    25
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
123
153
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Anjale & Ken have managed to create a setting where families and people without children can enjoy themselves equally. We stayed in the cottage with our 3 1/2 year old and 2 month old for a week and would highly recommend the cottage if you are vacationing with children. Because of the layout of the property, we were able to let our kids be kids without feeling like we were negatively impacting anyone else's experience. We used the pool and strolled the beautiful grounds every day. The cottage, pool and yard were clean and well cared for. This part of the island is great for anyone who wants to enjoy natural Hawaii and is less inclined toward strip malls and crowds. When we wanted to head to town, Paia and Haiku were easy to get to and very sweet. We loved eating out at Flatbread Pizza, Paia Fish Market and Ono Gelato - all just a quick drive from the property and great places to go with kids without sacrificing quality. Anjale & Ken were available to help answer questions and provide recommendations, but always respected our privacy. Anjale is wonderful with kids and had great suggestions for activities and best ways to enjoy Maui. She truly enjoys children and makes families feel welcome and at home. The cottage is a perfect alternative to staying in a large condo complex or hotel.

  • Liked — Privacy & access to the salt water pool and grounds. Also loved the beautiful views.
  • Disliked — Interior decor wasn't my style, but that wasn't my priority. I wanted clean and comfortable & friendly, which it was.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2008

Aloha~

What a very nice place to stay for our Maui trip. Our room was very clean and kept up nicer than most, accomodating, and gracious. We enjoyed peace, privacy, and ocean views. The owners, Ken and Anjale, were very helpful, reliable, and friendly folks you can trust, warmly welcoming us with their care and delcious fruit upon arrival. They even loaned us their boogie boards and snorkels to use so we didn't have to drive to town to rent them. They are very accomodating for help should you be new to the area or have questions. As owners, they care about their place-- and your comfort and overall experience-- very much.

The area and grounds are beautiful. Soft rain at night, warm sun in the day. Lush tropical foilage, privacy, away from the hustle and bustle of other parts of the island on several acres in a quiet and rural residential setting. If you like to surf, wind surf, or kite sail, the location and short drive is ideal-- it's also a little bit closer to the road to Hana than most of the island.

If you like a nice place for couples, your honeymoon, family, quiet get-together, or (well-behaved) kids, I think you would enjoy this lovely spot very, very much.

We liked the meticulously clean accomodations, owners , and peace. It's a safe place to stay with no worries. The pool is also very nice, without chlorine, very refreshing and clean. We found the price reasonable and much more custom-suited and personable than, say, a condo in Kihei. Been there, done that, this is a much nicer place to stay.

Aloha Nui Loa, Mahalo

~Steve and Linda, Ohana and Hale D'Agati
(lost in) Humboldt County, CA

  • Liked — gracious accomodations, owners, grounds, outside area and pato
  • Disliked — distance to swimming beach, small reading lamps, basic couch for lounging for two
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrDA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2008

This was our 4th trip to Maui and the first time we stayed Up-Country.It was a perfect settting,away from the touristy bustle and traffic.The accomodations were very adequate,simple,clean,and well equipped.If you like luxury or night life,this would not be the place to chose.We spent much of our time visiting botanical gardens,orchid growers and sitting on the beach talking to locals.
We ate mostly at a local place in Haiku called Colleen's.The food was great and moderatly priced.One evening we did try the Hailemaile General Store restaurant.The food was decent but very over priced.The food at Colleen's was better! Angeli,our " Inn Keeper" warned us,we should have listened !
Both Angeli and her husband Ken were very gracious and friendly.They kept us supplied with fresh fruit from their property and helped us get in touch with an orchid grower.

  • Liked — Quiet,remote,cooler temp.and constant breeze
  • Disliked — TV was very small
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank homevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We returned from our first Hawaii trip less than two weeks ago. We really had expectations and all of them were met or surpassed. Maui Ocean Breezes is on the North side of Maui. If you are looking for rest and quiet, you have found the right place. The view out our front window and door was of a long stretch of green lawn and tropical trees to the ocean. There are two bedrooms, both with a very comfortable queen and king size bed. The kitchen is complete with a full size stove and oven, microwave toaster oven and full size refrigerator. The TV is small, but we didn't come for the television. Angeli was so helpful to us and greeted us with fresh bananas grown on the property. There are no fast food places within 15 miles. There are cafes and diners fairly close by, but we actually ate most of our meals in the cottage. We drove the road to Hana and walked to several of the falls. They were beautiful. We also enjoyed the geckos; they are plentiful around the cottage. No need for air conditioning. The fans in the cottage are sufficient. There is a really nice pool on the property that we used several times. It was just the right temperature and so clean with a beautiful view of the ocean. We would definitely return. It was the most relaxing trip we have ever taken. Thank you Angeli.

  • Liked — The privacy and seclusion
  • Disliked — the distance from fast food and convenience stores
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LLWmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

I was in Maui primarily for kitesurfing. If you are going to be using kitebeach then the Haiku/Paia area is the best area to stay in my opinion. The other advantage of being near Paia is that the town is friendly, full of good to great restaurants, and the home of Mana Foods, a fantastic natural food store with one of the best deli/hot food counters anywhere.

The property itself is well-kept, and quiet, with good views. The owners are very helpful but never intrusive. The kitchens are well-equiped for the average traveler's needs. I also actually liked the fact that there is no maid service for cleaning the rooms. That always seems like a waste and it helps keep the cost of staying here relatively low.

If you need the ritzy tourist hotel experience then this is not for you. For most, this property will be an excellent accomadation in a nice area for a reasonable price.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pskart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2008

This charming and spacious cottage in upcountry Maui made our first ever Maui trip truly memorable and has left wanting to return here again soon. Our hosts Anjali and Ken took care of all the details to make our stay very pleasurable and convenient. They provided us good tips and recommendations on sight seeing and adventures which helped us enjoy the trip more like a local would. Our whole family (kids and mom) enjoyed their stay, including their very own "tropical" bedroom amidst a REAL tropical garden with a great ocean view. We loved having our breakfast on the porch by the bamboo trees each day and spending a relaxing evening "at home",( after a hectic day of sights and adventures), watching the sun set over the ocean. All very private and away from the hustle and bustle of condos and ton of tourists, yet close to many of the sights and fun activities. We are so glad to have found this special place to call home during our vacation in Maui and very appreciative of the all hospitality of our hosts. A guaranteed good time for families and couples who want both adventure and relaxation.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank haikutraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
21.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
12.0 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,061 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
233 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Ocean Breezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Ocean Breezes

Property: Maui Ocean Breezes
Address: 240 N Holokai Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5977
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the views of the Pacific in front, the dormant volcano in the back, the accommodations are set in organic tropical gardens with fruits, flowers and two baby goats. A Perfect " Home away from Home " for couples as well as families with small children. Offering 4 accommodation choices, each with ocean views, kitchen , ensuite bath, high speed WiFi, cableTV, Shared guest laundry, 40 ft salt water pool and a meditation/yoga hut. 15 miles from the airport on the ocean side of the road to Hana and close to cafes, shopping, beaches, waterfalls in the towns of Haiku, Paia and Makawao. A convenient location for exploring most of Maui's attractions. We are eco friendly and do not use artificial scents or harsh chemicals. Our electricity is powered by the sun. The year round temperature between 65 to 85 degrees Fahrenheit and ocean breezes eliminate the need for air conditioning, All rooms have fans and two windows bringing in pristine air. It can rain at night or in early morning which freshens up the air. There are always rainbows after the rain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Ocean Breezes Hotel Haiku
Maui Ocean Breezes Haiku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing